We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff, Nice Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Laguna Niguel, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rude Staff, Nice Location”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The location was the only thing going for this place. The staff are extremely unfriendly and unprofessional. You know that feeling when you feel as though you are bugging them when asking a question? Rude, rude, rude. My wife and I dreaded having to speak to the front desk staff - there was a woman there that was simply unhappy - and wanted to make sure you knew it. Inside advice: Stay far away - there are too many others to choose from.

Room Tip: Pick any hotel but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Salavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    57
    24
    8
    21
See reviews for
46
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here in February and discovered the whole place had received a face lift since the previous year. Each unit now has an oven in addition to the stovetop, dishwasher and regular size refrigerator. Part of waht is so great about staying here is the backdoor access to Louie's Backyard, one of the most popular bars/restaurant on the island. Before the renovation the place had started to look a little tired but now it is like new. We'll definitely go back next year!

Room Tip: The rooms that don't face the ocean are much more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank professah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed over New Year's Eve weekend (3 nights). Clean, updated, beautiful property.
ROOM - The room was spacious compared to a hotel room for the same price. We had the efficiency, but next time we stay (there will definitely be a next time!), we'll upgrade to a one bedroom so we have a table and chairs.
LOCATION - Loved the location (around the corner from the Waldorff) on the Atlantic side. Its "beach" was nothing to write home about, but it's a short walk to either Higgs Beach or Smathers Beach. It's three blocks from the Southernmost Point marker at the east end of Duval Street. We walked most places since the weather was perfect, but took the car a couple of the evenings with no problems getting around.
PROPERTY - The pool/lounge area is spacious and well done. The "veranda" around each building looks out over the ocean and has rocking chairs to sit and gaze. It's on the "quiet" side of the island, so we could enjoy the festivities, but then return to our room at the end of the night and actually get some sleep. ONE CAVEAT: The efficiencies are attached by an inside door to an adjacent suite. I'm assuming by the layout it's a way to add a bedroom to another suite. The door is not soundproof, but we put a big towel across the bottom (no threshold) and had no problems with the family staying next door (fortunately, the kids were in bed early each night). Again, we'll do a one bedroom next time.
PARKING - We rented a car (will probably rent a golf cart next time), and LOVED that we could park in the parking space under each building in the complex. Way easy.
STAFF - For a busy holiday weekend, they were especially relaxed, welcoming, and helpful. We got married on New Year's Eve and were sent flowers, etc from friends. Things were delived right to our room with a smile. We needed more towels, whatever, no problems. From reservations to checkout, our dealings with the staff were pleasant and cordial - excellent.

Room Tip: Had a corner room which was quieter. Next time, we'll rent a room overlooking the ocean for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MTR-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Well ... after reading through the reviews about this resort on Trip Advisor, I was truly worried about our choice of staying here at one of its studios. After we arrived, inspected the facilities, and stayed for a week, I was determined to write a review of my own.

Our studio faced the street. It was spotlessly clean. The bed was large and comfortable and had three pillows - more than adequate for our needs. There was little street noise but, when our neighbours arrived mid week, we could hear them pretty clearly next door. The walls are thin!

The bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water. Be patient as we found it took a minute of running the tap to get the hot water to run.

The kitchenette needs more counter space. It was tricky taking hot dishes or cups of boiling water out of the microwave with no place to set them down. We cleared the shelf above the microwave to accomodate for this problem. It worked for us. But, there was also no table to eat at so we ate on the bed with napkins on our laps, which worked for us.

I agree with a former reviewer that having to carry your dishes to the bathroom to wash them in the bathroom sink was annoying and just plain wrong. We had to choose between using the counter space for our toiletries or for your dishes. Yuck!

The TV was a good sized flatscreen model. We had plenty of space for our needs to hang or store our clothing (but, we travel light - one carry-on bag only per person).

The pool area was lovely with a tiny beach but - hey - you don't go to Key West for the beaches. There are much better places to visit if your vacation plans are focused on beach activities. We sat in the pool area during the warm evenings and watched over the aqua blue waters of the gulf. As night fell, the sky turned pink and orange. Sailboats and brightly lit cruise ships sailed by in the distance, silhouetted against the darkening sky. Glorious! Who cares about beaches.

All in all we enjoyed our stay. We plan to return but will definitely consider upgrading to a one or two bedroom unit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cshiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We had a comfortable stay here. The suite we got had a nice kitchen, living space , bedroom and bathroom. We had a direct view of the ocean. The hot tub and the swimming pool were good. Though the wifi is free here , we were hardly able to connect to it for long and the speed was very slow.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanika_Sharma_Gera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.3 km away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
677 reviews
0.4 km away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
152 reviews
0.1 km away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Resort

Property: Coconut Beach Resort
Address: 1500 Alberta St, Key West, FL 33040-4793
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#12 Spa Hotel in Key West
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil, Oceanfront All-Suite Resort housed in white Key-West-style building with encircling verandas on each floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing