We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNETHICAL: We were tricked into booking here, it didn't meet our needs or expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“UNETHICAL: We were tricked into booking here, it didn't meet our needs or expectations.”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We needed to be in Key West for a wedding so my Husband and I planned to take an extended 3 week vacation driving down the coast from NJ taking in sights, and visiting family along the way since we were traveling with our 1 and 3 year olds. After staying in Hampton Inns Hotels along the way, we were really looking forward to reaching the Galleon which we booked under the impression we were going to spend the week in a timeshare unit that we paid cash since the booking agent told us we couldn't use points. After living out of suitcases for two weeks, we were really looking forward to unpacking our bags and cooking homemade meals for our family. We are RCI timeshare owners so we are very familiar with their level of accomodations. When we finally arrived exhausted and ready to settle in, we were APPALLED to find that instead of a timeshare unit, they put us in a recently renovated HOTEL ROOM in a separate building facing the busy street with two flights of stairs and no elevator, that was clearly designed for partiers, not a family with toddlers. We were clear with the booking agent we had two small children and needed something appropriate. The room was unsafe. It had a utility closet with the furnace and exposed wires behind an accordian door next to the front door so my 3 year old was facinated with. I asked for a bolt to be put in the door stating a safety hazard, and was refused. There was NO DRAWERS to unpack our things! None! Housekeeping brought a luggage rack instead! There was nowhere for my kids to sit and eat their meals! My kids are 1 and 3. They are messy eaters. They ate standing with their food propped on the tiny groovy wooden cocktail table/footstool that was the only thing in the room along with a tiny microfiber couch. There was a king bed, a pullout couch, two groovy 12x12 cocktail tables, and the microfiber chair. After pulling out the couch bed, and setting up my baby's portacrib, we had to push the rest of the furniture into the closet just so we could get to the bathroom! As families with toddlers know, we spend A LOT of time in the room resting because the kids can't be out in the heat long before melting down. Needless to say, our room was miserable. In addition, the only window overlooked a housekeeping service area directly below our window! Staff often would hide in that area sneaking a quick smoke and to chit-chat all day long so I finally had to resort to closing the blinds on the only window in the unit so my Son would quit asking if it was a party! The Housekeeping staff took pity on us and was very kind. The Concierge/Timeshare Sales Mgr was also good, but we met her too late for her to intervene. The location is unbeatable. Next to the marina and good dining, and close to Duval Street. The room decor was beautiful but not appropriate for young children. We did take a timeshare tour and found the real units to be exactly what we had been looking for. For the money we spent, we could have gone to the Hyatt or another hotel accustomed to customer service standards, but we wanted to provide a homey atmosphere for the kids. If you are a partier, this room is perfect. If you are a family, dont fall into the same trap! Once you are there, the front desk staff say they can do nothing to change your room since the owners were already paid. We made the best of our time there for the sake of the children.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SDMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    142
    44
    32
    39
See reviews for
127
183
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights in June. The pool is great. The beach is great. The dock and tiki hut bar is great. Hanging out on the water and sipping ice cold beverages in the sun with some Jimmy Buffet playing was one of the highlights of out South Florida vacation.

Everything was clean and well kept. The service was good too!

We already made reservations in the Luxery Suite for May of 2013!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Galleon is an older complex and it shows but it is in pretty good shape. The staff is constantly doing things to make it better. A bit disappointed with the pool and the "party" antics of win a prize.. If you don't like cruise ships or Sandals Resorts, you might be disappointed. The location on the Gulf of Mexico and on the Marina was wonderful and that alone saves this reviewer. Would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The Staff was very quick to bring new towels when asked. Very Friendly folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNJSmallSteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Nice place to stay. Checked in Friday for a 2 day stay. We had to change rooms for another customer that stays in the same room (ours) for one week every year. We moved our belongings from one room to the other the next morning. I overlooked my small camera on the floor at the foot of my bed. Left for the day boating and immediately realized my camera was left behind. Returned to front desk that afternoon and the new guest for our old room was just checking in. Went up with them as they entered the room and a thorough search turned up nothing. Front desk made a note of it. That's it!?
I went to the front desk several times and it just seemed there is no protocol for housekeeping returning a "lost" item. I guess if you forget it, they get to keep it. It cost me $500, my mistake.
This is not a lost item. I know I left it in the room. I know housekeeping changed the sheets and cleaned. My camera is gone, nobody is responsible, nobody has called me to tell me they spoke to the person who cleaned my room. This is 2 days later and nothing.
If we didn't have to switch rooms, this would not have happened. I made a mistake and overlooked an item. If this happens to you, you may have the same experience. I know I left the camera in the room and exactly where. It is gone. I call this theft, but nobody at the Galleon cares. Don't expect anything.

Room Tip: don't leave any belongings behind, you will not get it back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjgophish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

First time @ Galleon ... great views of the marina and fireworks !!!! Walking distance from Duval Street. Room was clean and Front desk employees was helpful. Love watching the two local cats and the nice boats coming into the marina.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TamiSue44614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.2 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 km away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#20 of 51 in Key West
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
2,555 reviews
0.3 km away
Key West Sailing Adventure
Key West Sailing Adventure
#67 of 77 in Key West
29 reviews
0.3 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Resort And Marina

Property: The Galleon Resort And Marina
Address: 617 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,666 - ₹ 37,211
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galleon Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing