We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private Double Room a Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Private Double Room a Great Value”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I traveled to Key West with my brother for a weekend away and only found the hostel once we arrived, no reservations. We were lucky they had a private room left and it's SO much cheaper than staying in a hotel there. The motel is a couple blocks from everything, we walked to the beach and downtown with ease. The room was nice as far as hostels go, with a private bathroom, 2 beds, a closet, refrigerator and a/c. There's car parking and a keyed gate around the motel.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MazzaRazza_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    69
    73
    50
    81
See reviews for
34
63
72
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

You Can't expect 5 five stars while trying traveling on a budget. This palce has a great Keys feel and staff is freindly. The courtyard area is great to sit and chit-chat with people from all over the globe. I have stayed here for years and will continue to do so. The owners continue to keep the palce nice. Just blocks from Duval Steet and Higgs Beach and Whit Steet Pier. There is a small cafe just two blocks down, "Anna's" you can get a breakfast made to order with great Cuban Coffee. I would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilsbeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

If u want a hot, sweaty non romantic night with your wife in key west, this place is for you. The beds are awful ...springs are sticking out...you would be much better off sleeping on the tile floor. The ac does not work ...just trust me don't stay here ...it is wayyyyyyyyyy over priced!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kejbdhdjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We were given the following quote via email:

"The rates for 4 adults are as follows:
-Extended Double Rooms with two full-size beds and a single bed - $129+tax."

They later raised their price to $169 claiming the new kid that gave the quote didn't know there were 4 people (when his quote SPECIFICALLY said "for 4 adults").

For the same time period, Days Inn, Banana Bay, Lexington, Best Western, Ibis Bay, and Fairfield Inn all had better rates. For the same price (or less), you can stay in a nicer place and/or be closer to the water.

Very unprofessional and NOT worth the money!

I would only consider this place if everything else is booked. I never expect much from a bargain motel; but I usually hope that they'll at least provide professional customer service while they're trying to get my money. They could not even do that.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank HoosierTexan216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Don't pay in advance. You get what you pay for...a lumpy bed in a small room. If you only need a cheap place to sleep and shower, then this is a low budget choice. It is located
three blocks off the far end of Duval Street. Figure 30 mins to walk to Mallory Square. 10 min walk to the beach. There are numerous small motels in the area we would consider on next trip. No pool, but a nice courtyard and shared outdoor kitchen. Free WiFi.
For high season, the VACANCY signs were everywhere. We had a single room for $117/night but they have traditional hostel dormatory rooms for less money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.9 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,310 reviews
0.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 km away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#21 of 51 in Key West
638 reviews
0.9 km away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#55 of 77 in Key West
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Property: Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Address: 718 South St, Key West, FL 33040-4770
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,506 - ₹ 16,712
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing