We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in the perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #6 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We stayed at the Mermaid & the Alligator over July 4th and recommend it highly! Rebecca went above and beyond in helping us plan our trip before we even arrived. We stayed in the Treetop room and it was like our personal hideaway. Rebecca, Geri, Victor and the rest of the staff were attentive and helpful in every way. Can't recommend this B&B highly enough!

Room Tip: All rooms are private and impeccably appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid A, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hello from Key West!

Sounds like you enjoyed your stay. We're really happy you did. Thank you for sharing your experience online. We appreciate it so much, and we hope you can make it back here someday soon.

All the best,

Geri
Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Mermaid & the Alligator so much...we were sad to leave. Geri, Victor, Rebecca & the staff were all very nice and went out of their way to suggest places to see, restaurants to try and just great to have conversations with.
Looking forward to staying here again on our next visit to Key West!

Room Tip: All rooms looked great...we had the lower level Garden Room which was delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Epitraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

When asked where to stay for an upcoming trip to Key West, I immediately suggested the Mermaid and The Alligator where I had stayed 9 years previously. Geri, Rebecca, Victor and the rest of the staff were welcoming and our rooms were very pleasant. A hot breakfast served every morning poolside as well as the lemonade and cookies and wine in the evenings made a most pleasant addition to our stay. Geri was a gem in helping us secure restaurant reservations, scooters to get around town, and in getting a cake ordered for my sister and her husband's anniversary meal. I would stay here again if coming to Key West and highly recommend that others do also.

Room Tip: If you like a quieter room that is spacious, try the Bamboo room in the little adjoining cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentandLoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid A, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Greetings from The Mermaid & The Alligator and staff,

I'm so glad everything worked out so well for you. It was such fun meeting all of you, and being "in" on the surprise for your sister and her husband's anniversary. That's one example of why I love my job! I hope you all can make it back again.

Wishing you many more outstanding trips together!

Geri
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Mermaid and the Alligator is a great place to stay while visiting Key West. I admit I stayed in 2012, but still want to go back to finish my visit of Keys and the Florida Keys in general. Small place consisting of only 5 or 6 rooms, but each one is unique and hospitality is a big plus

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mortgageman9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Beautiful inn with gorgeous garden. Very friendly and attentive staff. Our room was small but nicely furnished, with queen bed, private bath with shower. Close to Duval Street, Hemingway House, restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor overlooking the garden and the small pool. Could not have been a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid A, Manager at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience. We hope you come back again sometime!

Yours truly,

Geri L.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,830 reviews
0.5 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,218 reviews
0.7 km away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
1 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.4 km away
Atlantis House
Atlantis House
#1 of 77 in Key West
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 21,776 - ₹ 21,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing