We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a nice stay, beautiful sunsets!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay, beautiful sunsets!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Read a couple reviews and was skeptical. Not sure people have realistic expectations for one and two star lodging. Very suitable accomodations for the prices in the Keys. Clean room with comfortable beds, older but adequate bathroom fixtures and friendly and knowledgeable staff. Breakfast and lunch right next door with good food and a host of other options for dinner with-in walking distance. Clean pool on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peh1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    46
    18
    21
See reviews for
37
59
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Don't let first impressions fool you. The Sunset Inn is clean and comfortable. Dennise goes out of his way to accommodate you. We stayed 4 nites then went up to Key Largo for a week and came back and stayed at the Sunset instead of staying at the Days Inn in Key West. It's nothing fancy and it's needs some updating but I would go back again. Very budget minded place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyluckwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We are contantly upgrading things as moneys are available. Please stop again on your next trip. Mangrove Mike's breakfast restaurant just changed his menu. Great new stuff. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

It wasn't our first choice, BUT, it was clean, and did for a place to stay! We were on 2nd floor and had 2 doors. One in front and one in back (front on street Overseas Hwy side and other is back on pool side) which was unexpected. Excellent water pressure - big for us as we don't like the no pressure water showers! It was clean, guy at check in was very nice. We will keep this place in mind if our other choice isn't available.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

When we go on holiday, we aren't seeking somewhere posh: we just want something as comfortable and spacious and convenient as (but cleaner than!) our own home. And at a good price. Found at the Sunset. Nice big rooms, everything worked properly. Good value for the money. Great location, walking distance to a number of fooderies, and only a two-minute drive to the excellent seafood buffet at Whale Harbour, and BrazaLena is also worth the extra money. Lovely mature trees on site, and space behind the buildings to sit out and take the night air. Thanks to Deb and hubby for "our kinda place" and to Dennis for the live entertainment!

Room Tip: We stayed twice during the same two-week trip, in different rooms, both good, but there are some les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdwatchers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Croix
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Sunset Inn offers the bare essentials. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The man at the desk was helpful. The pool was dirty and the deck & chairs covered with bird droppings. It was an ok place to stay for one night and there is a good restaurant close by. I loved the Lorelei - good food & music, fantastic sunset. Anna's Beach is non-existant - no beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crabgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.8 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.2 km away
La Jolla Resort
La Jolla Resort
#3 of 11 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.2 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,268 - ₹ 5,882
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing