We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cuban Food”

El Siboney Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 454 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very local place, fast service, incredible selection, authentic cuisine, must see for foodies. Not a tourist joint

Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the wonderful rating, Cynthia! We're so glad you enjoyed our speedy service and authentic Cuban cuisine. Hope you get the chance to come back for more good times soon!

Until next time,
El Siboney Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 3,897 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful authentic Cuban food. Excellent value with a local atmosphere. Don’t miss the fried plantains!

Thank banks_molly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Molly! We're thrilled you so enjoyed our tasty and authentic fried plantains. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,
El Siboney Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I eat here several times every time I'm in Key West. I've had just about everything on their menu and was never disappointed. Its located out of the way in a nice neighborhood. Its unassuming and without super fancy interior. Its a real down home style Cuban restaurant that's all about the food. On Sunday lunch the crowd seems to just come from Church. Mostly families dressed nicely. Week days its lots of business people for lunch mixed with tourists. A very nice mix of people. They love tourists here and can explain anything on the menu to you. Service is fast and super friendly. I've never had to wait longer than 15 minutes for a table cause I come for lunch. However dinner waits I'm sure are longer. They have their menu online so you can check it out ahead of time. I would suggest you check out their daily specials online and try them too. Even though I've tried most everything my favorites are the standard Rope Vieja, Vaca Frita, and the Cuban Mix. What ever you get make sure to order it with the sweet plantains, they are to die for.

Thank MalvernGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the thoughtful review! We're glad you've been able to try so many tasty plates on our menu. Hope you'll be joining us again very soon.

Take care,
El Siboney Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had to go to Key a West for proper Cuban food. We’ve eaten at plenty of Cuban restaurants in Miami, Tampa, Orlando, but, we had to go here for the flavors that only abuelita could make. Tucked away in a residential area, we came here on the recommendation of local friends. It was a long day, hard work and our last meal was before 8 am. Tired at the end of the evening we asked for someplace within walking distance with reasonable prices and decent food. They suggested El Siboney.

At 8:30 pm, there was a short wait, and even to go orders kept coming in. They have a nice assortment of import beers and had one while browsing the menu.

Most restaurants describe the dish, but here was just the English and Spanish versions of the name. Most expensive dishes were about $16 with only the paella topping $20. Servers were wonderful and described the dishes well with a gentle smile. I expected a 6” piece of skirt steak but I got a piece as wide as the plate with a beautiful heap of maduros that has a glorious crust of dark caramelized bits. The soup of the day was Lima bean and it was soft and flavorful and not at all yucky. The other dish was wonderful coconut shrimp which had a crunchy bite. A pile of yellow rice was accompanied by delicious black beans with green pepper flavors.

We could see the zagat ratings and other customer choice awards and could taste why they were given. Wonderful staff, great service and fantastic flavors.

Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're delighted you found us when you were craving traditional, authentic Cuban flavors, Ana! It's awesome your meal here hit the spot, from the first sip of import beer to the last bite of skirt steak. We're thrilled your bean soup and coconut shrimp hit the spot, too! Hope you'll stop by again next time you find yourself in the keys!

Best,
El Siboney Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We drove away from the center of Key West's hustle & bustle to have lunch here. We waited until 2 PM for the crowd to thin out. We were in luck, were seated right away and were promptly served. The place is simple, immaculately clean, the wait staff are cordial and helpful and the service is very prompt. The food is simply delicious. We had the Torta Mixta - the traditional Cuban sandwi ch on soft bread with a light crust - spectacular! We also each had a of lima bean, potato & ham soup. It is properly thickened and again delightful. We were not able to enjoy their sangria, a beer or dessert - but the offerings were very nice looking. I cannot say enough nice things about this neighborhood restaurant - it was exceptional in every way and exceeded our expectations!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for stopping in for a relaxing and tasty lunch bite, Tom! You can always expect a top notch Cuban plate and some of the friendliest service around -- after all, it's just what our great guests deserve. Hope we'll see you in again soon!

Take care,
El Siboney Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Siboney Restaurant also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to El Siboney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing