We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place but this was our last stay here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Eden House
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place but this was our last stay here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I’m finally getting around to writing this review for my trip from May 25 – 27, 2011. This was my second stay at the Eden House because my travel companions and I fell in love with the hotel for the first time a few years ago (you can read my previous review). Unfortunately, we just didn’t leave with the same feeling this time.

Gina at the front desk was nice when I called to make my reservations and I asked for the same room we had last time, room 403. We were really looking forward to another wonderful stay. Eden House has off street parking which is very convenient and we easily found a spot. We arrived at the hotel during happy hour and I went to find the front desk clerk so we could check in. I don’t remember his name right now, but he was a young guy with short brown hair (I can’t remember his name unfortunately). There were a lot of people at the pool and he was serving drinks and chatting with the guests. I waiting for a break in the conversation and then asked if we could check in when he had a free moment. No sooner were the words out of my mouth, before his face fell as though I were an old enemy.

At that moment, I had never felt so unwelcome and so extremely bad for having to pull him away from the festivities. I remembered during our first trip we also checked in during happy hour but the front desk clerk at the time greeted us as though we were old friends! He checked us in, offered us a drink, walked us around the property, took us up to our room, gave us the code to the door by the parking lot, and basically made us feel like we were staying with friends. Mike Eden (the owner) was at the little self serve bar serving up drinks and when he saw us walk out onto our lanai, he waved up at us to “come on, have a drink!” with a huge smile.

Anyway, we went up to our room and got settled in. We were happy to see a few updates that we really appreciated such as the a/c unit, the blinds, and the mattress. Part of the charm of Eden House is that the rooms are cozy, unique, and have a tropical flair. This hotel is definitely not for the travelers who expect something like the Westin or Marriot. Eden House is beautiful, quiet, and (usually) friendly. It was very convenient having a little kitchen, the bathroom was nice and large as we remembered, and the view is always lovely from room 403’s lanai. This room will spoil you and you won’t want to stay anywhere else (room wise or hotel wise).

Later in the evening, we went to the front desk to rent two bikes. The same gentleman who checked us in was there and he looked really bored and a bit irritated. I thought I should just make the conversation simple and nice in case he was having a bad day or maybe going through something in his life (you never know). He let us pick the bikes we wanted and then listlessly gave us our locks and keys. We returned the bikes well before our time was up but at that point, it was quite late, perhaps close to midnight. It was a quick transaction, he looked up at us, we gave him the keys and lock and thanked him, he just said “yep” and we left. As I’m writing this, I’m beginning to think that maybe he was a robot...I don’t know…

When we checked out, luckily it was with another staff member and she was more pleasant. We were able to check out quickly and with no problems. During our first stay, the staff was so friendly we just felt like we belonged there. Unfortunately, this time, we were made to feel as though we were intruding. We just made plans to come back to Key West in May 2012 but sadly, we won’t be staying at Eden House this time around.

Room Tip: Room 403 is wonderful. It is on the second floor, has it's own private porch, full kitchen, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PermanentTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear PermanentTourist,

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that our employee ruined your trip. He was actually let go some time ago for just this kind of behavior. Once we were notified by other guests of his bad attitude, we realized he did not fit in with our friendly and funky vibe. Employee turnover is fairly high in a tourist town like Key West and we strive to hire people that will subscribe to our unique, fun and friendly atmosphere. However, sometimes you don't realize an apple is bad until you bite into it.

Guests are always encouraged to voice any concerns they may have with the hotel to a manager as soon as possible so that we may rectify the problem (just as we did with this former employee) and hopefully we can make the rest of your stay even more enjoyable than the last. If you ever decide to give us another shot, please call and ask for Ryan or Elizabeth and we will make sure you get the great service you originally loved. Also, drop by happy hour when you are in Key West this May for a drink and to check out some more great updates we've implemented around the property. 4 to 5pm every day!

Sincerely,
Mike Eden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    307
    81
    36
    18
See reviews for
158
898
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The staff of this hotel is the best ever. So personal and friendly. They really seem to love their job. The hotel was great and the free bar hour between 16-17 is quit unbelevable. Make your own drink and relax by the pool. We met a couple that have been returning at least 10 times, and we totally understand them. Here is where I want to live (and work).

The hotel staff also seems to know the souroundings really good and have coupons for restaurants etc. And are happy to help with different reservations.
I would love if all hotels were like this.
Our room had a outdoor shower (as well as an indoor) - life as you always want to spend it!

Room Tip: Rooms a bit away from the pool might be a bit quiter. Room 303 (or if it was 301) had an outdoor sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I took a chance on the Eden House and found it to be exceptional. It exceeded my expecations and I dont impress easily. The property is immaculate and the grounds by the pool are absosolutely stunning. I find myself re-living the sights of the poolside landscaping it was that beautiful!! There was a lovely wind chime that provided soothing sounds. I was fortunate to be assigned a poolside room: soft bedding and a nice ceiling fan overhead kept me comfortable enough that I only minimally needed to run the A/C unit. I appreciated that this is a "green" property with numerous recycling cannisters about. I also read that they use solar panels to heat the pool during certain months of the year. The afternoon happy hour was a chance to socialize with other guests. They were pleasant but not intrusive. If you want to be kept alone and just "veg out" no one will take exception. Tip: I would highly recommend renting a bicycle to see town. Once I parked my car, I used the bike exclusively to get around town and for a price of $25 for 3 days, I thought that was very reasonable. The experience of a bike ride up and down the streets during the evening was something I will not soon forget. I also liked that the owner emails a list of "things to do" on the way to the resort and I took advantage of two restaurants that were recommended: Alabama Jacks and Sparkys Landing as well as the Coral Geologic Quarry. If you are driving down from the mainland, do take Card Sound Road to get to the Keys which is a nice drive through the swampy mangrove ecosystem. Every restaurant the owner recommended I can vouch for: Finnegans Wake, Old Town Bakery (great raspberry cheese danish!), Bo's Fish Wagon, and Kermits Key Lime Pie were a few that I tried. Get to Schooners Warf for live music and a Bloody mary! My only negative is that when I booked the room I keyed in a special "gift card" promotion which entitled me to a $20 giftcard for savings at area restaurants. It was never given to me. I didnt realize it until I got home and was recapping my trip. Im sure if I brought it to the attention of the desk it would have been resolved though. The desk staff was cordial and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReeverNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel, located five blocks from Duval street, is a friendly place. It has a good swimming pool, happy hour appetizers and you feel home. However, although they do not consider themselves a bed & breakfast, we felt like it. Our room, a called private room (number 107 in the main house) was very small and had no TV, telephone or refrigerator. It had two windows with blinds that could not be opened since they overlooked the house's terrace, where people would pass by all the time, killing any possibility of privacy. Besides, for those who need total darkness to be able to sleep...impossible. The light coming from the aforementioned terrace was on all night long, coming through the blinds' cracks and shedding light right on the bed. And I noticed all rooms have the same type of blinds. Last, but not least, parking is for free, but it isn't big enough. The first ones to arrive will be able to park their cars. If you're late, too bad. So, I guess, it's up to you if it's a good stay or not.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

After trying to save some money the first night of our 3 night trip, we ended up at the repulsive Lexington hotel. What a pleasant surprise to only spend about 30 more dollars and end in near the heart of old town at the Eden House. The rooms are kind of small. But the grounds are amazing. The style a mix between a cool b and b w some hotel pieces thrown in. Each guest gets a tour of grounds and our request for early check in was granted and we were even told we could arrive sooner if needed. Perfect place to stay in key west and I found it amazing how many guests just stayed on the grounds and hung by the pool or socialized or just relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveb7163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.0 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
2.4 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.1 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
0.5 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,285 - ₹ 27,945
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing