We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Potential, So Little Value” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albury Court Hotel in Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So Much Potential, So Little Value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I didn't like the Albury Court. Not for what it is, which is a small inn with clean, efficient rooms. But for what is not, and what it could be.

There are 38 rooms, in two buildings, located on a very busy(read: noisy) street --the main road into Key West from the other Keys, and, based on the number of sirens, the preferred road from Old Town to the hospital.

Guests from both buildings congregate in a way-too-small patio and pool area for breakfast. There are 12 small bistro tables and only 2 (yes, 2) lounge chairs. The traffic jam around the U-shaped continental breakfast area can be maddening.

At 9:15 the waterfall at the edge of the small pool is turned on, which is so noisy it's impossible to talk without shouting --and the signal for almost everyone to leave. I feel for the guests whose rooms faced the patio/pool for having to live with that noise. We spent some mornings and most afternoon at the pool. Most of the time we were either alone, or there were 3-4 other guests.

Aside from the small brick walkways, the patio by the pool and the rest of the grounds are covered in small, sharp gravel, which clings to shoes and ends up in the bottom of the pool, on the brick walkway, and embedded in the carpet in your room. There's nothing quite like stepping on a sharp stone when you're trying to cool off in the pool.

The rooms are clean. However, the bathroom has only one hook and no shelf or cabinet. Whatever toiletries you have must remain in your kit bag or hide behind the towel rack over the top of the toilet.

We were on the first floor. The stairs leading to rooms on the second floor were, literally, inches away from our window. For privacy, we had chose to close the blinds, leaving the room in perpetual darkness during the sunny Florida afternoons.

All in all, for what they charge during the Winter season, Albury Court is a poor value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowdyDoody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    268
    110
    43
    38
See reviews for
68
386
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

A good location, a few blocks from Duval but close to the Old Seaport area. Very nice staff. Agree with other comments about the room size (smallish) and the cramped sink area but the continental breakfast was welcomed and the bed was comfy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The location is not too far from Duval, nice bike ride away. I like not staying in the middle of all the rucus of Duval street. The staff was very friendly, Ray was awesome. :) The room was a bit small and so was the sink area but we got a huge balcony. The bed was very comfortable and huge. The small size of the room didn't bother me given that we were barely there except to sleep and come back during the day to change in the afternoons. I have sleeping problems but I slept awesome the whole weekend. No noise. Except ambulances and police sirens but that you can hear anywhere.

Nice bike rack to secure bikes to inside hotel property.

Very cute and quaint. :)

I'd stay here again without a doubt. It was very clean and it did not gross me out to walk barefoot on the carpet or in the shower. I always get grossed out walking barefoot in hotels. This one felt cozy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuhncakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I just spent my 1 year anniversary during the long presidents weekend (Feb 17, 2012 to Feb 20, 2012) at the Albury Court Hotel and was extremely happy with the room and service. The front desk clerk Ray was very friendly and helpful as to what activities, restaurants, and bars to visit during our stay as well as providing us with many coupons. The room is simple, very clean and comfortable but seriously with all the things to see and do in Key West you won't be spending a lot of time in your room. I have read reviews before booking about excessive noise but I slept pretty sound every night. The only downside to staying anywhere in the Keys is the parking situation. Fortunately we were able to find parking across the street for free during our 4 days and I do recommend bringing or renting bikes. I will definitely stay at this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony overlooking Eaton street. It was nice to drink coffee and lay out in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Albury Court is just 3 blocks from the harbor and 6 blocks from Duval Street. Contintental breakfast by the pool was nice and satisfactory. The front desk was very helpful with requests and recommendations. We enjoyed our stay even though the last day we found a couple palmetto bugs in our room (wife not too happy about that).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.4 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.5 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.7 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 49 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
1.1 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
1.7 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albury Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albury Court Hotel in Key West

Property: Albury Court Hotel in Key West
Address: 1030 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,306 - ₹ 33,442
Hotel Class:3 star — Albury Court Hotel in Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Albury Court Hotel located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 38 guest rooms and is located in a residential neighborhood at the corner of Eaton and Frances Streets in the historic district. Near the harbor, it is within walking distance of Key West's major attractions including Duval Street, the sunset pier, restaurants, shopping and nightlife, waterfront activities, and quaint island neighborhoods. This hotel offers a variety of guest rooms located in several buildings, each with typical Key West architecture such as clapboard siding, open porches, metal roofs, picket fences, and tropical landscaping. Free high-speed Wifi. Free continental breakfast. Upscale amenities. Outdoor heated swimming pool. Historic landmark guesthouse. Conveniently located in Old Town Key West. Lovely neighborhood setting. Pay garage parking nearby. Walk to Duval Street, The Harbor & beaches. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Albury Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Albury Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albury Court Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing