We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great views, not so great service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marker 88 Restaurant

Marker 88 Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 91 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views, not so great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Our first night in the Keys was spent watching the sunset at Marker 88. We arrived and loved the view so we asked for a table by the water. The hostess was quite rude in the way that she asked if we had a reservation and when we said no she said she had to ask her manager. We were able to get a table and asked to be further away from the live music and the bar. We ordered oysters and beer and our server was gone for a very long time. When she returned we ordered the yellowtail dinner and mahi mahi ceasar salad- both were delicious though the salad was by far a better value. We rarely saw our server and the hostess came by to see if we needed anything. It took a very long time to get the check and we were glad we had the sunset views to keep us occupied. They do have a nice dock that we walked out on after dinner. The ambiance at Marker 88 is nice but the service could use some work.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioVersusTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    565
    197
    76
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had the most amazing experience at Marker 88. We had just gotten married earlier in the day and stopped in for dinner. The staff was wonderful, our server was fantastic and we enjoyed the most wonderful dinner ever. The food was delicious and well prepared and our server made great suggestions. They did not rush us even though we were there past closing time. We highly recommend this restaurant for the food, the view, and the atmosphere. The bill was very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Top shelf food and atomsphere bar none! Great music outside by our table overlooking the gulf of mexico adjacent to the busy "Tiki Bar". The food and service is outstanding!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous food, service and sunset view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I would highly recommend this restaurant. The food was excellent. We had 2 of the specials... jalapeno crusted yellow-tail snapper with Thai green beans and garlic-butter hogfish with macaroni & cheese. Both were excellent but the snapper was the best fish I've ever eaten. The service was good and the sunset view can't be beat. We ate outside where the entertainment completed the ambiance. Pricey, but well worth it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere at Sunset - Casual - Nice Music - Good Food - Loved It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Marker 88 was recommended by friends as a great place to go for sunset. After checking their menu online, we decided to go for dinner. I called for a 6:30pm reservation to ensure a great table with a view.

Upon our arrival, the outdoor bar was quite busy, though we had our choice of outdoor tables for dinner. There are numerous white tables set up on a very large patio, right next to the water, and also a small number of old-fashioned face-to-face, covered wooden swings (with a picnic-type table between the benches of the swing). We chose to be seated at one of the wooden swings near the water. It was the perfect spot from which to view the sunset.

Sometimes we prefer to do all appetizers, or appetizers and a salad, and that's what we were up for this particular evening. We each ordered a glass of wine and then split the tomato and goat cheese flatbread. The flatbread was simple, yet divine. It may well be the very best flat bread I have ever eaten. We both loved it so much, we ordered another flatbread to split, and then split a salad. The bill came to around $60 for 2 flatbreads, 2 glasses of wine, the Alligator Reef salad with shrimp and (very little) crab, and one coffee.

The sunset was spectacular on this particular evening, which made it all the more special. A singer/guitar player completed the wonderful ambiance.

We had a new waitress who was experiencing some challenges that evening. (She never told us the specials. I had to wait so long for a second glass of wine, that I was finished with my dinner by the time it came, so I sent the wine back.) The so-so service didn't ruin our evening.

We'd go back to this restaurant in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VBSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marker 88 Restaurant also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Marker 88 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing