We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice but not as nice as we expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice but not as nice as we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed with friends in a two bed duplex suite. The accommodation was not very good for socialising. The living room was long and thin with a balcony which could only accommodate 2 of us at a time - not very food for a suite for 4 people. The kitchen was entirely separate at the rear of the property. The bedrooms and bathrooms were cosy, with some scuffs on walls and the odd cracked tile. I'm being picky but it's not what I expect from a premium rate hotel.

I think if we had picked a two bed single floor suite the layout and balcony size would have been much better.

On a plus note - the pool area was lovely, everything was clean, the staff all pleasant, and the location quiet whilst still within easy reach of Duval Street.

Room Tip: Don't book a duplex suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandC_Crowthorne_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    192
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
656
498
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We spent two nights at Santa Maria Suites in April 2012 with our two sons (ages 11 and 9). Wow, what a great place! I travel all over the world with my job, and usually stay at Marriott properties because of their consistent quality and great rewards program. We read the reviews of Santa Maria Suites on Tripadvisor, and decided to give it a try. We're so glad we did. From our late-night check-in to the the day we had to leave, it's obvious that all the employees take pride in providing the highest level of service. They are all extremely friendly and make you feel right at home. Derek was especially great. The small touches really put the place over the top - the breakfast muffins, dove bars, and free smoothies at the pool. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite which was just beautiful - modern, upscale, well-appointed, and impeccably clean. The hotel is in a perfect location, close enough to walk to all the high-energy excitement on Duval Street. But it also is the perfect quiet retreat when you're ready to relax. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is the only hotel I will stay at in Key West. The condos are gorgeous and modern. Washer and dryer inside each suite a huge plus. Quick walk to Duval, and is attached to the most amazing sushi restaurant.
Derek and the staff are amazing.
You feel secluded from everyone but at the same time are close to all the fun.

Love the Dove ice cream bars, fruit, and muffins!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just returned from a 4 night/5 day stay at the Santa Maria Suites (posted a short trip report in the forum). WE LOVE THIS PLACE!! Two couples – had a two-bedroom ground level flat- Unit #1 right next to the lobby. Was initially worried that it would be extremely high traffic, but wasn’t a problem at all. The unit was perfect for what we needed- a small living area to crash and talk, and two separate bedroom/bath areas for privacy. Had a nice little patio. Full kitchen, but we never cooked. But having the sink, frig/freezer, and large counter with bar stools was great. Muffins, Dove ice cream bits, and Dove chocolates delivered every evening. Muffins were fresh and tasty.
Every hotel employee we encountered delivered top shelf service- no exaggeration here, they were wonderful. Check-in and out was quick and effortless, and final bill was accurate. They arranged to have bikes delivered to the hotel and made restaurant reservations several times for us. Each recommendation they made was right on the money.
The location was great for us- close to Duval, but on the ‘quiet end’. We walked everywhere, when not on bikes. Never needed a car. Tip: if you are in a hurry to get somewhere, don’t walk on Duval- it gets crowded. Take Simonton and cut over to where you need to go. We took Duval when time wasn’t an issue (which was most of the time), because it is just so entertaining.
We were steps away from the pool and the pool concierge stand. Complimentary smoothies, water, sunscreen, and fruit were a big plus. Ken, Derrick, and Jane took good care of us every day. (During happy hour, Derrick would check several times to see if we needed anything- would bring the wine around and refill our cups. “Chair Hogs” are a pet peeve of mine- people who think a towel over a chair reserves the sucker for the ENTIRE DAY, even when they are gone. One day he saw us looking around for four chairs, and quickly came over and ‘rearranged’ chairs and removed towels so we would have a place to sit. LOVED IT!!). The pool area is exactly like the pictures- very tropical and well-groomed.
We ordered lunch one day from the restaurant on-site- Ambrosia. It was so good, and they delivered it to us at poolside.
There is a little Cuban bodega (mini-mart) right across the street, which was very convenient. WARNING- the woman who runs it is very cranky/moody (remember the Soup Nazi in Seinfeld??? She is that way with the coffee- ask her about American coffee vs. Cuban coffee at your peril!!). However, she was part of its charm – a little neighborhood store that was very ‘Key West’.
I have read some the knocks about certain things on prior reviews, and I will comment on those. Yes, the rooms are small, but this isn’t an apartment- it is a ‘suite hotel’, exactly what it advertises to be. The bedroom closet is very large, but ours contained a small 3-drawer dresser and a room safe, so we didn’t consider it wasted space. The interior was very tastefully decorated - and no, the furniture wasn’t brand new and some pieces had some very minor dings, but again, this is a hotel with thousands of guests every year – people do not treat hotel furnishings with the same care as they do in their homes, so they show the wear and tear- just a fact. When we had any issues (such as getting the TV remote to work), they were handled literally within minutes. Our unit was very clean. The cleaning staff was very unobtrusive and worked around our crazy in and out schedule.

I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if we return to KW.

Room Tip: Flats on the ground level very convenient to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauigoneandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights 7th to 10th of April in a 2 bed suite my son in 1 room my wife and I in the other. The location is great a short walk to Duvall Street and southernmost point. The rooms were great on the ground floor the kitchen was well equipped, however the bedrooms were very small and the bathrooms were even smaller with not enough storage for all our toiletries! The shower was a dual shower but you could only use one at a time so what was the point, the shower controls were a mystery and it was either red hot or off. The iPod docking station had been left unplugged so I had to move the bedside table to find the power lead, it was filthy behind there dust and dirt that must have been left for ages. The bedrooms in general were cramped which wasn't helped by the absurdly large wardrobe doors which seemed to take up half the room. the tv remotes were swapped out during our stay but no instruction was given on the new ones. I tied twice to contact reception on the phone and both times received a mailbox is full message.

The pool area was ok but if I was a parent expecting to be able to watch my child in the pool from
the balcony I would be disappointed as you couldn't see the pool due to the large tree in front of the balcony. My wife and I were by the pool for a while but there were not enough beds for the amount of people in the rooms which meant people were laying around the walkways very crowded.

There was the free muffins, wine etc but I can only think that this is the main reason for the polarity of this hotel.but these have already been priced in.

Checkout was at 8.30am as we were off to Miami and the reception staff never even asked me if I had enjoyed my stay and kept me waiting whilst they showed the new receptionist how to use the new system, overrated very much so! average hotel at best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
2.9 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.6 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 27,886 - ₹ 54,364
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing