We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
33
76
82
56
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
76
82
56
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafe place to stayown bathroomsouthernmost pointpleasant staybikes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed here when I had just moved to KW. I think its fantastic that it exists for young travelers on a small budget, in such an expensive paradise. If you are familiar with Hostels, you'll be good...if you've never stayed in a hostel, research what ur getting. Thank you, Sea Shell!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjalnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My brother and I stayed here in one of the private rooms. I would definitely not return, and recommend staying elsewhere.

Pros:
- nice courtyard
- so-so location
- not totally filthy
- A/C was adequate (in January at night)
- in-room fridge

Cons:
- Very little social atmosphere - very surprising for a hostel in a vacation town.
- Tiny (twin size), ancient, hard beds.
- Alcohol is not permitted in the lovely courtyard, on pain of immediate eviction without refund (is this legal in FL?). Thus the courtyard is much much less pleasant for socializing than it otherwise would be. This was one of a whole list of petty, fascist "rules" guests are required to sign when checking in.
- Floor was kinda dirty - like it had been swept, but not mopped recently.
- No water cup provided.
- Overpriced ($145 including tax) for what you get.
- Super slow office staff.
- Office closes at 8pm.
- They don't answer their phone for reservation inquiries, nor do they return voicemails.
- Location is close to the boring end of Duval Street - the end w/ most of the entertainment is quite a hike.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ubernerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

the staff are very good, but there is very cold at night. We only have a thin bed sheet and the air conditioner is broken. So that I have a little fever.
And the location is very far away from the mallory square.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weiling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Clean sheets and locked door is about all that is provided, but this is a GREAT way to see Key West if you're on a budget. Sure, it can be loud and the bunk beds are rickety, but you are sure to meet interesting people and have a place to simply crash after a day of experiencing the island. Be sure to bring any and all amenities with you, including hand soap, towels, etc.

I traveled alone and felt safe the whole time- all of the women in the hostel that night were also solo travelers!

Room Tip: I only stayed in the female hostel. All rooms, I think, are attached to the courtyard where other guests hang out and the walls are pretty thin. Bring earplugs or a white noise machine, but don't count on a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Em M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I traveled to Key West with my brother for a weekend away and only found the hostel once we arrived, no reservations. We were lucky they had a private room left and it's SO much cheaper than staying in a hotel there. The motel is a couple blocks from everything, we walked to the beach and downtown with ease. The room was nice as far as hostels go, with a private bathroom, 2 beds, a closet, refrigerator and a/c. There's car parking and a keyed gate around the motel.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
4  Thank MazzaRazza_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews