We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I spend around 200 nights a year in hotels and am a Hilton Diamond member. I think this property is a gem! We stayed here 2 nights on our tour of the Florida Everglades & Florida Keys. Our room was a king oceanfront with a full kitchen and living area. The room conditions are the same as every other Hampto Ii visit across the country. As a frequent traveler, I appreciate this consistency. The view here is nothing less than spectacular. Although the hotel is facing South, you still get a pretty sunrise and sunset view even if indirectly. Islamorada has much to offer in terms of restaurants. This location has an Outback Steakhouse attached to it with great outdoor seating and tiki bar if you are looking for something familiar. Outback will also deliver to your room.
Last year we stayed at the Hilton Key Largo resort which certainly has its merrits. However, given the choice again I would choose the Hampton for the more spacious accommodations, view, and overall convenience to the surrounding areas and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solitaire007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    431
    138
    53
    34
See reviews for
448
528
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great place to stay in the middle keys. The pool is very nice and there is a great beach area with hammocks with a great view of the Atlantic. You are able to see the ocean from all the rooms. The breakfast is good and filling. The suites have a kitchenette which is very convenient, if you don't want to eat out all the time. A small family could easily stay, as there is a pull-out couch.

Room Tip: I would prefer to stay on a higher floor facing the South and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAN507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Went to this property for a short weekend fishing trip with friends. The first time we had brought any kids with us on a fishing trip and this was a perfect property for it. The pool and beach area are great for the kiddies. Onsite dinning is a gift after a long day on the fishing charter with good food and no need off the property with the tired adults! Beds were comfortable and 2 bathrooms were very nice.

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are fresh and clean. My only complaint is the cleaning staff didn't get to our room before we came back from our charter at 2pm. Seemed like they should have been able to get to it sometime between 6am when we left and 2pm when we returned. Oh well, still got fresh towels on request and they came and emptied the trash cans.

Overall, a great experience though.

Room Tip: Try to get the pool side rooms! The view is much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJDembow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Very nice hotel. Our kids loved the pool. We booked a suite which had a full kitchen (great for keeping your fish cool). We didn't pay extra for an ocean front room, but still had a nice view.

So many hotels & motels in Islamorada look better online than in person. With Hampton Inn, we knew exactly what to expect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5kmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We have an enjoyable time here, the staff is friendly and competent. Clean rooms. Parking can get a bit tight at times, but we did fine with our midsize rental.

Room Tip: As with all seaside resorts, you need to request a view of the water, higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolfOtterbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
6.8 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
7.1 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.8 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,640 reviews
3.4 km away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
3.6 km away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,855 - ₹ 27,643
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovations recently completed at this oceanfront resort in picturesque Islamorada. Amara Cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing