We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gardens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$ 207
US$ 201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 228
US$ 223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 324
US$ 269
The Marker
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 477
US$ 438
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 197
US$ 181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 393
US$ 353
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orchid Key Inn(Key West)
US$ 294
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,894)
Filter reviews
1,894 results
Traveller rating
1,702
143
30
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,702
143
30
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine bareyebrow cottagewine roomsunday jazzduval streetcourtyard roomthe main houseglass of champagnemaster suitepool barcarriage housean oasislush gardenshardwood floorsyogurteach morningthe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
1,046 - 1,051 of 1,894 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Last year my wife and I got married in Key west Fl. We stayed at the Gardens Hotel. The manager Jim was great. When I booked the room I asked him all the details about getting married in KW. He suggested that we get married in the gulf on a boat . He helpedme arrange the whole thing, in fact he was the Jp at our sermony. All the staff at the hotel were so nice to us. Billy did a great job at the bar as well as taking us out in the gulf to get married. We will return to this placein the near future. I highly recommend you stay here. Regards Mike and Maria Leonard. N.J.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bleedgreen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and I went to the keys for a long weekend get away. We had never been and didn't know what to expect from the Gardens Hotel. We were so pleased. They have beautifully appointed rooms (we stayed in the main house). They staff was excellent and super friendly. We really felt at home. The trip was wonderful and the hotel gave us great recommendations for food and activities. Honestly though, we spent a lot of time in the lovely garden courtyard where there is a pool and bar. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Get on a plane or get in your car and go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlrJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I stayed during our US honeymoon in Juli 2012 for 5 nights at The Garden Hotel.
We didn’t make a reservation and just walked in asking for a room as we arrived in Key West. The welcome was very nice and helpful. Rick was a perfect host and we felt like we are really just arrived in paradise.
The check in was fast and professional, room rates were ok. Don’t forget this is Key West ...
Sure you may stay cheaper elsewhere but not with that kind of service, location and standard.
After check in we got some champagne as a welcome drink and after some small talk Rick shows us our room #10 in one of the garden houses.
As we walked around the hotel area it was breathtaking. The areal is really impressing and wonderful. Just like what we imagined from a stay in Key West. The large garden with birds, Koi fishes, turtles and hidden walkways is amazing. Even the hotel is located just 300 m from Duval Street in a side street; it’s really quite and perfect for a relaxing vacation.
Our room was in good conditions and clean. The bed was King-size and very comfortable. Room sizes are average and ok for that kind of guesthouse. The bathroom had much of towels and useful things like shampoo, sun cream, body lotion etc. Also the bath tub is equipped with a Jacuzzi function.
The room had a nice view overlooking the pool and garden area. You may sit in front of the room just enjoying the atmosphere.
The Service at the Gardens Hotel was very professional, helpful and nice all the time. Rick, Tibbi, Barbara, Jim, Cali the housecat  and the rest of the crew were always perfect hosts. Thank you all for making our honeymoon to something more special we expected.
The hotel offers two times per week piano evenings at the main house and definitely a must see or hear is the Jazz evening always on Sundays at the garden and pool area.
Well, I could write even more how special, beautiful and amazing this hotel is, but I think the huge amount of 5 star reviews speaks for itself.
We surely come back and next time for more than just 5 nights.
Thank you again.
All of you doing a great job in paradise and as we say in Germany …. Auf Wiedersehen ….
Natascha & Christian

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristianBGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Vie Gehts? We are so pleased your special occasion was hear with us and you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you on your Annivesary if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Few places on earth leave a lasting memory, but this small charming hotel just off Duval Street is a special place. From the luscious tropical gardens to the charming upscale rooms to a staff that brings back the "true" meaning of customer service, the Gardens Hotel won our hearts and a 5 star rating. Key West is full of shabby hotels and bed/breakfasts...and we have stayed at many over the years from the Westin to the HIstoric Inns of Key West to countless others,
but this little hotel may just be our favorite place we have ever been. Why? Let us count the ways: Beautiful rooms, luscious Italian linens, marble baths, a pool set in a tropical paradise,
delicious breakfast made to order, superb customer service, great location, music from the grand piano, a wine room, and a cordial welcome each and every evening from the owner at the pool. This little hotel took us back to a gentler place in time when things moved slower and a vacation was relaxing...,,,,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelinReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I traveled from Miami to Key West for a quick getaway. We had no hotel reservations upon arrival, and hoped to find a nice, cozy place near duval. Following a nice lunch we decided to "shop around" for a place to stay. We were worried we wouldn't find anything up to par in our price range. Our worries were quickly squashed when we stumbled upon The Gardens! We walked right in and were greeted by the lovely Erica. After a quick check in we were given a glass of champagne and whisked away to our room. We had drinks at the outdoor bar with the famous billy as our delightful bartender. There were some great folks hangin out there, some of which we ended up doing dinner with (at blue heaven). We wnt on to have a wonderful night on the town! We really tied one on, so we were thankful to have such a short walk back! We slept in until about 9:30, and we're pleased to wake up to a delicious and fresh selection of breakfast foods and hot coffee. What a wonderful experience for us, especially only having one full day to play. After check out and a trip to the beach, our wonderful experience ended with a relaxing shower set up for guest who have already checked out. We thought this was a very nice touch! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyndso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews