We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Azul Key West
Nearby Hotels
US$ 250
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$ 234
US$ 201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 296
US$ 245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 271
US$ 213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 335
US$ 303
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 301
US$ 251
The Marker
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 208
US$ 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 370
US$ 335
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)
US$ 262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orchid Key Inn(Key West)
US$ 290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
379
116
34
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
116
34
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtduval streetfew blocksbed and breakfasthard boiled eggsour night staywater pressurelovely poolbike rentalsceiling fanheated poolthird floorair conditionerthe main housebeautiful propertylocation was perfecthemingway house
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Azul. The people working there couldn't have been more helpful. Check in went smoothly and when I asked for additional hangers, Becca was quick to provide as many as I needed. She showed us where the easiest place to rent bikes are a block a way (the best way to get around island). Michael was incredibly helpful describing the 2 primary charter tours and booked one for us when we chose. He did not steer us wrong (Danger Charters). They were a perfect balance between friendliness and giving us our space. My only suggestion to the hotel (which the staff was happy to take note of) was to have more hooks in the bathroom for the toiletries guests bring and towels near the shower. It wasn't really set up with any space for a woman to put her makeup on or dry her hair. The shelf they have slopes towards the toilet and the sink is a modern one that has no counter space (there is a shelf under it). They provide a hair dryer but if you want to use your own there is no place to rest it other than in the sink...not too safe. If they haven't added hooks, maybe pick up those temporary peel off ones that don't leave marks.

Our room was "Ambrosia" and was on the bottom floor next to the pool. It was a clean lined, modern space with enough storage (with the extra hangers) for our 4 night stay. The room isn't exceptionally big but we weren't planning on hanging out in it too much. If you think you want a quiet night at home watching tv- this probably isn't the hotel for you, the tv is small. We couldn't get the free wi-fi in the room but were able to get it on the deck 20 steps away. The bathroom amenities were all from Aveda and were restocked when we got low.

The hotel is only 4 blocks from Duval but isn't a stay up late and party kind of place. This was a nice place to retreat to since our trip overlapped with a bunch of college spring breakers. Breakfast was a lovely benefit. There is a CVS 2 blocks away for anything you might have forgotten.

2 good restaurants that are away from Duval that were good were Vito's pizza and 6 fish. Make advance reservations at 6 fish for dinner. We stumbled upon Vito's when we couldn't find a table anywhere after the Sunset Celebration. This is far enough away that it is probably visited mostly by locals. Don't let the outside of the restaurant fool you. It looks like a sub shop but is a bit more elegant (but casual) inside. Food & service were good. My husband said it was one of the best steak subs he has had.

Room Tip: Ambrosia's bed was comfortable, 1st floor off of the pool and I couldn't hear the people upstairs.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just spent a few days at Azul Key West. Highly recommended. Michael and Becca provided outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livefastersooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I note the overall opinions of this establishment are very positive, but I have to say it did not meet my expectations of vale for usd240 per night, and I say this having spent four months a year for 40 years in hotels of every standard in 102 countries.
I have full praise for the staff, and breakfasts and I acknowledge that the age of the property means that the rooms cannot be enlarged but ours was exceedingly compact, such that there was only one bedside table, the headboard was scuffed, as we're the walls and overall the impression was one of tiredness. The bed comfort was adequate but no more The curtains offered no protection against the morning sun either. The general sense of wear and tear applied to the fencing around the breakfast area and the furniture in the general areas was not in keeping with the period of the property. Look at comparable properties in Savannah. Finally having just spent a month in central America where even the most lowly accommodation without exception provided wifi access, I was disappointed on returning to the first world to find no access in my room, so I had to hunt around outside my room in pyjamas looking for a signal.
the response that it was not possible to improve coverage seems a bit weak.

in short, idid not feel this was USD600 well spent for two nights and while it is true it is not far from a section of Duval st, it is still quite a way from Mallory Square it should be said.

Room Tip: C heck out which ones have wifi coverage if you need it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremyburtonReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Having stayed at the Azul in Key Largo, we decided to stay at the Azul in Key West. This is a completely different property. For a starter it has a few more rooms, but they are set in a delightful Key West style building.

We had an upstairs King room in the old building, the bed was comfortable, but i was a little disapointed with the rest of the room, the bath room was really small but functioned sufficently, there was no other real ammenities in the room. The TV if you wanted it had about 5 channels and none of them were worth watching, the AC was pretty noisy, but ifyou put it on a low setting to make the room like a fridge whilst you go out for dinner then turn it off when you sleep. I was a little concerned by having a room at the front right by the street, the US1 is pretty busy. But Becca assured us that it was quiet and no guests had ever compained about road noise.... Hmmm.... Well i am not complaining but you certainly here all sorts of traffic noise as well as party goers stumbling down the street between 2 and 4 am.

Breakfast was great, really enjoyed the fresh fruit to start my day.

The Azul is a great position, only about 1mile walk from Mallory Square and 3/4 mile from the marina and Southern Most Point, so ideal central location to explore.

Overall, we had a lovely stay in this quaint hotel, yes there were some personal dislikes, but that is personal choice, dont let that put you off staying here, its very nice and the staff extremely friendly. We would stay here again, but take a room near the pool next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chunky-M0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We came down to Key West from Miami on the Greyhound (another first for us) after staying in an over-priced hotel on the beach. Although it took 4 hours it was quite pleasant and interesting. We were welcomed and helped by Becca and liked our cool room upstairs overlooking the pool. The breakfast was good if you don't require high-fat. We met Michael the next day and he was also very helpful and amiable and organised an early breakfast and taxi on the morning we left to catch the Greyhound back. Wish we had been able to stay more than 2 nights!

Minor problems were noisy extractor fan in bathroom and the early morning calls from the cockerels!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews