We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Key West”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Pam N. We have never been to Key West. I picked this hotel because of the comments on Trip Advisor. There wasn't one bad review. The hotel was amazing. Rick and the others on the staff were fabulous. This hotel really knows customer service. They bend over backwards to make your stay a memorable one. Kudos to you all at the Gardens Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for the great kudo's! We are so glad you had a great time! We will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,002 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was our first time to Key West. I had done my on-line Trip Advisor research and chose the Gardens Hotel. You always wonder what yo are going to get "in-person" when you arrive versus what you see "on-line". Well, I can truly say, this place is awesome. The Gardens Hotel on Angela street a block off of Duval St. but far enough away from all the noise. It is also in the middle off of Duval Street which makes it convenient for whichever direction on Duval Street you want to go. The gardens are gorgeous, the place is clean, safe, and they also offer quite a few nice amenities-the daily breakfast, the pool side bar, the Jazz night, Wine Bar, Yoga by the Pool, and that is not even everything. We stayed in the Tree Top Room and while a small quaint room it was just perfect- we had our own roof top deck that made for a relaxing time just sitting back and enjoying a drink, or getting some sun. I would absolutely recommend this place and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I've got to be honest,we stayed at the Marquesa last year and we tried to re book but it was full on our dates.
We checked trip advisor and the Gardens came top so thankfully we managed to get a Tree top room which was very nice.
My only criticism of the room was the shower,a sort of sporadic spraying which tended to take longer to wash.
The breakfast was very good with a choice of most things you would get anywhere else including a cooked version.
The pool area was very nice albeit the pool was I think 89 degrees I was told which was really a tad too warm if you wanted to cool off after laying in 80 degrees for a while.The pool does stay open 24hrs though.Nice free towels to use as well.
The management are fantastic and lay on a couple of nice evenings ,ie piano/singer plus a jazz night.
They also have a great wine tasting room where you can put a card into a wine machine and have a choice of a taster/small glass or a larger one and some quality wines at reasonable prices.
All in all we would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izatequilafan!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Every year we come down to Key West we love staying at the Gardens Hotel. From the moment you arrive you feel like you are in your own oasis. Nancy at the front desk is always warm and welcoming during our check in.

We love staying in a garden view room overlooking the pool and gardens. The sound of the fountain from the porch outside our room is very relaxing. The king size bed is very comfortable with a nice size room and bathroom.

We enjoy stopping by to grab a glass of wine from the "wine bar" the Gardens Hotel put in over a year ago. It is great - you walk up with a glass, punch in your card, select the wine you want - and it just pours out! Genius!

While we do staying at different places throughout our travels, the Gardens Hotel continues to be a special place in our heart. The proximity to nearby attractions within walking distance is a great plus. It is just great escape from the craziness of Duval St.

We also love meeting Billy the bartender last year while staying at the Gardens. Billy brings a great fun vibe to the bar while enjoying a glass of wine. We also booked a private charter with Billy and spent the day on the water. He took us out to a private desert beach, some dolphin watching, fishing and snorkeling! He is definitely a great time and hope to go out with him again when we return next year. I highly recommend booking a day with Billy. You can contact the Gardens Hotel for more info.

We will be back again! Make it number 8!

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJSusan-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for the wonderful words! I will pass them along! Yes, Billy does make a personal trip with his charters. His first home is the water! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was our second visit to The Gardens Hotel in the past year. We loved it the first visit and it's only gotten better. The side streets of Old Town Key West with their quaint victorian charm makes you want to step into the houses or gardens and meet the people that live there. This hotel gives you the opportunity to actually experience what living their must be like. Sunday Jazz attracts a collection of locals that gives you a real sense of the types of individuals that pull up stakes and move to this community. Very electic and attractive in an offbeat way. They have significantly improved the breakfast experience to the point that we didn't feel any desire to go out to any of the excellent breakfast places in Old Town. The only complaint we had is that the 7:00 AM start appeared to be just a suggestion to the staff. We're early risers and the coffee in the rooms just doesn't cut it.
We walked around town the first couple of days before we rented bikes. Rent bikes immediatly. You can see so much more of Old Town and not get worn out.
As a gardner I also must comment on the gardens (its actually an arboretum). This was the blooming season for a number of their flowered trees and it was spectacular. The trees are mature and just a bit over grown and it gives the sense of being in a lush tropical jungle while your sipping your wine and being entertained by a local singer/pianist. It's a tough life but someone has to live it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
0.7 km away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
185 reviews
0.4 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
212 reviews
5.2 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.9 km away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 14,110 - ₹ 50,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing