We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect seclusion”
Review of Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Morada
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect seclusion”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This little boutique hotel was hands down the best part of our trip to the keys. My boyfriend found it in a small article in GQ magazine. We ended our Barbados trip in Miami and then came here and I only wish we would have spent both of our last nights at Casa Morada. It's so adorable and secluded, the perfect romantic getaway.

The highlights for a newly engaged couple like ourselves were:
-No kids allowed. Enough said.
-The view. The floating bar and pool area faces the west ocean so you can see the sunset if you stay there.
-The room was clean, quaint and well-stocked with complimentary snacks and mini bar.
-They offer free yoga classes on the beach.
-The continental breakfast on the deck was nice with lots of extras like fresh fruit, soymilk, granola, yogurt, and good coffee.
-We loved the beach cruisers. We took them to Lorelei's and Morada Bay for drinks and dinner to catch the sunset, it was so much fun.

It's not a "5 star resort" but for us it was the perfect combination of luxury and serenity that we were looking for. If we ever came back to the keys we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    170
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
680
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had the perfect honeymoon!!! Staff is extra friendly, food was good, rooms are beautiful and the atmosphere is awesome!!! The night rate is a little high however is totally worth it If you are celebrating a special date! I recomend it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pipalovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding at Casa, and I couldn't have been more impressed. We had the whole property for our guests, and the staff helped us every step along the way to plan the occasion. Every guest was stunned at how well everything went, and how beautiful the ceremony was, with our backs against one of the most picturesque sunsets I've ever seen. Really unique property.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aschenck80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed for 3 nights at this peaceful home away from home - attention to detail has been lovingly made, and I appreciated the thoughtfulness put into the many comforts for guests. Unfortunately the rainshowers and thunderstorms while I was there meant I couldn't use a lot of the outdoor facilities, and I only discovered on my last day that there were boards to do SUPping on - wish I'd known earlier! But did enjoy being able to swim in the sea as well as the pool, and certainly made some use of the hammocks!

The staff were wonderful, and it was unexpected to have someone at reception for such long hours. My favourite experience was the guy who cleaned the pool coming over to let me know that a manatee had come up to the dock, and he poured it some water so that I could get a good look at it. I also loved that there are cats sleeping or purring around the place, and that they allow you to bring pets.

The only detractions were that the Wi-Fi didn't allow me access to e-mail and Facebook for some reason, there was a bit of noise coming from the apartment above mine, and that the spa bath took forever to get enough water in - but it was heavenly once filled!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Visiting the keys is tricky. I can't say I've found the perfect location yet. And while Casa Morada is no Little Palm Island.......it is 1/3 the price. Terrific, friendly service. An attentive support staff and an ideal Florida Bay location makes for a great place to chill. The rooms could use a little love but the setting....gardens and "beach" make up for the drab, dull rooms. There are few real beaches in the keys (a shock to many first time visitors) but Casa Morada has compensated with a lovely, sandy lounge/sunning area overlooking Florida Bay. The water in front of the hotel is clear and clean and there are Mangroves to explore just a half mile paddle to the south.

There are several decent restaurants within 1/2 mile of the hotel and it is a block from the running/bike path that runs along highway 1. We enjoyed the sunset sail that left for the hotel's dock and were lucky enough to pick a night with a perfect breeze and full moon. Our captain treated us to a bonus 30 minute sail as the bay shimmered in the moonlight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank graffiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,307 reviews
0.9 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,303 reviews
1.1 km away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
294 reviews
3.5 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
661 reviews
3.2 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morada

Property: Casa Morada
Address: 136 Madeira Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,516 - ₹ 33,921
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morada is an upscale sixteen suite privately owned hotel inspired by the informal character of the Caribbean. The atmosphere is private, peaceful, and serene. The staff is known for their warmth and attentiveness. Raymond Jungles, a renowned Miami Landscape Architect known for his natural lush landscapes, designed the award-winning garden spaces throughout the property. The highlight of the resort is Casa Morada's spectacular private island. The island is accessed by a dramatic footbridge and features a fresh water pool, secluded cabana and the Sunset Gazebo bar with stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico. Casa Morada is a 90 minute drive south from Miami International airport and 90 minutes north of Key West. Guests of Casa Morada may also arrive to the hotel by boat. Casa Morada is a pet-friendly hotel and welcomes children 16 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morada Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing