We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay at Coconut Beach Resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Beach Resort
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at Coconut Beach Resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Well ... after reading through the reviews about this resort on Trip Advisor, I was truly worried about our choice of staying here at one of its studios. After we arrived, inspected the facilities, and stayed for a week, I was determined to write a review of my own.

Our studio faced the street. It was spotlessly clean. The bed was large and comfortable and had three pillows - more than adequate for our needs. There was little street noise but, when our neighbours arrived mid week, we could hear them pretty clearly next door. The walls are thin!

The bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water. Be patient as we found it took a minute of running the tap to get the hot water to run.

The kitchenette needs more counter space. It was tricky taking hot dishes or cups of boiling water out of the microwave with no place to set them down. We cleared the shelf above the microwave to accomodate for this problem. It worked for us. But, there was also no table to eat at so we ate on the bed with napkins on our laps, which worked for us.

I agree with a former reviewer that having to carry your dishes to the bathroom to wash them in the bathroom sink was annoying and just plain wrong. We had to choose between using the counter space for our toiletries or for your dishes. Yuck!

The TV was a good sized flatscreen model. We had plenty of space for our needs to hang or store our clothing (but, we travel light - one carry-on bag only per person).

The pool area was lovely with a tiny beach but - hey - you don't go to Key West for the beaches. There are much better places to visit if your vacation plans are focused on beach activities. We sat in the pool area during the warm evenings and watched over the aqua blue waters of the gulf. As night fell, the sky turned pink and orange. Sailboats and brightly lit cruise ships sailed by in the distance, silhouetted against the darkening sky. Glorious! Who cares about beaches.

All in all we enjoyed our stay. We plan to return but will definitely consider upgrading to a one or two bedroom unit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cshiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    57
    24
    6
    20
See reviews for
46
94
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We had a comfortable stay here. The suite we got had a nice kitchen, living space , bedroom and bathroom. We had a direct view of the ocean. The hot tub and the swimming pool were good. Though the wifi is free here , we were hardly able to connect to it for long and the speed was very slow.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanika_Sharma_Gera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

stay away from this place if you don't have a confirmed ocean view room....maybe it is becasue we exchanged with interval international, but we were given a room on the street side and they refused to move or upgrade despite being far from full...what we got was a tiny space, one chair, no table (where do they expect you to eat what you heat up in the microwave?), trash trucks between 4 and 5 am on 3 of 6 mornings, constant deilvery trucks to the bar next door, had to literally kick the door to open, could hear the people next door breathing and no more thatn 2-3 hours of sleep a night...we would normally laugh off the size issues, but the overall situation was terrible...it is a nice property if you have an inside room, but if you don't, go spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank stew422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This place has just been renovated and everything is brand new (at least in the unit we rented) from big flat screen TV in every room to new furniture and kitchen appliances. It's not quite a "resort" in the sense that it doesn't have restaurant and service is minimum. It's like many other timeshare places. While it is on the waterfront with beach chairs facing the ocean, it does not have direct access to the beach but a concrete patio. If you like beach, you can take a short walk to the nearby Higgs Beach. The staff is courteous and helpful within limit. Free wireless internet access is available everywhere on the property. There are a couple of nice restaurants nearby, Louies Backyard and Southernmost Beach Cafe. The south end of Duval Street is about 5 min walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We love the place. We are located on the quite side of the island. Duval Street is three blocks from here. We are on the far side of Duval it is a mile and a half walk to Mallory Square . Feel very safe walking there day or night. Staff friendly and helpful. Right on the ocean with a small private beach. The grounds are beautiful and the units have just been redone. The place is very clean and well kept.
We plan to come back again we have really enjoyed our stay here. Pool is decent size plenty of room and ocean is just down the steps.Spend a day on Duval Street and come home to rest. Plenty of very good restaurants within walking distance. Never took our car out of the parking garage. Used the trolley system that tours the area and allows you to get on and off at any of their stops and one of them is 3 blocks from the resort. Best of both worlds......everything Duval Street offers, and the quiet, relaxing atmosphere of Coconut Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Building C and D and the upper floors seem to be the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank handsome200067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#40 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.4 km away
H2O Suites
H2O Suites
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.1 km away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Resort

Property: Coconut Beach Resort
Address: 1500 Alberta St, Key West, FL 33040-4793
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil, Oceanfront All-Suite Resort housed in white Key-West-style building with encircling verandas on each floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing