We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Inn
Nearby Hotels
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
US$ 494
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 314
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 222
US$ 161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 302
US$ 293
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 302
US$ 269
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$ 276
US$ 193
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean House(Islamorada)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Resort(Islamorada)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
32
57
49
19
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
57
49
19
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmangrove mikesstar lodgingroom was cleanhot showersmall tvfishing tripreasonable ratesclose proximitymini fridgethe florida keystile floorswould definitely stay here againtwo queen bedslive musicfull kitchenloreleipool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Don't let first impressions fool you. The Sunset Inn is clean and comfortable. Dennise goes out of his way to accommodate you. We stayed 4 nites then went up to Key Largo for a week and came back and stayed at the Sunset instead of staying at the Days Inn in Key West. It's nothing fancy and it's needs some updating but I would go back again. Very budget minded place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyluckwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for the nice review. We are contantly upgrading things as moneys are available. Please stop again on your next trip. Mangrove Mike's breakfast restaurant just changed his menu. Great new stuff. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

It wasn't our first choice, BUT, it was clean, and did for a place to stay! We were on 2nd floor and had 2 doors. One in front and one in back (front on street Overseas Hwy side and other is back on pool side) which was unexpected. Excellent water pressure - big for us as we don't like the no pressure water showers! It was clean, guy at check in was very nice. We will keep this place in mind if our other choice isn't available.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

When we go on holiday, we aren't seeking somewhere posh: we just want something as comfortable and spacious and convenient as (but cleaner than!) our own home. And at a good price. Found at the Sunset. Nice big rooms, everything worked properly. Good value for the money. Great location, walking distance to a number of fooderies, and only a two-minute drive to the excellent seafood buffet at Whale Harbour, and BrazaLena is also worth the extra money. Lovely mature trees on site, and space behind the buildings to sit out and take the night air. Thanks to Deb and hubby for "our kinda place" and to Dennis for the live entertainment!

Room Tip: We stayed twice during the same two-week trip, in different rooms, both good, but there are some less-good rooms that you would want to avoid, so have a look first at a couple of rooms before deciding what is right for you. My only wish is that they would be fully non-smoking, as one of our two lovely rooms stunk of smoke from the previous occupant. The road noise wasn't bad at all after dark. The better room was side-on to the road, and faced the pool, which was decent enough if you want to cool off.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdwatchers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Sunset Inn offers the bare essentials. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The man at the desk was helpful. The pool was dirty and the deck & chairs covered with bird droppings. It was an ok place to stay for one night and there is a good restaurant close by. I loved the Lorelei - good food & music, fantastic sunset. Anna's Beach is non-existant - no beach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and I had to make a short trip to the Keys for some job interviews and were looking for a cheap place to stay. The cheapest place we could find was the Sunset Inn which thanks to off season rates was only $55 a night for weeknights. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, and the pool area was nice and refreshing. The owner, Dennis was very friendly and gave us some great recommendations for places to eat (Islamorada Fish Company and Mangrove Mikes). There is a great little cafe right beside the Sunset Inn called Mangrove Mike's which served a great, affordable breakfast. There is also a Burger King across the street too. The only downside was that the Inn is right next to the highway which means you hear cars all night, but other than that we had no problems and would definitely stay here again. It's a great place to stay for those on a budget and aren't looking for a luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfaith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews