We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Nearby Hotels
Amara Cay Resort(Islamorada)
US$ 283
US$ 247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
US$ 359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 283
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeca Lodge & Spa(Islamorada)
US$ 356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 302
US$ 269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$ 233
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House(Islamorada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings Village(Islamorada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Resort(Islamorada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
40
65
42
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
65
42
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbars of soapwater colddecent bathroomstayed here numerous timescabana barrest your headkey westlay your headwalking distancerooms are cleanhuge roomnight's sleepa wonderful vacationlive musicmini fridgerobbie's marinashort drive
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed in Dec 2011 during the Holiday breaks so we paid a little more BUT well worth it and still I think the best bargain on the keys! We had a room on the Blue Fin side with the kitchen. We had service items for 4 which was what we wanted. We could spend our money other places instead of eating out! Floors clean, room clean, bathroom clean. Water pressure in our shower was lower than we have at home BUT that is personal - we like high pressure so. . . It is NOT on the water but so what, we saved money to use elsewhere and it was well worth it. Also, get the FREE WIFI code from office. Place on entering room had a "bleach-chlorox" smell so it was clean. Opened windows and turned ceiling fan on high and within 5 minutes air was just fine!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My friend Annette and I stayed one night at the Blue Finn side of this motel. We had room 21, right next to the road and the soda machine. I have to say, for the price, $49 with a full kitchen, the room was immaculate and roomy. Only drawback was frequent visits to the soda machine by others staying here, so we kept the blinds shut. Also, in the morning, you could hear the traffic very early. It also is NOT on any beach, but behind it just down the road is the Lorelei Cabana Bar And Restaurant with dining next to the beach and a canal with boats and live music. We walked in, took some photos and left. It didn't seem to bother anyone. If you don't mind a room without being next to the beach, this is definitely a good value. We were suppose to stay 3 nights but decided we wanted something beachside to do some snorkeling.

Room Tip: Choose the Blue Finn side if possible, further from the road.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 321AreaFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We travel to the Keys regularly and have stayed at several different hotels & resorts with varied rates and amenities and the Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn is one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in. When visiting the Keys on a budget (who in their right mind isn't, in today's economy) you wont find a better deal. The owners are friendly, the rooms and property well kept, and great food,drink, entertainment is within very close proximity (Lorelei Restaurant & Cabana Bar is within walking distance)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twisted-Priorities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We planned on using the place as a place to sleep as we explore east and west and that is what it was supposed to be. We did plan on cooking there and It did not have the cooking utinsils claimed in the reviews. The Linens looked clean but the matresses were due to be replaced as they sagged really bad. The vanity in the bathroom was torn away from the wal a little and the grout was badly discolored. The metal seal on our door was broke away so that you could see a hole about 1 inch by 6 inches on the right side when looking from the inside. The road noise in the unit we were in was not bad could only hear an occasional truck. We had tiny ants in the kitchen and bathroom but if it was in between spraying I can completely understand that in that invironment. The other room had large centipedes which they proptly swept out the door but no ants. It had no kitchen in that room which may explain that. Thier beds were just like ours. The very worst thing was was a guy that had nothing to do with the motel walked up to me and another 2 rooms of guests trying to score drugs the very first night. When we couldn't help him he went to the office to see if they could point him in the right direction. There were partiers everywhere in this hotel and if you want a cheap place to stay that won't hassel you about loud music, you have found the place. Isn't that what the keys are all about. A good time and no hassels. If you get a room with new mattresses and a better funished kitchen or no kitchen you will be very impressed for the money. There are very nice places withing walking distance behind the motel and some stores you could walk to on the road. Its a gem in the rough.

Room Tip: Rooms 23 or higher
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippinalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed in the Key Lantern Motel for two nights while diving and sightseeing in Islamorada. The place is pretty much what you would expect for the price.

The room was small (the owner made this clear when I booked it though) and basic, but functional. The decoration could have been more inspiring (whitewashed cinderblock walls inside), but it seemed clean, and we had no problems with noise from other rooms or the road.

The guy who checked us in was a bit of a character (he paused from a telephone conversation to tell us "I hate people"), but was helpful enough, giving us a new lightbulb to replace the one in the bedside light and offering to help with suggestions for restauarants.

Although the connection was a bit unreliable inside our room, a free wireless internet connection is available, which is good at this price.

I would have rated the place higher but for one problem: our double bed was very small and a bit saggy. I did not sleep particularly well either night, otherwise I would have rated this place as pretty good for a very low budget option. Maybe it was just bad luck, and maybe the beds in other rooms are better. With just one person, it would probably not have been an issue either.

So, in short: if you get a room with a decent bed then this place is worth considering if you prefer to spend your money on fun stuff instead of hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvilTwinSelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews