We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here between January 2 and 5, 2012. Our room (#22) was clean, bright, and comfortable. The rates are inexpensive and the location is good. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    61
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
66
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed in Dec 2011 during the Holiday breaks so we paid a little more BUT well worth it and still I think the best bargain on the keys! We had a room on the Blue Fin side with the kitchen. We had service items for 4 which was what we wanted. We could spend our money other places instead of eating out! Floors clean, room clean, bathroom clean. Water pressure in our shower was lower than we have at home BUT that is personal - we like high pressure so. . . It is NOT on the water but so what, we saved money to use elsewhere and it was well worth it. Also, get the FREE WIFI code from office. Place on entering room had a "bleach-chlorox" smell so it was clean. Opened windows and turned ceiling fan on high and within 5 minutes air was just fine!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My friend Annette and I stayed one night at the Blue Finn side of this motel. We had room 21, right next to the road and the soda machine. I have to say, for the price, $49 with a full kitchen, the room was immaculate and roomy. Only drawback was frequent visits to the soda machine by others staying here, so we kept the blinds shut. Also, in the morning, you could hear the traffic very early. It also is NOT on any beach, but behind it just down the road is the Lorelei Cabana Bar And Restaurant with dining next to the beach and a canal with boats and live music. We walked in, took some photos and left. It didn't seem to bother anyone. If you don't mind a room without being next to the beach, this is definitely a good value. We were suppose to stay 3 nights but decided we wanted something beachside to do some snorkeling.

Room Tip: Choose the Blue Finn side if possible, further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 321AreaFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We travel to the Keys regularly and have stayed at several different hotels & resorts with varied rates and amenities and the Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn is one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in. When visiting the Keys on a budget (who in their right mind isn't, in today's economy) you wont find a better deal. The owners are friendly, the rooms and property well kept, and great food,drink, entertainment is within very close proximity (Lorelei Restaurant & Cabana Bar is within walking distance)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twisted-Priorities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Plains, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We planned on using the place as a place to sleep as we explore east and west and that is what it was supposed to be. We did plan on cooking there and It did not have the cooking utinsils claimed in the reviews. The Linens looked clean but the matresses were due to be replaced as they sagged really bad. The vanity in the bathroom was torn away from the wal a little and the grout was badly discolored. The metal seal on our door was broke away so that you could see a hole about 1 inch by 6 inches on the right side when looking from the inside. The road noise in the unit we were in was not bad could only hear an occasional truck. We had tiny ants in the kitchen and bathroom but if it was in between spraying I can completely understand that in that invironment. The other room had large centipedes which they proptly swept out the door but no ants. It had no kitchen in that room which may explain that. Thier beds were just like ours. The very worst thing was was a guy that had nothing to do with the motel walked up to me and another 2 rooms of guests trying to score drugs the very first night. When we couldn't help him he went to the office to see if they could point him in the right direction. There were partiers everywhere in this hotel and if you want a cheap place to stay that won't hassel you about loud music, you have found the place. Isn't that what the keys are all about. A good time and no hassels. If you get a room with new mattresses and a better funished kitchen or no kitchen you will be very impressed for the money. There are very nice places withing walking distance behind the motel and some stores you could walk to on the road. Its a gem in the rough.

Room Tip: Rooms 23 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.3 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.5 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
3.5 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.4 km away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.5 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Property: Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Address: 82150 Overseas Hwy, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036-3673
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,530 - ₹ 4,087
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing