We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Azul Key West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azul Key West
Ranked #44 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I struggled getting a Hotel at Key West due to the fact that it was Spring Break and most of the hotels were fully booked, my choices were a hotel on the outskirts or a B + B. For some reason I never think of a B + Bs when I’m abroad. After a bit of research and of course a good look through Trip Advisor I chose the Azul at Key West. I got the last room which was on the top floor and it is the same room that is previewed on the Azul website. This is Azul's most expensive room. My room was clean and airy with plenty of space. The bathroom was very small and the shower was over a bath and this was a bit tight with a sloping room but it did the job. All This was fully explained to me when I called to book so there was no surprise’s waiting for me

The breakfast was a fresh fruit/continental breakfast nice to start the day with, location was excellent only a 5 minute walk to Duval street and a 15 minute walk to the beach or simply hire a bike 10$ per day from the shop 50 yards away.
I agreed with a previous poster that the outdoor fencing was looking like it need a lick of paint or even should be replaced but I assume there is some other reason for not doing this as this does not fit in with the rest of the house or the surrounding grounds that were absolutely spotless at all times.
I enjoyed my time at the Azul. Great location

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    105
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
19
364
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Azul. The people working there couldn't have been more helpful. Check in went smoothly and when I asked for additional hangers, Becca was quick to provide as many as I needed. She showed us where the easiest place to rent bikes are a block a way (the best way to get around island). Michael was incredibly helpful describing the 2 primary charter tours and booked one for us when we chose. He did not steer us wrong (Danger Charters). They were a perfect balance between friendliness and giving us our space. My only suggestion to the hotel (which the staff was happy to take note of) was to have more hooks in the bathroom for the toiletries guests bring and towels near the shower. It wasn't really set up with any space for a woman to put her makeup on or dry her hair. The shelf they have slopes towards the toilet and the sink is a modern one that has no counter space (there is a shelf under it). They provide a hair dryer but if you want to use your own there is no place to rest it other than in the sink...not too safe. If they haven't added hooks, maybe pick up those temporary peel off ones that don't leave marks.

Our room was "Ambrosia" and was on the bottom floor next to the pool. It was a clean lined, modern space with enough storage (with the extra hangers) for our 4 night stay. The room isn't exceptionally big but we weren't planning on hanging out in it too much. If you think you want a quiet night at home watching tv- this probably isn't the hotel for you, the tv is small. We couldn't get the free wi-fi in the room but were able to get it on the deck 20 steps away. The bathroom amenities were all from Aveda and were restocked when we got low.

The hotel is only 4 blocks from Duval but isn't a stay up late and party kind of place. This was a nice place to retreat to since our trip overlapped with a bunch of college spring breakers. Breakfast was a lovely benefit. There is a CVS 2 blocks away for anything you might have forgotten.

2 good restaurants that are away from Duval that were good were Vito's pizza and 6 fish. Make advance reservations at 6 fish for dinner. We stumbled upon Vito's when we couldn't find a table anywhere after the Sunset Celebration. This is far enough away that it is probably visited mostly by locals. Don't let the outside of the restaurant fool you. It looks like a sub shop but is a bit more elegant (but casual) inside. Food & service were good. My husband said it was one of the best steak subs he has had.

Room Tip: Ambrosia's bed was comfortable, 1st floor off of the pool and I couldn't hear the people ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just spent a few days at Azul Key West. Highly recommended. Michael and Becca provided outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livefastersooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I note the overall opinions of this establishment are very positive, but I have to say it did not meet my expectations of vale for usd240 per night, and I say this having spent four months a year for 40 years in hotels of every standard in 102 countries.
I have full praise for the staff, and breakfasts and I acknowledge that the age of the property means that the rooms cannot be enlarged but ours was exceedingly compact, such that there was only one bedside table, the headboard was scuffed, as we're the walls and overall the impression was one of tiredness. The bed comfort was adequate but no more The curtains offered no protection against the morning sun either. The general sense of wear and tear applied to the fencing around the breakfast area and the furniture in the general areas was not in keeping with the period of the property. Look at comparable properties in Savannah. Finally having just spent a month in central America where even the most lowly accommodation without exception provided wifi access, I was disappointed on returning to the first world to find no access in my room, so I had to hunt around outside my room in pyjamas looking for a signal.
the response that it was not possible to improve coverage seems a bit weak.

in short, idid not feel this was USD600 well spent for two nights and while it is true it is not far from a section of Duval st, it is still quite a way from Mallory Square it should be said.

Room Tip: C heck out which ones have wifi coverage if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremyburtonReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamshire, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Having stayed at the Azul in Key Largo, we decided to stay at the Azul in Key West. This is a completely different property. For a starter it has a few more rooms, but they are set in a delightful Key West style building.

We had an upstairs King room in the old building, the bed was comfortable, but i was a little disapointed with the rest of the room, the bath room was really small but functioned sufficently, there was no other real ammenities in the room. The TV if you wanted it had about 5 channels and none of them were worth watching, the AC was pretty noisy, but ifyou put it on a low setting to make the room like a fridge whilst you go out for dinner then turn it off when you sleep. I was a little concerned by having a room at the front right by the street, the US1 is pretty busy. But Becca assured us that it was quiet and no guests had ever compained about road noise.... Hmmm.... Well i am not complaining but you certainly here all sorts of traffic noise as well as party goers stumbling down the street between 2 and 4 am.

Breakfast was great, really enjoyed the fresh fruit to start my day.

The Azul is a great position, only about 1mile walk from Mallory Square and 3/4 mile from the marina and Southern Most Point, so ideal central location to explore.

Overall, we had a lovely stay in this quaint hotel, yes there were some personal dislikes, but that is personal choice, dont let that put you off staying here, its very nice and the staff extremely friendly. We would stay here again, but take a room near the pool next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chunky-M0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.9 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.7 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#40 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.7 km away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 km away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Key West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Key West

Property: Azul Key West
Address: 907 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,507 - ₹ 16,614
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul Key West is a classic Queen Anne mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Three buildings surrounding a sparkling blue pool with tri-level decks overlooking old town and the gardens of Key West. A classy blend of tropical modern and historic, Azul offers off-street parking, breakfast and WI-FI. Just three blocks from Duval Street and a short walk to everything else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Azul Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Key West Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing