We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fun!”
Review of Papa's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Papa's Hideaway
Ranked #44 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Andrea & Fred, Thank you so much for a great weekend! My girlfriends & I really enjoyed our stay at Papa's. All the little extras that you provide were enjoyed by all (beach chairs, sunscreen by the pool, noodles)! Your breakfast was fabulous and we really appreciated the time Fred spent with us telling us some of his fave restaurants, etc. Can't wait to come back! We miss Key West already!!! Best, Donna, Bianca & Michelle

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaFinTXGranbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

The innkeeper, Fred, showed us all the local hotspots and things to do, making our stay relaxing, enjoyable, efficient, and the best we could've had.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlindsey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I would give it a zero if I could. While the property is beautiful, the rooms are outdated and have BUGS!!! The shower had mold and the water smelled horrible. I found the owner Andrea to be rude and extremely unfriendly. . I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeeBringax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapasHideaway, Owner at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

This spiteful and untrue commentary was left on Trip Advisor by a group of young women that we had to throw off our property five days ago. Their loud, rude and often drunken behavior was deplorable and a constant source of complaint by other guests, even at two and three in the morning. Sneaking 4 extra guests into a double room on their first night certainly alerted us to the character of the women. The writer and her friends were very happy with, and complimentary of their room until, after a number of warnings, they were told to leave. The unused portion of their reservation money was returned to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

First, let me say that I have been to key west 9 times... each time we stayed in Old Town, which is where this B&B is. This is by far our favorite. It is private, quiet, and has a lush and rustic feel. Breakfast was perfect and the pool is refreshing. The owner, Fred, struck the perfect balance between being cordial and helpful but also allowed us time to ourselves. I have stayed at MUCH more expensive B&B's and for the price, this is a hidden treasure. We will be coming back!!!!

Room Tip: Room #1 is beautiful, with exposed beams and Old Town charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heather d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I enjoy all there is to do in Key West but I LOVE having a "private" oasis to return to most of all. Papa's Hideaway delivered and exceeded my expectations.

The Room: I was in the ground floor studio #4 which comes with a private patio, kitchenette, king bed, and futon. It was far more than I needed but very comfortable, quiet and peaceful. Good shower, ice cube trays filled, dishes, water in the fridge, bug spray, sunblock and towels provided in case you needed them. Very clean and tidy.

The Hideaway: Felt totally at home, lovely owners and staff with terrific keys-wide recommendations delivered in a low-key and friendly manner. Breakfast was impeccably fresh with good coffee and a delightful setting. This would make a great, family (or girlfriend) getaway.

Location: Easy (1 block) walk to Duval, South Beach, Southernmost Point. Parking was easy (on street but free) too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nikklou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 km away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#35 of 77 in Key West
456 reviews
0.2 km away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#8 of 77 in Key West
511 reviews
0.5 km away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#16 of 77 in Key West
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#40 of 77 in Key West
351 reviews
0.2 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,084 reviews
0.3 km away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Address: 309 Louisa St, Key West, FL 33040-7513
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 17,979 - ₹ 25,601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing