We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Northeast, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A week in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I can't think of a better place to stay on Key West. Location: right at the end of famous Mallory Square. Close to shopping and all the action without renting a vehicle. Facility: Superior. Big comfortable beds, full kitchens, living rooms. Keep in mind that most of the rooms have stairs to get to the bedrooms. If you have trouble with stairs it will present a problem. The pool was very nice and the best part was the limited number of children. The ones that were there were very well behaved and added to the atmosphere.

The only drawback was really no big deal. The hotel is located at the pier where the cruise ships come in often; they block your view of the ocean. They do leave before sunset.

Making our reservation for next year very soon.

Room Tip: You can see the sunset from nearly every room balcony. Make sure you get a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greywolf8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    82
    22
    13
    13
See reviews for
73
145
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This small timeshare located next to Truman Annex and Mallory Square is a gem in Key West. Within walking distance to Duvall Street and the Historic Seaport a car is not necessary unless you need to get groceries at Publix for the week. Dangerous Charters is right outside the resort if you like kayaking and snorkeling. Jetskiing and fishing is also available just outside. The cruise ship port is right outside but they need to leave before the sunset festival gets going. Rooms are nice and comfortable but we do not spend much time inside. Great for a family vacation and those looking for a quiet spot yet close to everything.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

So this was maybe my 11th or 12th trip to Key West but my first stay at this resort. I have stayed at the other 2 Hyatt timeshares a couple of times, the Hyatt hotel a couple of times and several Bed and Breakfasts all over the Island. Side note: I am a Hyatt Windward Point timeshare owner.

If you love drinking, nightlife, shopping, live entertainment, ocean views (when the cruise ships aren't docked), and pretty much anything entertaining to do then this is a GREAT place for you. The location is so great because you are about 1 block away from Duval Street (party central) and 2 blocks away from the Wharf and Mallory Square (shopping, eating, celebrating). The location is the highlight of this resort.
I stayed in a one bedroom for a 3 night weekend the end of April. I rented a car and groceried up at the Publix before hitting up the resort (you should too). The parking was $30 for the 4 days and is right next door in a garage. As parking goes in Old Town that price is a steal! It's even cheaper per day if you stay for the week. You won't need a car, I love driving around Key West and up the keys. Its always enjoyable.
The woman at the front desk was very friendly. She gave me directions to my room which was harder to find then I expected. My room entrance was down a narrow corridor which I assumed was the staff laundry room but no, it was the door to my room. The layout was a little odd but it turned out great.
Room Highlights: Very clean room, comfortable bed, I loved how comfortable the couch was, air conditioning worked like a champ! The best feature for me was the sliding glass doors opened almost the width of the room. It was like I had a wall missing that overlooked the tropical pool area.
Room Negatives: The TV is in a bizarre location low to the ground and under the breakfast bar. Also the bathroom in the one bedroom was pretty small with nowhere to place your stuff. I was alone and didn't have any room for toiletries, I'm not sure what a second person would have done.

The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, bowls, pots, pans, pitchers, plates, blah, blah, blah. I had 5 friends over and made breakfast with plenty of room for everyone to eat. The balcony is KILLER! especially if you leave the sliding doors open. It's BIG and great for reading, eating or just watching people in the pool or on the warf walk by just outside of the resort.

The pool is clean and large for the area. There is a hot tub which I didn't use and the grounds are immaculate with beautiful foliage all around. The resort is off the main streets tucked away in the back so there isn't any partying noise. One of the highlights of the location is that when shopping, it's close enough to drop off your purchased goods and go back out for more. Also, if you want to pick something up to eat it's a shorth walk so you can eat in private.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hyatt_Riot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The view was great UNTIL the ships started coming in. They completely obliterated the view
of the Gulf of Mexico. Our two bedroom unit had both bedrooms and both bathrooms on the
second floor of our townhome which was very inconvenient for our elderly guests.

Room Tip: Some units do not have a bedroom or bathroom on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne33626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a great vacation property to trade into or rent. It is next to Mallory Square and within walking distance to Duval St. It backs Truman Estates so is quiet to rest at night. You can sit on your balcony and watch cruise ships come in. We love this property as well as Hyatt Beach House. Both are in Key West. Happy travels!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 km away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.5 km away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.4 km away
La Concha Hotel & Spa
La Concha Hotel & Spa
#41 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Galleon Resort And Marina
0.2 km away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#49 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 km away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Property: Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Address: 200 Sunset Way, Key West, FL 33040-8312
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,801 - ₹ 19,557
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort with Victorian styling; situated in the heart of Old Town, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing