We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We arrived at Alexander's after a long drive down through the keys in a soft top car (amazing) to an awaiting smile and friendly staff. We were then taken to our room by the spa which was breathe taking. The bed was huge, the deco spot on. We retired to our room for a bit (the heat was crazy that day) and then went poolside with al the other guests. The guests were great and we made some new friends whilst we were there. Overall there is not anything bad i could say about the place it was relaxing, fun and friendly.10/10.

Room Tip: Either rooms 14, 15, the Apartment (from memory) has 3 bedrooms, so you can share the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 697 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

We drove down to Key West through the Keys from Miami where we were staying, we found Alexanders on wotif.com on the net from Australia. We were a bit concerned with some of the other accommmodation descriptions of 'clothing optional' etc, so we were very happy with what we found at Key West.
Alexanders is a more laid back couples type environment, at least when we were there, and the room was really good. We booked the suite on the ground floor which looks out over pool and spa, decor really nice good space and very comfortable.
Even better later in the evening was free happy hour where we had a few wines with all the guests and met some new friends, including the managers who were very friendly, and even made dinner reservations for us at their favorite restaurant which was very kind.
We could only stay one night but walked around Key West which was good, had some Key Lime Pie which was even better and the drive down was great with the long bridges and views.

Thanks guys at Alexanders for your hospitality
mal

Room Tip: the ground floor king suite and the one above are very spacious and well set up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcolm f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My partner and I decided to return to Key West for a vacation after not having visited in over 7 years. The first part of our vacation would include a friend and the later part we would just the two of us. We first stayed at Sunset Key Cottages which was excellent, expensive but excellent. After our friend left Key West we moved to Alexander's Guest House. During our two previous visits to KW we had a great time staying at a gay Bed and Breakfast and wanted to have that experience once again. During recent years, the number of Bed and Breakfast establishments catering specifically towards gay and lesbian guests has significantly dwindled so finding the right one was important to us. We consulted with TripAdvisor prior to booking our vacation and all I can say is that we completely hit the target by staying at Alexander's Guesthouse.

Although many hotels and guest houses advertise as having outstanding, friendly customer service, I have never been to a place where it is so readily apparent that the staff not only enjoy their job but truly enjoy the company of their coworkers and truly enjoy the process of providing great customer satisfaction. Aimee, Jeff, Charlie, Laura and Anges are incredible. They made us feel welcome the moment we walked in and it never stopped. Quick with a recommendation for tours, restaurants and sightseeing from a locals prospective. The daily happy hour was an outstanding way to create a fun and friendly social gathering for the guests and allowed for guests to become friends. Many of us dined together on multiple occasions and took tours together, this simply isn't something that would happen at a "straight" guest house. During our week long stay there were several straight couples both from Europe and the US, all made to feel included and just as welcomed at the guest house as we were. The rooms were fairly priced, spacious and modern. We will certainly be repeat customers!!

Room Tip: Interior facing rooms seem to be the most quite. Room 10 is very unique with an outdoor shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My partner and I have been going to Alexander's Guesthouse for nearly 5 years, and each visit is better the last. The rooms - each one unique - are elegantly decorated and offer all the amenities you'll need during your stay. Our favorite rooms (11, 12, and 13) are located on the ground level just steps from beautiful pool and jacuzzi. The friendly and professional staff is incredibly helpful and accommodating. Don't miss the daily happy hour by the pool, and light yet substantial breakfast each morning. The muffins are to die for! And the location is perfect. While quiet and tucked away, it's in walking distance of the many restaurants, bars, and the beach. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobo75007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

From the beautiful and comfortable rooms to the WONDERFUL staff, Alexander's is a first class guesthouse all the way. The location is perfect, being far enough away from Duval St so that's it's quiet but close enough to walk just about anywhere. Free drinks by the pool every afternoon was a great way of relaxing and getting to know the other guests. We traveled to celebrate a 40th birthday and the staff was so helpful and generous with perfect recommendations for restaurants and other activities. We were blown away by the fantastic breakfast spread each morning (Charlie is an awesome chef!). Free wi-fi throughout the property and beach towels were nice amenities. When you factor in the breakfast, happy hour, and other amenities, to the room rate, Alexander's if definitely a bargain! The staff - Charlie, Jeff, Agnes, Laura - made our stay memorable and we will definitely be back one day. Wish we were there now!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 in the main house - king bed, spacious, wet bar, and private veranda with easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,827 reviews
5.7 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
258 reviews
1.5 km away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
223 reviews
0.6 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.7 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St, 1118 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 15,000 - ₹ 34,295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing