We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$381
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
Expedia.com
$381
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
FindHotel
$369
View deal
Hotels.com$381
Priceline$381
CheapTickets$381
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
514
285
81
25
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
514
285
81
25
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews island grill hog heaven full kitchen sandy area boat ramp old florida ocean front man made beach lounge chairs living room mini fridge florida keys motel trailer zach grounds futon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2021

Imagine being invited to your friends house for the weekend, and they put you up in the shed in the back yard. Room 14B really shouldn't be advertised as a room at all.
There are no closets, no shelves, no hangers, the bathroom toilet rocks back and forth, the bathroom is for skinny people only. I must say that the property is in very new condition. The buildings are freshly painted, the pool is excellent, the kayaks are brand new (10 dollars an hour) there is one paddle board, but someone stole the paddle. Also there were two bicycles, but someone stole them too.

Room tip: do not stay in room 14B
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vincent p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Drop Anchor for 3 nights in a double queen room. Although we enjoyed the grounds, there were too many issues with the room to want to go back. The room was one of the smallest hotel rooms we’ve ever stayed in. The sink in the bathroom leaked all over the bedroom one of the days we were there. Small bugs would crawl out of the sink each day. The shower drain cover wasn’t attached (which drove us crazy) and it took 3-4 minutes to get any kind of hot water in the shower. Great location, but lacking attention to detail in the rooms. We love Islamorada, but will stay elsewhere next time.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JosephH895
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Dear guest,
With each one of your issues you brought forth, we tried to remedy each one to your satisfaction. We are proud to be a small 18 room old school Florida motel, and the majority of our guests love it here. We wish you the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021 via mobile

We had a very nice time at this resort. Our room had a beautiful view which was very peaceful in the early mornings and evenings. Loved watching a variety birds from the balcony each day. Great way to unwind IMO. We had the beach area to ourselves much of the time. Good restaurants nearby. Housekeeping was very good. Cliff was a pleasure to chat with and is an asset to the owners. Would return again.
Would give a 5 star but Steve was odd.

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank prnpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

So glad you had a great stay! Hope to see you again soon!!

Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2021

Don’t let the initial pictures posted by this place deceive you. This is nothing more than an overpriced, dive motel. There is no sandy beach as described because there’s no beach...it’s a fake beach with a wall that drops off into dirty shallow and rocky water, the pool is also dirty, the room was subpar for the price and the bathroom...well, it’s tiny with only 2 ft of space in front of the sink. There are bugs that get into the rooms and the floors and shower stall were dirty. But wait! There’s more! Plumbing in the bathroom is loose, there are no window coverings in the bathroom, no vent, hot water takes forever to show up, there are no headboards (as pictured by them), sheets are mid-sized, mattresses are old & uncomfortable and some electric outlets in the room didn’t work. Don’t take my word for it, look at my pictures to see for yourself. If this place is priced at more than $99 (and that’s being generous) stay somewhere else. The GM will try to tell you that other hotels with a beach are going for $600+ a night. That’s false and WE wasted $300! Thank goodness we only reserved one night. They did have good lighting on the walkways. Yea, it shined into the room straight through the blinds, which also contributed to our loss of sleep. This place was the epitome of disappointment. Pictures and descriptions were well crafted to lure us in. Take our advice friends and choose a better place to spend your vacation. Obviously...NOT RECOMMENDED.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KSLJ1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2021 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I’ve stayed at. The rooms are incredibly modern, amenities are nice (our room included a full oven, microwave, and sink), and the staff is helpful and friendly. There’s a lovely artificial beach on the property that’s right on the coastline; a great place to relax and take in the views. Great location accessible to the rest of Islamorada, as well as Key Largo.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nkalams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

We are glad you had a great stay. Thank you for taking the time to review us as well. We are working hard to continue improvements to the property so all our guests have an amazing stay.

Cliff - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews