We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
645
125
42
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
125
42
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honor bar front porch happy hour other guests honor system duval street continental breakfast bagels shared bathroom pool area half block laid back room was clean and comfortable trip to key west old key west night life location is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our fourth time back to Marrero's. Last time was four or five years ago. We arrived at noon, cordially greeted by Steve and were told when the rooms were being cleaned. We change in the very clean first floor loo. Went out to lunch at a favorite haunt. The room was ready upon our returned. Skylee the housekeeper is the politest and happiest housekeeper I have ever met. We were happy to see that the mattresses had been replaced. The mansion is historic and the details have been preserved beautifully. They have done well updating while keeping the charm. We like the light breakfast, it saves our calories for the rest of the day's dining and libations. A variety of cereals, fresh fruit including blueberries, strawberries, 3 different melons, bananas, various yogurts and a new coffee cake daily, coffee, tea,milk. The room prices are reasonable compared to other guest houses we have researched. We reunited with guest from our past visits, and the breakfast and evening happy hour allow for a social gathering for those who wish it to exchange restaurant reviews. The pool, although not Olympic size, is larger than the soaking pools at many area guest houses. It is warmer than I like during the day but when enjoyed at night it is wonderful. Anyone complaining about old naked people must think they are ageless. As I get older I am impressed how well preserved many of us are compared to those years our junior. If I met them I probably would have found them snotty and boring, then ignored them. Marrero's is at mile marker zero and a great location to walk to almost everywhere, which helps burn the calories for the evening festivities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lin-rob-lem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent three nights at Marrero's. It is not fancy but was kept very clean and had a great location one block from Duval.

They had a great brakfast with fruit, cerals, muffins and fresh pastries. They also had a nice Happy hour from 5-6 where everybody got together on the front porch and talked about thei adventures.

Pool area is secluded, evry nice and clothing optional.

Staff and the Manager Steve were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 864Harriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Fourth time at Marerros. What a great week. Met some great people. Wished we had gone down to the party at the pool (March 5th report), but certainly will if we see those folks again. They did provide us with some good dark rum. Pay no attention to the less than great reviews. This is a wonderful place, and will be looking foward to trip number five. Steve and Skylee were great as hosts. The bed was comfortable, and pillows were great. Breakfast on the porch is such a great experience. The room was clean. Happy hours were wonderful. This place provides the great Key West experience, and one should definately try it out. We met people of college age to 90. People of all ages and backgrounds. Truely a must in Key West.

Room Tip: I think #20 is nice, but so is #23. Have stayed in #18 which is supposedly haunted, but we never encountered anything scary.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JAJSt_Clair_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I've been to KW many, many times, but never had as much fun. I think it is important to do some research to make sure this is the place for you. If you want to experience the full KW experience, stay here, which means, the building has history and therefore, old, pool is a bit smaller, roosters crow at all hours, Duval Street noise is unavoidable, guests will be rowdy and possibly drunk, and this is an adult BB, which means, clothing is optional and a lot of alcohol. If you are ok with this, you'l have the time of your life.

You are greeting at the door by either Steve or Skylee, both sweet hearts, and then taken through a tour of the house, which is beautiful. the A/C in our room was super cold and I did have a gorgeous veranda that faced the front of the building. The house and everything in it is pretty old, but everything was very clean and comfortable. They go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and happy. I thought the breakfast was perfect if you are the type of person that is good with coffee and juice and a little bite. The people that stay here are usually friendly and happy go lucky fun types. We were a large group and were fortunate these were the types of people that stayed here because we were loud and stayed up late around the pool and had our own party back there. Steve was very cool about that although we tried to be considerate ofcourse, but the other guests told us the next day they wished they would'ved been invited! We invited them the following night down!

I will long remember this short trip to KW and look forward to going back there! I already miss Steve and Skylee!!

Room Tip: Room 17 is awesome and very large. Don't stay in 12 or 14 unless you don't mind the noise from people by the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mayte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We booked this place based on reviews on tripadvisor and were disappointed. Cannot figure out why it receives such good comments.

The Good - Nice old building with a lot of history and character. There is a ghost legend, which of course is silly, but does add a little intrigue. The local Ghost Tours all stop by and do a little talk in front of the building. The front porch is nice for sitting, as long as some of the more obnoxious guests (and there are a lot of them), aren't around. The location is very good, can pretty much walk everywhere, beach is a little hike, but rent bikes if you are beach people. Happy hour 5-6 is OK, could provide better quality liquor for the price paid for rooms. Room service did a nice job.

The Bad - The "expanded" continental breakfast was bagels, grocery market danishes, fruit, cereal. The same thing every day. I think other BB's provide much nicer breakfast. A/C in room didn't work well and was making a lot of noise. I complained on Saturday and Steve looked at it, said it was working and told me he could have someone look at it on Monday. Apparently didn't want to pay weekend service charge? They came on Monday, took it apart and fixed it. Wrked perfectly for our last night. Mattresses and pillows are not good. Was told they were 6 months old, abnd the same ones the hotels buy, must not be great hotels. The matresses are on cob jobbed frames that squeek terribly everytime you move. Pillows were too bulky and hard.

The Ugly - We were aware of the clothing optional pool, but were not aware that it would be occupied entirely by senior citizens. It seems like most the guests are elderly, and all the ones that take advantage of the nudity were. It was literally like seeing your parents walking around nude. The pool is area is very small too, and the actually pool is heated and kept too warm. So, sort of like taking a bath, with your parents. We used it once, and never went back out. Our room had a "verandah", which was a porch overlooking an area that is not kept up at all.

Steve was ok, not the great host you will read about in other reviews. Actually seemed moody to us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kaylexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews