We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quaint and relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Palms Court
Ranked #34 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very quaint and relaxing!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This place is truly one of those hidden gems in Key West. The heated pool is great and the lush tropical garden setting makes it a very relaxing spot. It's far enough away from Duval to be quiet but close enough to bike it, or walk to the hot spots. It's also only a few blocks from our now favourite restaurant Louie's Backyard. Although the rooms are a bit basic, they are clean and everything you need for a night in Key West...and really, how much time are you in your room anyways.

The free concierge service was great, with the manager giving us several suggestions on food, drinks etc, and even made us reservations at the restaurant. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    105
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
75
222
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Finding anything on Key West for under $250/night at peak tourist season is a gem. We were ecstatic for the price, but our room was caught between "having character" and being a bit decrepit (e.g. the bathroom in need of several repairs to make it "meet the bar"). We found the location to be a bit south, away from most of the hub-bub, but frankly that was just fine, especially if you plan to rent a bike for a day (which you should - it's a great affordable, way to get around).

The good:
(1) Atmosphere: ~10 units all centered in a U shape around a nice pool. Plenty of chairs/loungers/tables, nice landscaping, painted bright happy colors – communal without feeling forced.
(2) Pool: the pool was just great - *very* well kept, a good size, and heated just enough so that it was refreshing without ever being chilly, even when the sun went behind a cloud. They had many new pools accoutrements as well like pool noodles, pool basketball, floaties, etc. – nice touch. Clearly they spent a good amount of money to make this a solid centerpiece.
(3) Sandy the hotel manager was helpful, friendly, cheerful.
(4) Space: small kitchen (well stocked with plates, etc.), dinette (table and 4 chairs), living room, bedroom, bathroom, + private back table area. All really nice even if they all were small. Particularly nice to have a kitchenette for that price! Probably room for a 4 person family.
(5) Basic breakfast: It was nothing to write home about, but I liked this - it allowed us to eat out at the great breakfast places some days without feeling bad to miss an overpriced breakfast we had already paid for (like at other B&Bs).
(6) Linens (for the bed and futon) and towels (for the bathroom and pool) were clean, plentiful, and new.

The bad:
(1) Bathroom: the grout in the shower was falling apart and "things" came out of it that we had to rinse away every time we got a shower. It looked like sand, or perhaps little gnats that had died - unsure, we never got close enough to them to see - we just filled up a cup and rinsed it away. The "cold" water was missing its marker, making the whole package just feel like it had been neglected. Tile is cracked in some places, worn in others. The shelf above the bathroom sink was shimmed with a folded up receipt. Some updating and maintenance would fix these issues.
(2) The lock to get in/out of the main gate during "off-hours" (6pm – 9am) was very difficult to open. You needed a key to get out or in, and it seemed like a potential emergency hazard to us to have it been so difficult (it typically took us 30-45 seconds to get the lock to work each time).
(3) Air conditioner next to bed: It was warm enough that we enjoyed the air conditioning at night, but our room (#8) had a window unit right next to the bed which I found blew on me too much to sleep comfortably. It was minor and I ended up sleeping on the futon some nights which was super comfortable.

All in all, the value was good enough that we'd probably stay there again in the hopes that they address some of the smaller maintenance issues we had with the bathroom.

Room Tip: #8 was on the shady west side, the east side (#1-#3?) might have been sunnier, but it really doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grebebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Place was nice, quiet location but close enough to everything. Sandy was very helpful, pool was wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a very small room in the back, the bed was comfortable and it worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinAndBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Had a three day stay in Key West great location just off Duval Street and near the most Southern point. Lovely breakfast and pool area. Thank you for your great customer service Sandy will be back on our next visit to the Keys.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A business associate and I stayed here in mid-January. Everything was absolutely fantastic! The room was nice, the pool just wonderful, and the staff was amazing. Alexander Palms is a wonderful value for the money and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Suite Dreams Inn
Suite Dreams Inn
#27 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 km away
El Patio Motel
El Patio Motel
#63 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#40 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.5 km away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#49 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Palms Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Palms Court

Property: Alexander Palms Court
Address: 715 South St, Key West, FL 33040-4720
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,894 - ₹ 20,103
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Palms Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Palms Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Palms Court Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing