We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place with atmosphere”
Review of Almond Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almond Tree Inn
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here the last of March 2012 and found it to be the most charming place in Key West. The suite was spacious and clean and the management was excellent. Private parking for our vehicle and easy access to Duval Street was exactly what we wanted. The pool and happy hour was extra nice. Our room was cleaned and freshen up every day as if we were on a cruise ship. I would highly recommend this place for families or couples.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have the help of a very unique elavator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dralfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,239 - 1,243 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Absolutely loved this place. We stayed in room 105, just steps from the pool. The room had a mini fridge, safe, iron and board and 2 chairs with a mini patio outside room. Just across the street you can rent 2,4 or 6 seat electric cars that go 27 miles an hour to go around the island, which surprisingly doesn't have much traffic as I thought. $85 for 3 hours or $1oo for 5 hours. Hotels in Key West are very expensive as I'm sure you have researched like me. This one is close to Duval and about 10 blocks from the Key West ferry. Happy hour daily 5-7 with 2 drinks free. At that point go and explore Duval Street. Nice wine bar on the left goint north on Duval that I would recommend for couples. Try to stay here 2 nights if possible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qwestcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights in mid-March 2012. Had a wonderful time in Key West and hope to visit again again soon---but we will not stay at this hotel again, nor would we recommend that others do either. Upon arriving in Fort Lauderdale, we received a voice mail stating our hotel room was ready for check in. We called the hotel to let them know we were only in Ft Lauderale and were therefore several hours away. When we arrived at approx 6:30pm, we waited in the lobby for a few minutes before being told by the woman working the desk that there was some confusion. Our room ended up being given away, which was troubling given (a) the fact that we called only four hours earlier to confirm that we were on our way, (b) our credit card was charged for the room several weeks prior, and (c) it was already 6:30pm and we'd been awake since 5:00am; all we wanted was to drop our bags off and go out and see the sunset. We were assured by the hotel staff that they'd figure it out. They sent us out back the the bar and poured us each a drink. All along, they assured us that they'd find a bed for us. They were mostly apologetic and kind, but not overly so. It was pretty disorganized and the staff didn't seem to have any idea which guests were staying in which room; the staff mostly avoided eye contact with us as they went in and out of various rooms trying to figure out which rooms were taken and who was staying where. They had no idea and resorted to peeking into windows to see which rooms were occupied.d After 45 minutes of this, we were walked down the street to their sister hotel and dropped off at the bar for another comped drink for each of us. The staff person we were dealing with made reservations at the Southernmost Beach Care for us for dinner, and off we went. The reservation was made for 8:30pm, and by this time all we'd been given were two free drinks (which really didn't count, as each guest is given two free drink tickets as a happy hour special) in exchange for our time spent waiting; we still did not have a room or have any idea where we'd be sleeping that night. We ate out (which was paid for in full by us, even though we were strongly pushed towards this restaurant with assurances that they would "take good care of [us]"). When we can back at nearly 10pm, we were shown to our room at the hotel, but were told we'd have to change rooms in the morning for our 2nd and final night there. We weren't given any explanation for the error, and I have no idea how they asked the previous tennants of this room to vacate (we knew this room was occupied several hours earlier; it was one of the rooms that the staff person told us was checked into earlier in the afternoon). The room was pretty nice; it was one of their suites. It was clean and pretty large. It had a kind sized bed and a couch. At least we finally had a place to sleep, which seemed uncertain for the few hours prior. The room was nice enough, and there was a bucket of champagne chilling in a bucket. We had a good nights sleep. The free breakfast was pretty good in the morning, no complaints there. The shower was pretty teensy tiny and felt somewhat claustrophobic.

We moved rooms to a delux in the morning. When my husband went to the front desk to get our new room keys, they requested that he pay the rest of the deposit (they'd originally only charged us one night's stay as a deposit). Originally, we were expected to pay the full price of $329 for both nights, which seemed absolutely absurd given their incredible, inexcusable error. We lost a night in Key West as we were shuffled back and forth between two different hotels and an overpriced beach cafe for dinner. My husband merely looked at the front desk clerk, and he quickly dropped the price in incements, eventually settling at $199. The clerk stated he couldn't lower the rate for the 1st night any more than that without management approval. To sum up, when we checked out the next morning, we were assured that they could not lower the price any more, and we paid $199 the 1st night and $329 for the 2nd night. This still seems absolutely absurd to me. This hotel completely failed in providing us a room for hours after we'd checked in---a room that we'd confirmed only hours earlier and paid for weeks before!! I'm sorry, but knocking $130 off one nights stay (when the rate is already high for the quality of the room) doesn't cover it. Of course mistakes happen, and my husband and I are understanding people (probably more so than many people would have been)...but Almond Tree in provided little compensation to my hubsand at the fault of their incompentent, unprofessional and clueness staff and management (not that we ever saw a manager, mind you, but I assume there was one; the staff people frequently called someone who they said was a manager, but he/she never even so much as picked up the phone as to apologize to us for the misunderstanding). For all of this, one star for the Almond Tree Inn. We will never, ever return, and will certainly tell anyone we know planning a trip to Key West to avoid this hotel and its sister hotels, too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank JL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Excellent service, Excellent room, Excellent location for couples. Private Parking - which is important in KW :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarsMorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We didnt want to be near all the spring breakers, so this place was perfect. Felt like you were on a tropical island. They had happy hour every night with two free drinks per person and snacks. In the morning they served you breakfast. Extremely polite people. They even gave me discount on the nights stay. Can't complain about anything there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoggNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,217 reviews
0.3 km away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
227 reviews
6.2 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,842 reviews
0.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 km away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Tree Inn

Address: 512 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-3141
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 18,394 - ₹ 36,852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Almond Tree Inn came to life in 2013 when we pulled together beautiful, green minded, and Made in the USA products from the top manufactures and designers in the industry. The guest rooms feature custom made furnishings, amazing showers, the latest in technology, stunning wood floors, luxurious linens, and beautiful artwork by local artist.With the ambiance of a secluded resort you would never imagine Duval Street is just 50 steps outside our gates... "Ranked #1 Hotels & Resorts in Key West by TripAdvisor with over 700 five star ratings" Winner "Certificate of Excellence 2011,12,13,14,15". Travelers Choice Award #10 Small Hotel in the USA 2015. Give us a call to book your stay and join us in Celebrating a New Almond Tree Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Almond Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Tree Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing