We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Ranked #18 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

First of all.. Steve and Jacque were wonderful, from the moment we got there till when we left they were charming hosts. I especially love the happy hour, it was a wonderful way to meet the other guest and form new friendships. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and very clean. We also loved the pool, it was nice to lay out unencumbered with clothing if we chose to... The location of Marrero's is very convenient to restaurants and shopping, we stayed at Azuls for a few days prior and had to take the pedicab or regular cab to get to the main attractions. All in all, this will be the only place we stay at in the future!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    101
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
41
472
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was our 3rd July 4th trip to Marrero's Guest Mansion. We just got home today and are planning the 4th trip for July 4th, 2013. Each year we have gone we have met old friends and made new ones.

The BB is a great old mansion with a lot of history. The ghost tour stops here nightly. Steve and Jackie are great hosts. They are always helpful and friendly. They also mingle with the guests at Happy Hour. We had great conversations with them. The pool is a great place to spend the afternoon with old friend and making new friends.

Don't waste your time elsewhere stay at Marrero's.

Shake and Bake,
Tom and Sherry.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJK5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This gorgeous Victorian mansion is filled with history and retains much of its original interior look and feel. I appreciated the remaining parlor and very large porch, both of which were places for guests to mingle.

Pros: The location was very convenient, just a block off of Duval, in the heart of the tourist/souvenir/restaurant section of Key West. It felt very secure. Our room (22) was well cooled and spacious enough for the average price (130 offseason in June).

Cons: The host (owner?) was not very accommodating, friendly or welcoming. A better term would be cranky. He did not seem well suited to the guest relations profession, as several guests were seen snapped at for some minor infraction of house rules and we did not feel particularly valued as guests. If he is the owner, he would be wise to lighten up or hire a manager.
The room had an incredibly small TV, about 12" diameter. In a day when flat screen TVs are incredibly cheap, I cannot imagine why so many inns and hotels have less than 20" screens..they cost less than $300. Also, the wall mounted AC unit was thankfully powerful and quite new but IMPOSSIBLE to aim away from blowing directly at the head of the bed. Your choice was to freeze at night or roast with the AC off. They need to adjust the flow or explain to guests how to do this themselves. The housekeeping was spotty. I accidentally spilled a powder medicine that left a bit of residue on the floor and it was obvious the room wasnt getting vacuumed or swept. OK I admit I shouldnt have snacks latenight but I did one evening have a muffin that was a tad dry and left a bit of crumbs on the bedsheet. After making the bed, the crumbs were all in place next day, so she didnt bother to brush them aside which I found odd.
A few modifications wouldmake the room more modern without spoiling the historic flavor; there needs to be a light switch for the bathroom mounted on a wall..as is you must reach up under the over mirror light to flip a switch. Thank heavens I do not drink heavily or that task in the dark would be difficult. Also the showerhead and controls were very outdated and could be replaced with a modern unit for less than $50 these days. Ultimately, for under $500, the owners could get a suitable TV and make the bathroom upgrades and recoup the expense in a month.
The host needs to work on guest relations. On check in, guests should be escorted to their room and anything like AC controls etc should be explained, also if they desire extra linen.
As everywhere in KW, parking is nonexistantave the $1.50/hr street fees. We parked free at spaces behind the courthouse, at the Inn's direction, but it is a very long walk and leads thru dark, desolate sidestreets late at night. I suggest they offer valet service ONLY on check in and check out.
I am no prude, but didnt understand why this 'average' audience Inn allowed clothing optional bathing in the pool. Seemed odd to me for this type establishment. The pool area is small and if you use it you have little privacy.
In summary, we much preferred the more distant but friendlier Blue Parrot Inn, where we will return very soon.

Room Tip: Stay downstairs if you have trouble with steep staircases
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank classicLVchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Marrero's Guest Mansion, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
This review was written by the partner of "Nice location/Nice home". In as much as I never saw this person after he checked in (he dined in his room and never came to happy hour), it is hard to see how he formed any opinion on me whatsoever.

I appreciate the responses regarding the room, though I do not agree with all of them, particularily the housekeeping comments.

Our clothing optional policy is no secret and it displayed on our website and our printed advertisements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Another wonderful stay at Marrero's and our 4th trip to Key West. We will not stay anywhere else. It was wonderful to see some old friends (even if only for a night) and to make some new ones at the c/o pool! The warm welcome received at the pool when we got in late Sunday evening was great. The people and the atmosphere really make this place special.

This visit (our second) we stayed in Room 14 and then moved to Room 12; the closer to the pool, the better!

Thank you Steve, Jackie, and of course E... for the hospitality and accommodations. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Marrero's had some good points and some not so good.

Loved the house and the history. Room was nice and has a small balcony with private bath. Wireless worked good except at back of property. We stayed in room 22, upstairs.

Not so good. Our host was not the most pleasant person. Not mean, but not the type of host one expects at a B & B. Parking was Horrible to be honest. Street parking is pay, so if you want free parking you have to leave your car 2 blocks away on Thomas St. If your not driving anywhere that is OK, but if you drive it can be a pain.

Bed was hard as a rock. If you like a firm mattress, you will love these.
Had our room cleaned on 3rd day. All that was done was the trash taken out and towels replaced. Sheets not changed and floor not swept.

Being from Fort Lauderdale, clothing optional is not really a big deal. If your not use to this it can be shocking. The pool area is really small and you will have people cramped into this small area. I just never felt comfortable at the pool like I have at other B & B's.

Overall it was OK. Stayed at much nicer places for the same price in KW.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dferrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Marrero's Guest Mansion, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
I'm not sure what type of host this client was looking for. I interacted with him each time he was on the verenada to make sure everything was OK and to make sure he was enjoying himself. I guess you just can't please some people enough (though the client sure was pleasant each time we interacted).

Our mattresses are not designated as "firm". To be sure, each individual fits (or not) to a particular hardness/softness of mattress differently. This is the reason that there are so many different types of mattresses in stores. Ours are of the "medium" firmness so as to fit with the greatest majority of our clients' backs.

Our housekeeping records show that the room was attended to all four days that the client was here. Sheets are changed after the fourth day unless the customer requests additional sheet changes. Since the client was here four days, no sheet changes were scheduled and no request was received from the client requesting fresh linens.

There was a note on the housekeeping staff's daily report regarding the amount of food found in the room with a corresponding note that extra vacuuming had to be done on the third day of this client's visit due to sugar having been dropped all over the hardwood floor and the carpeted areas of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
3.2 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
0.7 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,117 reviews
0.3 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrero's Guest Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrero's Guest Mansion

Property: Marrero's Guest Mansion
Address: 410 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,497 - ₹ 23,317
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marrero's Guest Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrero's Guest Mansion is a historic mansion that has been converted into a Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast is served daily from 8:30-10:00 am and Happy Hour is served daily from 4:30-5:30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marrero's Guest Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrero`s Guest Mansion Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing