We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming tranquillity.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Papa's Hideaway
Ranked #42 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming tranquillity.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I've stayed in a couple of other places in Key West but this is unlike any other. We rented "The Cottage" which has two large en suite bedrooms along with sitting room, kitchen, dining room, and best of all the porch which contains rocking chairs, whicker chairs, table and chairs and a swing seat all of which is lit up by fairy lights at night. The pool is literally feet from the porch and a good breakfast is served out there. The owners and the other staff were so friendly and very keen to help with recommendations of places to visit and to eat, and they also had bikes on the premises which could be rented for as long as you liked.

There are only a few rooms here so one never feels crowded. And it's only a few minutes walk from the heart of Duval Street or from Southernmost point and its beach.

You do have to like Geckos though, which I do. There are a lot of them!!!

Room Tip: The Cottage is wonderful and totally self-contained, it even has its own gate off the street. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kittybishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    33
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Papas hideway is perfect. It is a short walk to all the action, but a quiet retreat to return to. We spent seven relaxing nights there and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kgminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Papa's Hideaway is a smaller bed and breakfast offering a variety of accommodations depending on the size of your party. The owners are friendly and accommdating for thier guests. The rooms are very large in comparison to most KW rooms. There is a nice pool and the breakfast every morning is great! The location is ideal... far enough away from the action so as not to be disturbing, yet walking distance to everything too. One of the nice perks for Papa's is the parking... if you plan on having a vehicle during your stay, there is plenty of parking on the street- a commodity in KW.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieFare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a great little place to stay when visiting KW. My wife and i arrived following a 7 night cruise and to have a few days of tranquility was bliss.
Key West can be a crazy place and Pappas is only 5/10 minutes walk from all the action but once you close the premises gate behind you its like entering a secret garden (with its own swimming pool). The owners are nice people and Fred sat down with me at the table and unfurled a map of the area before revealing some hidden gems regarding places to visit and also the best eating and wateringholes.I apreciated that help.
Our room was a elevated Kabana type and actually reminded me of a tree den ( A very posh tree den ).It had all the facilities required but was perhaps lacking in storage space for clothes.
The breakfast provided was adequate and the supplies of English teabags where constantly topped up, which was great.
When we next return to KW we will again plump to stay at Pappas Hideaway, its got a nice feel about it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReedRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed here for the past 4years (this time and last year, also, my brother stayed here too). Fred and Andrea have become very good friends to us....they are lovely and very accomodating.
The rooms are very good sized, clean, efficient and comfortable. The gardens/pool area are beautiful and well maintained.
Compimentary breakfast, beach chairs, sunscreen, etc. are always available. My favoirite is seeing the 'cat that came with the inn"-Pookie...there are treats to feed her with (if you can find her!). Thanks again to Fred and Andrea for yet another wonderful, relaxing stay in Key West!

Room Tip: We've always stayed in the room on the lower right side--covered patio. I know the room on a who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 km away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.2 km away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#32 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 km away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#47 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.2 km away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#6 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Property: Papa's Hideaway
Address: 309 Louisa St, Key West, FL 33040-7513
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,303 - ₹ 28,443
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing