We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hide away, with spectacular sunrises!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hide away, with spectacular sunrises!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Went on a Yoga/Fitness trip this past week which was booked at this hotel. Great location - private beach with all the amenities you could want - ocean access, water sports, including paddle boarding, snorkeling, sailing lessons, water bikes. Also a fishing peir and you can rent poles right there. Two nice pools, beach volley ball, lounge chairs and palm trees for shade on the beach and by the pool. Grounds are well kept and a nice lay out, with lots of shade, hammocks galore and grills and picnic tables outside each building.
Each room has its own kitchen area that is stocked with basics, including toaster, coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave - even has a mini dishwasher. They have private lanai porches which are screened and have ceiling fans. The room doors open almost full length which was really nice to allow the constant breeze to blow through the room. The facilities are older, but it lends to the nostalgia of the place - if your expecting 5 star rooms as in the big name hotels you will be disappointed. But they are clean and neat and meet your needs.
The continental breakfast included is pretty limited, and 2 of the 4 days we stayed they ran out of items- so if you plan on eating there, best to get there early- even if you just take it back to your room to toast and eat later. If you like eggs, better bring your own - none offered there. Other people in our group opted to go to the Tiki bar by the pool for breakfast - heard they make a really good egg sandwich, or there is a restaurant across the street that you can walk to.
The only restaurant on site is the poolside Tiki bar - but they have a pretty large menu with a variety of dishes. The food was excellent, although the service is quite slow. Other people in our group that have been to the Keys before said the food here was better than most of the restaurants they had been too.
From Miami airport it took 1 1/2 hrs to drive to the hotel - and from our hotel to Key West another 1 1/2 hrs (but that could easily take longer with Rt 1 traffic). If your flying down I was told by multiple people (after the fact) to fly in to Fort Lauderdale vs Miami as it is a nicer airport and much easier to get in/out of. I hated Miami - took us 3 loops around the airport and 45 minutes to get on the highway - so next time I will try Fort Lauderdale. It does add approximately 30 mintues driving time, but still shorter than getting out of Miami! Also, if you rent a car, be sure to ask about the toll roads EZ pass, as there are NO cash tolls.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    509
    174
    71
    69
See reviews for
480
566
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at the Islander the first week of April. There were three couples and two small dogs in our party. We utilized the hot tub, the beach, tiki bar, and the lanais. We intended to participate in the water sports but were way too relaxed!

Our rooms were very clean and the grounds were well maintained. We had very pleasant interactions with the housekeeping and grounds crews. The front desk staff, however, were not welcoming. Even when we booked in January, the staff we spoke with were not friendly. The bartenders at the tiki bar seemed annoyed and left a lot to be desired.

Our three rooms were situated together and we took full advantage of the lanais, hammocks, grill, and lounge chairs. We enjoyed the beach: it was very clean and had enough chairs (although some could be repaired).

The continental breakfast was average (fruit could be fresher and more plentiful) but the breakfast area is quite small and crowded with large tables.

Kitchenettes were very good and made grilling easy.

We have read some poor reviews about the pet friendly rooms being far away and dirty but did not find that to be true at all.

We were at the back of the resort which made for a short walk to the beach but not far at all. We did notice that the rooms near the pool could be a bit noisy from all the kids.

We had a great time in Islamorada and would consider staying at the Islander on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bighorn river montana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised upon arriving at the Island Resort. The rooms were clean and very spacious. I Loved the screened in porches. The man made beach area was huge. A great family place. I would stay there again for sure. I thought the location was great and staff very friendly. The Tiki Bar was alot of fun!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfishmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The sign out front should be any guests first clue as to what one should expect. Rooms are very 1950's - motel style and not in a cute iconic way. Pool area and grounds are not bad and had I spent 150$ a night vs $250 I'd of been pleased. Rooms do not look like Internet photos- but that's pretty typical for most places

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thevacationer622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY, USA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife, 8 year old daughter and I spent a few nights during spring break in March and had a very nice time. We've stayed at a few hotels in the Keys and found most to be expensive for what you get. For $250+/night you get Courtyard or other budget hotel quality with service that's at least a notch lower. The Islander is a nice change from that. It's not cheap either but at least it's a well maintained property, comprised of several single story buildings clustered into a few courtyards.

I think our room was in the lowest category and we were in the same building as the lobby--where they have free continental breakfast and a small pantry store--which is also furthest from the pool and the beach. There is ample parking just outside the rooms. Our room had two double beds, a full kitchen (though not much in the way of cooking utensils) and a small dining table. Our screened lanai also had a table with some chairs. There weren't too many tables at breakfast so we brought food back from the buffet and ate in our lanai. There are barbeque grills outside the units and plenty of leftover charcoal so we got steaks from the Trading Post nearby and grilled out one night. There is a coin laundry and free wifi (though reception was weak in our room).

We found service to be mostly fine. The receptionist who checked us in was friendly enough, but other times there was a young man behind the counter who mostly communicated by staring back at you when you said something to him. He wasn't being rude, that's just how he expressed himself. Oh well, move on.

The pool area is one of the nicer and bigger ones I've seen at this type of hotel in the Keys. There are two pools, one of them salt water (though very lightly) and both heated. There is a bar and restaurant at the pool but no one walking around taking food and drink orders poolside, so we had no problem discretely bringing our own food and drinks into the area, I did buy a beer at the bar and thought $5 for a Heineken was pretty reasonable.

At one end of the beach there is a pier from which you can fish, no permit needed. There is also a sports shack with a guy renting boats, fishing poles, and so on, open until 5 pm. We bought a couple of fishing poles at Walmart on the way down, got a bag of frozen shrimp for $5 from the vendor and tried our luck fishing from the pier. Only little cowfish came around and their mouths are too tiny for all the the smallest of hooks but my daughter actually caught one which made her trip.

The Islander is a pleasant property, neat and clean. We had a very nice stay and would definitely stay there again when in the area.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jack783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
3.4 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
3.5 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
3.7 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
32.5 km away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,641 reviews
2.8 km away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,473 - ₹ 24,565
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing