We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Thorn B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I spent a long weekend in the Keys seeking sunshine, beaches, great seafood and R&R. Luckily, I stumbled upon Casa Thorn B&B on the web and stayed there. Miss Thorn is a true Renaissance woman, who had the vision to create a lovely, hidden gem. She, with the help of her awesome staff offer a pool surounded by lovely gardens, whimsical art, musical waterfall fountains and wind chimes, subdued lighting, all in a cozy retreat, nestled in a quite neighborhood. Delicious full breakfast is served each morning at quaint cafe tables situated throughout the garden, creating little outdoor rooms. I stayed in the Tiki Hut, which was perfect for me. Each of the rooms is uniquely appointed in themed decor and the thick white robes provided for guests are a special treat. I truly felt at home!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

Casa Thorn is a wonderful escape and a perfect romantic getaway! Miss Thorn was very sweet and accommodating. The property is eclectic and unusual, and I almost felt as if my suite (The Moroccan room) could double as the setting for an Ian Fleming novel with James Bond himself relaxing in the jucuzzi with a vintage bottle of bollinger chamnpagne! Her property is secluded and quiet, with the occasional sounds of her parrot or two small dogs. The breakfast each morning was very good, and the staff were very friendly and helpful for any request needed. I would recommend Casa Thorn without hesitation! As Miss Thorn had told us, the Island of Islamorada is considered by many to be the most beautiful of the keys, and she was certainly right! James Bond will return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Thorn in the Moroccan Room over Thanksgiving weekend 2011. I'm late reviewing, as I had hoped to add some photos with the review, but I may just add some later. I had researched their website and all the reviews here on TA beforehand. I was specifically looking for a pet friendly place also, since we were traveling with our young dog too. When I showed my hubby pics of the Moroccan Room, with it's cool inset jacuzzi tub, he said book it! So I did. However, from my reading the reviews, I guess I knew more than he what to expect (the owner, Thorn Trainer and her nurse greeting us, etc.). He was a little thrown by that when we arrived. Thorn is quite a lovely, sweet lady. Her nurse is obviously a very hard working lady caring for Thorn and helping with the B&B. We were shown to our room, which was just as pictured, and no surprises (except the microwave that they graciously placed in the room at my request, which was appreciated). I could tell that this place was not quite what my hubby had anticipated - being a small, close bed and breakfast atmosphere. Although within an hour or so, he began to loosen up and we both fell in love with the place a little more each day. It is in a residential neighborhood, so you have to walk your dog down the streets of the neighborhood and bring a bag with you. I was a bit disappointed that the property itself didn't have anyplace to walk a dog. But, it was fun looking at the lovely homes in the area, and also seeing several wild bunnies in people's yards. Also, there was a resident rooster on the street that we walked by several times, as he crowed! That was a fun little treat! We met a very nice couple who checked in just after us, who also had a dog. The room we stayed in was very beautiful. We did enjoy the jacuzzi tub one evening and it worked fine (no problem filling it with hot water as other reviewers had complained about). The towels provided were plush and soft as were the robes. The only complaint for the room was the reception on the tv - it was very snowy and got worse the higher up in channels you went. Also, as beautiful as the room was, there was no practical sitting space, just two antiquish chairs that were not comfortable. But, we were out alot, so it wasn't a big deal. The breakfasts served just outside your room were beyond wonderful, as were the staff that made it happen! Such friendly people, made you feel like family. And, the food was absolutely scrumptious!! Overall, we felt welcomed, we felt safe and secure, we felt like family, we met some very nice people, and had a great experience here. We would definately stay again!!! Thanks Thorn and all of your outstanding staff!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My boyfriend and I had never been to the Keys and were going for NYE 2012, so selecting a B&B online based on pictures and pricing was with a little hope and a prayer. We no longer had a single doubt from the moment we drove up to the front of Casa Thorn and saw a lush landscape with charmingly whimsical artwork everywhere. The pictures for this retreat DO NOT do it justice! We stayed in the Moroccan room and were completely absorbed by the exotic surroundings and wonderfully big whirlpool tub. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and breakfast was deliciously upscale. It is truly a hidden jewel and we will definitely go back repeatedly.

Additional details -
Lush tropical landscaping with statuary, fountains, etc. all throughout the property.
Each room is tastefully decorated with thought in every detail.
Variety of room sizes and rates; even the Tiki Hut (smallest room) is lovely, and the Secret Garden has a wall of sliding doors - even in the shower itself! (don't worry - very private)
Each room is served breakfast at their own private charming outdoor courtyard.
Pet friendly!
In ground pool and second story deck for enjoying yourself right at the retreat.
VERY reasonable prices for all of this!!!

Room Tip: For full on romance, choose the Moroccan room, with a lavish 4 poster king-sized bed and wonderfully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Spent a few days here in March 2011 -- we should have stayed longer. We stayed in the Secret Garden, which was lovely. Staff was terrific and friendly with loads of good tips about things to do around the area. Breakfast was wonderful -- something different every morning. It's a great location & reasonably priced. Should I find myself in the Keys again, I'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagsinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
7.3 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
614 reviews
11.9 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
11.3 km away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
748 reviews
2.7 km away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#4 of 11 in Islamorada
285 reviews
8.6 km away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Palm Ln, Islamorada, FL 33036-3015
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: ₹ 10,204 - ₹ 16,745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This treasure is hidden away in a secluded, quiet, tropical atmosphere in the Florida Keys. Each of the 5 rooms is decorated in their own unique style: Moroccan Room, Secret Garden Room, Malaysian, Bombay and Tiki Hut. All of the rooms include: breakfast, television/VCR/DVD, wireless internet, and terry cloth bathrobes. Pets allowed for a small fee. No children under 8, please. After breakfast, relax by the pool or use the pass to go to a really nice beach. We are not handicap accessible, however, 3 of our rooms are on the ground floor with sliding glass doors that make them wheelchair/scooter accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Thorn Hotel Islamorada
Casa Thorn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing