We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A perfect spot on the quiet end of Duval St!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A perfect spot on the quiet end of Duval St!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We chose the Southernmost on the Beach for our first trip to Key West based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Once again Trip Advisor showed us the way! The facilities were perfect - attractive and well maintained. Although the rooms were a bit small they freshly decorated and so sophisticated and clean. With 3 pools there was something for everyone. We were delighted to be able to spend our time at the adult only "Tranquility" pool. Although the Southernmost is at the quiet end of Duval St it is never a far walk to anywhere. We loved it and would definitely return again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonKnox25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,591
    992
    297
    113
    65
See reviews for
964
3,032
67
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Southernmost on the Beach from Feb. 20th through the 24th (my husband and I and our 12 year old son). The staff at every level of this resort are there to serve your every need. We have been to many 5-star resorts in the Caribbean and have never had such good service as at the Southernmost. Everyone from the front desk, the pool and beach staff and restaurant staff are friendly, helpful and super helpful.

The views are absolutely gorgeous and the pool was huge and never felt crowded. Our son loved the sunset festival every night at the other end of the island at Mallory Square. So, we got great exercise every day walking the 3 miles each day back and forth and stopping at a different restaurant on Duval Street every night on the way back.

We also highly recommend the 90-minuted guided jet ski tour offered at the dock and we also parasailed. The Southernmost concierge can book everything and gave us good suggestions.

We loved walking down to Mallory Square, but especially loved coming back to the quieter side of the island at the Southernmost, especially if you have children.

I would highly recommend this resort and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripledecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have been coming here for over 10 years, and Randall is always over the top with service and his helpfullness. The Hotel is very clean. Our disappointment was with our room. We reserved a BALCONY and when we arrived our room was not ready. We needed to wait past the normal chekin time to receive a room that we didnt book, no balcony and it was a special occasion.

They could not help us as they were sold out, so my only warning is, make sure you check and re-check that you are getting the room you expect

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Captain5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have planned going to Key West for a while, and we found the La Mer and Dewey House after a review of Tripadvisor and other sites. We will be back, and we would never stay anywhere else. A bit on the expensive side, it's similar to booking a balcony on your first cruise. You don't want to lower the bar by staying in an inside cabin on the next cruise!

Our room was a first floor garden view at the Dewey House, right off the common area. While we were next to the interior stairway, it never got noisy. Some observations:

Our room:
#114 was tastefully appointed, with a queen bed and a spacious bathroom. The room itself was a tad small, but the ambiance, and the private balcony made up for it.

Breakfast and Tea:
High quality continental breakfast from 8:30 - 10:30, from a local bakery (Croissants de France, I believe). Quiche comes out at 8:45. Freshed squeezed orange juice and great coffee / expresso help you start the day.

Facilities:
Three pools to use, with the tranqulity pool across the street being the quietest. The other two have bars, and are a little more boistrous. If you care to use South Beach, showing your room key gets you free chair rentals.

Grounds:
Clean and well maintained. We noted that landscaping was impeccable, and there was always somebody doing something (pruning, etc,) If you want to escape the Mallory Square craziness, the lawn at the adjoining property has live music as the sun sets.

Staff:
Our innkeeper was a great help every day, and the hotel concierge is on staff until 8:00pm. Both are very well versed in things to do around Key West

Duval Street:
About a 20 minute leisurely walk to the main Duval spots. It's much quieter at our end of Duval

Overall Assessment:
A perfect location in a fun city. The entire Southernmost Collection of hotels made this a very enjoyable first-time visit to Key West, and we plan to return.

Room Tip: If you want the B&B experience, and prefer walk in showers, book a room at La Mer. The Dewey Hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfs0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here February 14th through the 21st, absolutely loved our room. We had a king with a partial ocean view on the 3rd floor. The room was a little more $, but was completely worth it. Staff were all very nice, helpful and attentive to all our needs. I actually couldn't believe how fast they arrived to the room when we asked for extra towels a few days, literally minutes after I hung up the phone with the front desk.

Room Tip: Try out the Cafe, great breakfasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryaneoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.0 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.1 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
1.8 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.6 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,191 - ₹ 46,284
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing