We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, fun retro resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Charming, fun retro resort!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I decided to stop at this resort on the way to Miami Beach from Key West. We were staying in a posh resort in Miami Beach and wanted something totally different. This resort is like a throw-back to a really nice "summer camp." We got a cute "villa," like an efficiency apt, with high ceilings, a sitting area with sofa, flat-screen TV, full kitchen and charming screened-in porch that was perfect for sipping coffee. It was clean and comfortable, with a firm bed and soft sheets. The bathroom was basic (with a shower only, no tub) but ample. We explored the grounds the next morning and saw that it would be perfect for a family, with a nice lagoon for swimming, in addition to 2 pools, hammocks for lounging, tiki huts and old-fashioned shuffle board, not to mention, a view at sunrise that was sublime. It appeared to be a fisherman's paradise, complete with trips offered by the resort. There is an $18 daily resort fee, which includes a buffet breakfast, with eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, yogurts, breads, juices, coffee, apparently, in addition to use of bikes and other sports equipment, which we did not use, as we left shortly after breakfast. My husband and I agreed that it would be a great place to bring back our boys for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvethebluewaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    279
    132
    50
    49
See reviews for
222
311
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Booked this hotel for 3 nights. The location is great with easy access to a variety places to eat, fishing/snorkeling trips or for relaxing at the beach/pool. The staff was friendly and helpful. This resort is on the ocean side and has great views of the sunrise. On the resort the access to non-motorized water sports such as kayaking, paddle boating and sailing was a great way to feel a little active on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We recently booked 4 nights on line at the Chesapeake Beach Resort. We were very pleased with this resort. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We had only booked 4 nights until we saw the place, and requested a 5th night , but there were no vacancies. We asked to be notified of any cancellations. Our phone rang the next morning with a room available. The morning of our move, we were told to check out of our room by 1100 am, and they would have us in our new room by 100 pm. At 1030, they arrived at our door to say the new room was ready. They moved all of our stuff to the new room, and we were settled in by 1100. Our room(s) were ocean front, with great views, The rooms and grounds were impeccably maintained, and very clean. Two (warm) pools and a hot tub, all very well maintained. Nice beach, but recommend you take water shoes for the ocean. Kayaks, sailboat, bikes, paddle boats available at no charge. Breakfast was great- bacon eggs, sausage, toast, muffins croissants, cereal, juice and coffee served buffet style. The resort was quiet, and great for couples or families. If you want a party resort, this is not for you. We would definitely stay here again, and will not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Any Ocean front room- the buildings were newer and more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

For over $300/night I would expect a clean, up-to-date resort. Instead what we found at Chesapeake Beach Resort was a downscale motel with the minimal upgrades they felt would justify charging higher quality resort rates. We stayed in a king suite. The bedroom had been upgraded and was clean and comfortable but also a bit odd -- there's a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom with barely enough room between the tub and the bed to walk. They had also installed a newer-looking marble sink in the outerbathroom. Otherwise, the room was badly in need of an upgrade. The kitchenette has old, dated dark wood cabinets (see photo), and the front door to the room was filthy with chipped paint (see photo). The rest of the resort faclities are also badly in need of updating. The pools have cracked tiles and dirty grout. The "fitness center" consists of a small thatch-covered hut in the parking lot. You literally have cars parked right in front of you and no walls so you can work out in the sun with mosquitos and the scent of sewage from the septic system which is barely concealed behind a lattice screen. Crammed into this small hut are an exercise bike, rusted dumbells, and a weight machine. I've never seen fitness faclities so bad. There must be better places to stay in Islamorada!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A fun, relaxing place to stay. It wasn't perfect, but I prefer "real" to the sterile perfection of a Marriott or Hilton. We rented a cabin with my mother-in-law, her sister, and our six-year-old. Plenty of room for everyone. Two pools (relatively small from a resort perspective, but plenty big enough for our mermaid), free sea kayaks, and lots of lounge chairs sitting under palm trees. The beds were very firm, but I liked them. The only weak point I found was the breakfast, which we ate inside in a very cramped and chaotic dining room. (It was too windy to eat outside; the paper plates kept blowing away. If they used real plates and bowls, you could probably manage it, and create less waste in the process.) All in all, I would gladly return. (And while you're in the vicinity, eat at Ma's Fish House - great food!).

Room Tip: The cabins are nice, but keep in mind the wall separating the main sleeping room from the living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portlandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
5.8 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,364 reviews
1.9 km away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
2.5 km away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
3.0 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,412 reviews
1.3 km away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort
Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,430 - ₹ 17,017
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing