We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful Do Not Stay Here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Davison, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aweful Do Not Stay Here!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and stayed at this motel and were so very disappointed...the bed had springs sticking up and because all the other places on Key West were full we had no choice to stay...we had to put our jackets and their towels on the bed so we could sleep on this bed. The tv cable keep going out and of course durring the best part of the show we watching to try to go to sleep by...not much sleep in this bed!! It was clean but a very plan room...we did like the shower though...do not go by the pics of the rooms on their web site...they are dated back to 2005 and are not acurate to what they look like now!!! I would not recommend you stay here even though the price is low...now we know why...you get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    69
    73
    50
    81
See reviews for
34
63
72
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed here when I had just moved to KW. I think its fantastic that it exists for young travelers on a small budget, in such an expensive paradise. If you are familiar with Hostels, you'll be good...if you've never stayed in a hostel, research what ur getting. Thank you, Sea Shell!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjalnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My brother and I stayed here in one of the private rooms. I would definitely not return, and recommend staying elsewhere.

Pros:
- nice courtyard
- so-so location
- not totally filthy
- A/C was adequate (in January at night)
- in-room fridge

Cons:
- Very little social atmosphere - very surprising for a hostel in a vacation town.
- Tiny (twin size), ancient, hard beds.
- Alcohol is not permitted in the lovely courtyard, on pain of immediate eviction without refund (is this legal in FL?). Thus the courtyard is much much less pleasant for socializing than it otherwise would be. This was one of a whole list of petty, fascist "rules" guests are required to sign when checking in.
- Floor was kinda dirty - like it had been swept, but not mopped recently.
- No water cup provided.
- Overpriced ($145 including tax) for what you get.
- Super slow office staff.
- Office closes at 8pm.
- They don't answer their phone for reservation inquiries, nor do they return voicemails.
- Location is close to the boring end of Duval Street - the end w/ most of the entertainment is quite a hike.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ubernerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Teaneck, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

the staff are very good, but there is very cold at night. We only have a thin bed sheet and the air conditioner is broken. So that I have a little fever.
And the location is very far away from the mallory square.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weiling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Clean sheets and locked door is about all that is provided, but this is a GREAT way to see Key West if you're on a budget. Sure, it can be loud and the bunk beds are rickety, but you are sure to meet interesting people and have a place to simply crash after a day of experiencing the island. Be sure to bring any and all amenities with you, including hand soap, towels, etc.

I traveled alone and felt safe the whole time- all of the women in the hostel that night were also solo travelers!

Room Tip: I only stayed in the female hostel. All rooms, I think, are attached to the courtyard where other gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.9 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 km away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.9 km away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Property: Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Address: 718 South St, Key West, FL 33040-4770
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,641 - ₹ 16,117
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing