We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place to hang out while in key west!”
Review of New Orleans House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Orleans House
Ranked #53 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming place to hang out while in key west!”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My roommate and i spent an afternoon hanging out at the garden bar by the pool. The service was extremely welcoming and beyond impeccable. The drink special and extended happy hour made it worthwhile with crazy key west prices rampant elsewhere, and T.J. the bartender made the whole experience a one of a kind blast. We will undoubtedly be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enneken2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    43
    22
    10
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
82
68
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The New Orleans House is Fabulous. I had room 23a, and it was clean and a good room. I had an awesome time. I had stayed at another place in Key West when I came for a vacation. I try to get to Key West once a year or sooner. This was my very first time staying at the New Oleans House.
The staff that works there are very friendly, they made you feel at home, The Bourbon St. Pub below the New Orleans House, the bartenders were very friendly. They also made you feel like you were part of everything.
I will make this my first choice to stay, and the other place I stayed at my second choice to stay if there aren't any rooms available at the New Orleans House.
I had an awesome time, and thanks to all the people who work at The New Orleans house for making me feel at home, and the bartenders in at the Bourbon St. Pub and staff Thank You.
I look forward to coming back for another stay at the New Orleans House. Everything was great.

Thank You

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are above the Bourbon St Pub. If your looking for a quiet room I would call and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This place is great! It's right at the heart of Duval Street. If you are going for a fun weekend or party getaway its the perfect hangout. The staff are amazingly friendly, generous with tourist advice and none to shy with their pouring. You get free entry to the Bourbon Street Pub, 801 Bourbon, 1 Saloon and the 801 Drag Cabarets with your guest pass, great on the weekends when some have a cover. The activities were a great way to meet people, either at the Oscars in the Hot Tub or the Mardi Gras Pub Crawl a fun time was had. The Garden bar was a good home-base for stopping in during the day and the free happy hour was a daily highlite.
Now for what this place is not: It's not the Ritz or a serene spa. It's attached to a couple bars and is hopping fairly late. Most nights I was part of the exuberance so it wasn't a problem but if you are looking for a quiet spot to get a mani/pedi and read cosmo you may want to look elsewhere. The rooms are fairly basic but comfortable and clean and the TV seemed to have a good selection of channels. If you want a fun guest-house, at a reasonable rate, to have a great vacation stay here.

Room Tip: the main floor rooms are definite party rooms, room 12 and 11a open directly to the Garden Bar. Hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed the weekend of 2/17-2/19/12. The hotel is small, with an excellent staff. We were treated like family. Located on Duval St. it is only a short walk to anything you would want to see or do in Key West. Our room was a bit dated, but was very clean. Would highly recommend this place. It was my first visit to Key West and the staff at the New Orleans House made it a wonderful vacation and I look forward to being able to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was disappointed in this hotel from the moment we checked in. The pool area was covered in leaves, the pool was greenish and looked dirty, all of the lounge chairs had tears in them and didn't even look safe to lay in. Our roomed seemed nice at first but then we noticed the sheets that had stains on them from certain bodily fluids. The gym was also right outside of our room which has got to be the most ridiculous place to put a gym. Our bed would shake from people dropping the weights on the ground. During the night we had to listen to the music from the club downstairs and the people using the sun deck directly above our room for some after dark activities. The only good thing about this hotel was that the staff was nice, otherwise this place is a huge waste of money and I highly recommend that you do not stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank F K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.1 km away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#47 of 77 in Key West
537 reviews
0.3 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#18 of 77 in Key West
672 reviews
0.2 km away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#55 of 77 in Key West
648 reviews
0.1 km away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#11 of 77 in Key West
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans House

Property: New Orleans House
Address: 724 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7463
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,407 - ₹ 18,040
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all male guesthouse on Duval Street. Part of the Bourbon Street Pub complex. Free breakfast, free happy hour, free gym, free wifi, free cover at the Bourbon Street Pub and the 801. Stay where you play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your New Orleans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing