We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All I Needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Habitation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Habitation
Ranked #48 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewiston, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All I Needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I can't think of anthing else I could have needed. Clean, quiet, friendly and close to the heart of Duval St. Being single and a seasoned traveler this is the type of establishment I love to find.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CaboToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    68
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
120
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

L'habitation does have a nice location and the house itself is quaint and somewhat charming. But their breakfast was terrible! My husband and I have stayed at B and Bs all over Canada and the U.S. and have rarely been disappointed. But for $200.00 a night for a bed AND BREAKFAST, we expected more than sugery muffins and pastry. We have had better breakfasts at low priced chain hotels along I 75. We definitely do not recommend this establishment. There are plenty of choices out there. I wish we had done better research. I should have been suspicious when there was no description of their meal on the website. I did get suspicious when checking in when I spotted a "breakfast" a menu for a local restaurant. The owners should be ashamed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed here over MLK weekend. Had to call a couple of weeks early to add a person to our reservation. Wasn't a problem at all. Stayed in room 19 (upstairs, 2 twin beds plus a pull out twin). They have rearranged the furniture since the pictures on their web site. The new arrangement give more floorspace but watch your head!
We arrived a bit early, but check in was quick and easy. The location is fantastic. There are better locations on the island but you either pay a fortune, or have to sleep with one eye open. We were in town because a friend's band was playing Sloppy Joes, a couple of blocks away. We were out til 2 or 3 AM every night. We did make it to breakfast most days. Fresh croissants, muffins and fruit. There's coffee and tea most any time and a fridge of sodas on the honor system (leave a dollar in the basket). Don't underestimate the value of just sitting on the front porch and watching the world go by, or on the back porch shaded by lush trees.
We have already started planning a return trip for longer than 3 nights, and will certainly be looking into l'Hab when we start booking things.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Grove, md
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

L'habitation, a bed and breakfast in Key west, was a real disappointment. Touted as charming etc, it is overrated, overpriced with lousy breakfast and shabby furnishings. Breakfast only available from 9 to 11, no cereal other than oatmeal, a few pastries and apples - very disappointing. We went out and bought our own and brought it in. Its only saving grace is its convenient location and nice downstairs and upstairs porches.

Room Tip: stay away from the upstairs two bedroom suite - low ceiling, poor furnishings, no carpet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ned h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

A splendid experience all around. Owner Stuart was welcoming and helpful throughout the visit and room (#18, first floor) comfortable, clean, and even quiet. Wish breakfast (fruit, muffins, croissants, and coffee) started earlier than 9am, but the food was fresh and the terrace on which it is served was delightful. Will certainly stay here again next time in Key West, as the location is ideal and the prices quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Probably quieter away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookline_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
0.1 km away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#29 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 km away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#49 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.4 km away
Smallest Bar Inn
Smallest Bar Inn
#69 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 km away
Rose Lane Villas
Rose Lane Villas
#2 of 19 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Habitation? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Habitation

Property: L'Habitation
Address: 408 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6512
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,835 - ₹ 24,237
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Habitation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your L'Habitation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Habitation Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing