We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, close to everything for walking and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, close to everything for walking and very clean”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Avalon and the staff is wonderful. The small queen room is quiet and very clean and air conditioned. A good value. The great breakfast on the big front porch is terrific.
You can walk to everything or short car ride. The offer free parking a short distance from the bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: The small queen rooms are in the back off of the street and very quiet but, they are small. A good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    241
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
175
676
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we stayed at the Avalon for a quick 2 night trip. The place is very cute - (meaning nice however, small). We checked in after hours, and that still went quite smoothly, once we figured out the parking situation. That was the only downside, there is NO PARKING on site. You must park out front to drop your bags, and then park about a block away and walk back. That did not bother us, just wish I would have known. Maybe I just missed that on the website? the room was nice, very comfortable bed. VERY SMALL RESTROOM. - and I mean SMALL. since we were only here for a short stay, it did not bother us too much. The location was PERFECT! you actually park right down from the southern most point - which I guess is a plus on the parking?;-), I am very picky about the hotels I stay in, and I would stay here again - if it were a short trip. everything about this place is quite small - but very nice. We felt comfortable and welcome. The breakfast could also start a little earlier, however we are early birds. Also, it is a continental breakfast, rather than the whole eggs and bacon traditional American breakfast.

Room Tip: you may look for a larger room than the standard if staying awhille
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyGL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

On quiet end of Duval St, 2 blocks from the beach, 20 min walk to the north end warfs. The Inn keepers and help are wonderful. Porch faces west over Duval St. Pay no attention to the "nay sayers". After looking over other places to stay in KW once we were here, this place is perfect for the value. It's warm and welcoming, still with in walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Being on Duval in Key West is important. Everything is on that street. The Avalon is on the quiet end, so it good for relaxation and rest, and then you can walk to all the action.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Avalon B&B is right in the heart of Key West, yet a quiet oasis as well. My room was best for a 'single' which I am, and was a welcome retreat any time of the day. The staff is friendly and helpful, and very professional. My room did not have a closet, which for some might prove problematic, but did have a hook with hangers. I was there at the height of the season, and found the price reasonable for that time of year. The room was clean and bright, and well looked after each day. My only negative about the room was the modest water pressure in the shower. OK, but not great. A water saver head might help.

Continental breakfast on the porch affords the opportunity to people watch, and/or chat with your fellow 'innmates'. Nice variety, with plenty of coffee and fresh fruit.

This is not a place for the 'party hearty', and that was fine with me. The pool is a 'dipping' pool, and not for swimming, but there are many chairs for reading and sunning. All in all, it is a place I will return to without hesitation.

Room Tip: I only saw my room. But, my room had 17 steps leading to it. For me, that was no problem, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuff21044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.7 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1317 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,034 - ₹ 23,680
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel.With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi, the rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining its colonial charm & ambience.The plentiful continental breakfast buffet served café style on the front porch each morning is the perfect start to your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to the many attractions Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon b&b
Avalon Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing