We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Property - Recommended for Gay Tourists”
Review of Island House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We chose the Island House because it was specifically a gay resort. Overall, the property, rooms and service are very good. The following are some observations:

• The grounds and rooms are clean and very well-maintained.
• The staff is well-trained and helpful.
• The “happy hour” with complimentary drinks is an excellent plus.
• Having coffee freely available around the clock – and especially in the morning - is a very nice amenity.
• The casual atmosphere here is very relaxing.
• The hotel is walking distance from Duval Street.
• Only complaint was the plastic covering over the mattresses: this made for a very uncomfortable night’s sleep.
• The crowd tends to be a bit older and very European – at least during the week we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Micknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 302 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Never having been to Key West, my partner and I had heard various reviews from friends, checked out a handful of gay places, and settled on Island House as the place we'd like to make the scene of our first deep winter getaway. We were greeted warmly by Gordon at the front desk, who took us on a tour of the immaculate property, explaining the way various facets of the resort worked. We were pleased with the genuine friendliness of the staff, and of the guests as well. The crowd was quite varied the week we were there, consisting of young, middle aged, and elderly, couples and singles, guests on day passes and resident guests. We found that, with the exception of a couple of walks downtown for sightseeing and shopping, and a couple of evenings our to dine at restaurants helpfully recommended by the front desk (who graciously made reservations for us as well), all we really wanted and needed was quite well supplied by Island House. The pool is fun (one might lament the absence of a high dive, though we didn't), the cafe food quite good and attractively served by an incredibly thoughtful and pleasant staff. We would definitely go back, possibly to cash in on their incredible 3-nights-free-out-of-season-for-4-nights-in-season deal.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor in the passageway between office and pool, which turned out to be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacket06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

For this being my first time in Key West and gay, what an experience of a lifetime. I am a young 22 year old college student who traveled with a friend. I cannot express enough happiness to how great the staff was too me. There were a significant number of older men and it was fine. I met a lot of amazing people and hope some remember me. Your own experience at the Island House is what you make of it. If there is something you don't want, you just have to tell them no. I hope to return soon and have another great experience. Thank You Island House staff and the rest of the people of Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

After spending a day here, I checked out early. The guests were very rude and total snobs. I have never experienced an attitude that the guests here have. If you come, either bring a book, or a couple of your own friends with so that you can your own little circle and snub everyone else. I will never return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank ROBERT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

stayed there with my partner and had a wonderful time. we never really needed to leave the compound. fine accomidation, full service bar and resturant, gym, pool 2 hot tubs and playroom. dont really need a car either as many things are in walking distance. we were there in the summer off season and were suprised at how busy it was. i would imagine in the winter months this joint is jumping

Room Tip: this is not a cheep place as mens resorts can get top rates, but it was worth it. there are rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank broy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.5 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
0.2 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,769 reviews
2.2 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.2 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.0 km away
Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House

Address: 1129 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6997
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 5,539 - ₹ 25,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine.... a place where everyone is gay.... where it’s easy to make friends.... where you can really be yourself.... where you can enjoy yourself 24 hours a day..... in a secure locked compound, safe from the outside world...... where a friendly and capable all-male staff are on hand to make sure you enjoy your vacation...... in a tropical paradise. Well that place is waiting for you. It’s called Island House in Key West. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island House Hotel Key West
Island House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing