We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Kinda Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivia by Duval

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olivia by Duval
Ranked #68 of 79 Key West B&B and Inns
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kinda Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed in the Conch Room and found it to be very tired, desperately in need of an update and not at all what I expected. To be fair, the place was clean and the pool was nice, but the pool deck needs to be replaced before someone bleeds to death from multiple splinter wounds.

The refrigerator in the room was not working and there's no ice machine on the property with the exception of a small manual unit at poolside (you need to carry water to it, pour it in and wait 7 to 10 minutes). Parking is horrific, but I guess you can say that about most of Key West. The only plus to this place is the location; very convenient and very close to the action.

Wthout a major upgrade to the property, I'm very doubtful that I'd return.

Room Tip: The room that opened directly onto the pool appeared to be a better deal, but can't say for cert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemistchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
We are disappointed you did not find our property to your liking. Most of our guests find their stay to be a good value. Guests stay at our place because of affordability, location, and "clothing optional", knowing that it is not the "Ritz". Maintaining and upgrading the property is a constant in our lives and top level priority, but to remain cost effective we move forward modestly.

Wooden decks are very popular in the Keys We monitor it for safety. Most of our guests wear "flip flops" on the hot deck to prevent feet from burning and thus avoid any minor incidents.

If made aware any appliance not working, we replace them immediately as have them in storage. Please let us know promptly if anything is not working or to your liking. Hearing about it after your departure, does not let us respond timely to your needs. Thank you for trying us and we hope your next Key West visit is just what you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    50
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
19
129
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed in the cuddy room with my daughter for a week. The room is small, but it is probably the best use of space I have seen. DJ was friendly. While there a storm caused damage to wifi equipment. Kay worked diligently to determine what the problem was. When we couldn't get wifi in our room, but could get it, outside our window, Kay joked "well, that is not really convenient now is it?". She ordered the parts and repairs were made within days. Thank you Kay. Housekeeping staff is friendly and welcomes your complaints/suggestions. We had a musty smell in the cuddy room, from the shower curtain. Housekeeping located air fresheners and was working on a more appropriate curtain.

1/4 block off of Duval. Very convenient, my daughter and I were frequently in and out, very convenient. I liked that it wasn't right next door to something obnoxious. Very peaceful.

Clothing optional pool. We chose to be clothed, but most went without. We expected it and we're fine with it.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Yes, sometimes the lightening plays havoc with our wifi and the wifi provider's equipment and leaves us "out of touch with the web world" for a bit. Your patience was appreciated and we did take every step possible to get it back as soon as possible.

We are not perfect, but continuely work toward perfection of cleanliness and comfort. We appreciate our guests letting us know immediately if anything does not suit them so we have the opportunity to right any wrong. If we hear about it at departure, we still appreciate it, but would have liked to fix it before your departure. Thanks for letting us know about your issues and your appreciation of our efforts to fix them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I read the reviews of this place and when I was offered a small room for $79 / night I jumped at it. I wasn't disappointed overall. The "cat" room is tucked away in a cove and has privacy. The bamboo on the front door window is worthless at night, so it's a good thing nobody walks by; you can see right through it.

I found tiny ants here and there....to be expected in the tropics. Not a party...just scouts :D A dorm fridge and 4-cup coffee maker was working fine. The window A/C did not cool the room however. It has some type of temperature gauge in it but it's a joke. Set it to 72 and the air coming out is cool but the room is 80 degrees. I mentioned this to the hotelier and was warned not to turn it too low or it would freeze up and I would have no A/C at all. How hospitable.

The tub had no stopper, so when I needed to rinse out my scuba gear, had to use a plastic bag, wash cloth, and soap dish to fill the tub. I'm a former Peace Corps volunteer so know how to "make do." The security gate on the side of the house was consistently left open so anyone could walk into the courtyard if so motivated. Other guests apparently were not security conscious.

My biggest complaint was the bed. It was positioned against the wall due to the small size of the room and to avoid blocking the door to the bathroom. It was just me so that wasn't an issue. However, the side unobstructed had been worn down and the bed had not been flipped or rotated anytime recently (if at all) and I could not sleep my first night. The second night and thereafter I moved the bed away from the wall and slept on the other side. Much better. The pillows need replacing, were cheap and lumpy.

At this price I didn't expect much and that was what I got.

Room Tip: The cat room is very quiet and private, albeit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We appreciate your feedback, and sincerely wish we could have met your expectations during your stay. We will respond to each issue in hopes future guests will not have a similar encounter. We want every guest to enjoy our place and Key West as a whole and are striving to make that happen 100% of the time.

A/Cs are set at 78degrees at Check In to conserve energy. This policy helps keep us a budget location. Guests then make adjustments to suit their needs. We inform guests that putting it under 68-70 degrees may cause the a/c to "freeze" up due to our very high humidity environment. (high humidity is good for your skin, but tough on A/Cs)! They freeze, are required to be put on "fan" for 2 - 4 hours before they will again work properly. Our intent in informing guests of this potential is to be hospitable and make their stay more comfortable and we regret it offended.

The bed will be inspected for defects and replaced if defective. We understand each individual has their own taste and pillow top may not suit all. The mattresses are all top of the line pillow top which is usually a plus for a moderately priced guesthouse.
We are replacing the pillows as we are typing this response.

There should be a drain stopper in the tub at all times. Spares are in the office as they disappear occasionally, which must have occurred and housekeeping did not catch it.

It is recommended divers use our hose station to clean dive gear as the tub, fixtures, and plumbing do not do well with sand, salt water, and dive gear. Dive boats have cleaning areas, also. Unaware a hose was needed, its availability was not discussed at check in. We will add that info to our Reference Book in the unit. We encourage future guests to ask about their needs upon check in or at anytime during their stay. We will respond as soon as humanly possible.

The window panes were broken by the previous guest, replaced before you arrived, and now have a privacy coat in addition to the door blind.

We regret your discomfort and very much take your crtique to heart. Be assured It is of utmost importance to us to be the best we can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We loved Olivia by Duval! Great location close to everything but far enough away from all the noise. Our room was clean. Kay was great on giving us information about the keys and the discounts available! She always had a smile on her face! We loved and enjoyed our trip to the Keys. We will be back and we will be staying at Olivia by Duval! Thanks again for the great memories! Doreen & Bill

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Location, clean, and information we offer to those who chose to stay with us. Your kind words keep us all "smiling" and hopefully your memories will bring you back to Key West soon. Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to tell us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This place has the best location while still being quiet at night. Very clean and comfortable room without having to pay alot of money. I stayed in the loft room which was very nice. All of the staff here was very helpful and gave tons of info about Key West. When in Key West again, Olivia By Duval will be my only place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Comfortable, clean, affordable place to stay in a convenient location, with helpful and friendly staff is what we are all about. Our guests are here to have fun and relax. They enjoy the conversations that pop up between them and other guests and with the small staff. We offer a friendly environment on the friendly island of Key West. Thank you for showing your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#57 of 79 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.5 km away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 79 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 km away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#53 of 79 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#56 of 79 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.9 km away
Knowles House B&B
Knowles House B&B
#32 of 79 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 km away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#62 of 79 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia by Duval? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia by Duval

Property: Olivia by Duval
Address: 511 Olivia Street, Key West, FL 33040
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,406 - ₹ 17,028
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Hospitality Inns is a family of Key West accommodations. Family-owned and operated since 2006, our properties suit a wide range of guests and families.Our four properties are meticulously maintained and located in the heart of historic Old Town Key West. Ideally located, our accommodations are within walking distance of countless restaurants, shops, art galleries, beaches, Mallory Square and mile-long Duval Street.Within our family of accommodations, we have four unique and distinct properties. Whether you are seeking a quiet, romantic, secluded stay, or vacation rentals for a family retreat, we have you covered. Our properties include a tropical bed and breakfast on Duval Street, a cozy inn near the beach and Southernmost Point, a historic “Conch” house, and quaint vacation cottages and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olivia By Duval Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing