We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest place we´ve ever seen...”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The greatest place we´ve ever seen...”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel ist the most beautiful hotel that we have seen in our life. Our 2 nights stay, which was not reservated, there in 2006 was like in paradise and we felt so well. The clerk was so nice to us and made a dream come true for us getting such a nice room for our stay and we talked a lot with her about living in Cologne, because she has a daughter living there, too. Since our stay there we are dreaming for travelling to Key West and to The Gardens Hotel again.Sure...we will come back with our little daughter when we get a good and not too expensive flight. Thanks again for one of the best moments in our life.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    129
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
75
1,217
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Holly NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Last year my wife and I got married in Key west Fl. We stayed at the Gardens Hotel. The manager Jim was great. When I booked the room I asked him all the details about getting married in KW. He suggested that we get married in the gulf on a boat . He helpedme arrange the whole thing, in fact he was the Jp at our sermony. All the staff at the hotel were so nice to us. Billy did a great job at the bar as well as taking us out in the gulf to get married. We will return to this placein the near future. I highly recommend you stay here. Regards Mike and Maria Leonard. N.J.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleedgreen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and I went to the keys for a long weekend get away. We had never been and didn't know what to expect from the Gardens Hotel. We were so pleased. They have beautifully appointed rooms (we stayed in the main house). They staff was excellent and super friendly. We really felt at home. The trip was wonderful and the hotel gave us great recommendations for food and activities. Honestly though, we spent a lot of time in the lovely garden courtyard where there is a pool and bar. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Get on a plane or get in your car and go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlrJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I stayed during our US honeymoon in Juli 2012 for 5 nights at The Garden Hotel.
We didn’t make a reservation and just walked in asking for a room as we arrived in Key West. The welcome was very nice and helpful. Rick was a perfect host and we felt like we are really just arrived in paradise.
The check in was fast and professional, room rates were ok. Don’t forget this is Key West ...
Sure you may stay cheaper elsewhere but not with that kind of service, location and standard.
After check in we got some champagne as a welcome drink and after some small talk Rick shows us our room #10 in one of the garden houses.
As we walked around the hotel area it was breathtaking. The areal is really impressing and wonderful. Just like what we imagined from a stay in Key West. The large garden with birds, Koi fishes, turtles and hidden walkways is amazing. Even the hotel is located just 300 m from Duval Street in a side street; it’s really quite and perfect for a relaxing vacation.
Our room was in good conditions and clean. The bed was King-size and very comfortable. Room sizes are average and ok for that kind of guesthouse. The bathroom had much of towels and useful things like shampoo, sun cream, body lotion etc. Also the bath tub is equipped with a Jacuzzi function.
The room had a nice view overlooking the pool and garden area. You may sit in front of the room just enjoying the atmosphere.
The Service at the Gardens Hotel was very professional, helpful and nice all the time. Rick, Tibbi, Barbara, Jim, Cali the housecat  and the rest of the crew were always perfect hosts. Thank you all for making our honeymoon to something more special we expected.
The hotel offers two times per week piano evenings at the main house and definitely a must see or hear is the Jazz evening always on Sundays at the garden and pool area.
Well, I could write even more how special, beautiful and amazing this hotel is, but I think the huge amount of 5 star reviews speaks for itself.
We surely come back and next time for more than just 5 nights.
Thank you again.
All of you doing a great job in paradise and as we say in Germany …. Auf Wiedersehen ….
Natascha & Christian

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianBGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Vie Gehts? We are so pleased your special occasion was hear with us and you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you on your Annivesary if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Few places on earth leave a lasting memory, but this small charming hotel just off Duval Street is a special place. From the luscious tropical gardens to the charming upscale rooms to a staff that brings back the "true" meaning of customer service, the Gardens Hotel won our hearts and a 5 star rating. Key West is full of shabby hotels and bed/breakfasts...and we have stayed at many over the years from the Westin to the HIstoric Inns of Key West to countless others,
but this little hotel may just be our favorite place we have ever been. Why? Let us count the ways: Beautiful rooms, luscious Italian linens, marble baths, a pool set in a tropical paradise,
delicious breakfast made to order, superb customer service, great location, music from the grand piano, a wine room, and a cordial welcome each and every evening from the owner at the pool. This little hotel took us back to a gentler place in time when things moved slower and a vacation was relaxing...,,,,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelinReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
0.8 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 km away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,015 reviews
1.3 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Property: The Gardens Hotel
Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,987 - ₹ 33,269
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing