We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting location and hotel....but not a resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Interesting location and hotel....but not a resort.”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

As the main destination of our trip, the Santa Maria Suites was an interesting mix....and I can certainly say the same about Key West in general. On to the details....

The hotel's location is at the slower, and shall I say more rainbow colored, end of the Duval Street crawl. A long way from Malory Sq. and the main watering holes, but the exercise did us good. It is close to the southern most point marker and the ocean, even though we found no real beach. The wind was up (small craft warnings) so we didn't really look for the sailboat rental place nearby or get a chance to go snorkling to the offshore reefs. There is a neat Cuban grocery store and grill close by, but we did have to walk a bit to get to the major eateries. La-Te-Da's was close by on Duval and serves a great breakfast which we throughly enjoyed. Also found a martini bar nearby that served the best Key Lime martini we had during our trip.

The hotel's chrome and glass room decor seems out of place (like I stepped back in time) in a beachfront location such as Key West, but the ground floor level two bedroom suite was really nice. The living area and kitchen was huge, with granite counter tops and plenty of lighting. The bedrooms and bathrooms were also nicely furnished. I personnally did not like the very low beds, and the mattress I had was a little soft for my liking, but I had the master suite that came with an exceptional bathroom. The washer and dryer were also welcomed and used. The kitchen came with liquid dish detergent, dishwasher detergent, laundy detergent, dish towels, and was more than adequately furnished with plates, silverware, and pots/pans. Good AC and ceiling fans were also appreciated.

The pool was only 15 feet from our front door, and the water was warm and inviting. Lots of families here, as well as couples and friends traveling together. They had free wine and snacks in the afternoon, as well as always having limeade in the lobby....we did not eat at the on-site restaurant.

We ended up in Key West during it's 30th anniversay of the founding of the Conch Republic, and can certainly say our stay was a hoot with all of the things going on around us.....bed races and 'drag' races down Duval Street, waterfront firehose boat battle between the USCG and the local sailors in the water off Malory Sq., and the general rowdiness that is Key West and Duval Street.

Room Tip: Ground level.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuleHead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    203
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
717
524
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay. I would recommend a suite on the ground floor. The beds and bedrooms on the second floor are quite small. Great staff and location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Very modern clean rooms with well equiped kitchen area but in our view all rather cramped.
Our balcony looked across to a wall of next block so not wonderfull.
The pool area is pleasant enough but again not too large.
The pool bar only does canned beer.
Although we new the location of this hotel, the reality is that it took about twenty five minutes to walk to say Mallory Sq, doing that twice a day takes out two hours of the day - which is worth bearing in mind.
Just enough parking space if all drivers park with consideration !!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony with a "proper" view of the pool/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoddyIghthamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Minor details with errors in turn down service and a few small bugs but overall a good choice. Will look around at other lodging before automatically booking Santa Maria in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdeyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We loved everything about this place! The staff was incredibly helpful & friendly. The units were spectacular. We had 3 units reserved for a wedding party in April and all of us loved it. It is pricey, but then again so is everything in Key West! Thanks Jodi & staff for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjborn2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.9 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
0.5 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,663 reviews
1.6 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,820 - ₹ 53,821
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing