We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #34 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My son, daughter in law and I took a spur of the moment six hour drive to Key West on a Saturday and we were lucky enough to even find a room let alone a clean comfortable beautiful quiet one within walking distance to Duval. Our visit was the first day of the first round of Spring Break so that made it even more amazing. It was a little Key West pricey but not overly so for the situation of spring break AND high season in Florida. Our room had a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, ironing board/iron and a 32 inch flat screen tv. The beds were comfortable but...and this is the only reason they didn't get five stars, 'noisy.' Not sure why. Maybe the box spring?? Mattress was comfy but as soon as you moved there was a lot of creaking (????snapping????) going on. I would stay again and would definitely recommend. Oh, also not pet friendly. I think they could think about allowing pets but there really was no place on the property to walk them. Our dog stayed the night in our SUV and we took her to the dog beach in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnieMmm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    531
    185
    37
    23
See reviews for
335
450
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Not the most attractive looking motel on the outside, but don't let that stop you from booking here! The staff is polite and helpful, the rooms were clean, and the continental breakfast was tasty. We arrived early and as our room wasn't ready, we were upgraded to the suite! Private entrance, kitchenette, bedroom and living room. A wonderful surprise, and we enjoyed the location, very close to South Point.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlsoLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great motel 1 minut from Duval. Huge room, nice and clean.
We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great location close to famous Duvall Street and the South Beach. Free limited parking. If you get a spot don't move your car, just walk or ride the Old Town Trolley which you can catch about a block away. There is lots to see and do, and great places to eat, within walking distance. Convenient, clean laundry facilities. The recently redecorated room was spacious, very clean, quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed the tile floors and the plantation shutters. The Continental breakfast was enough to get us by until lunch and we could take it to our room.

Room Tip: Don't move your car if you get a parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HappyGran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
202 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was rather surprised that this hotel was offered as the cheapest on Key West. The room was very clean, in a good shape. The motel seems to be built in 50s-60s, yet it is in a very good shape. The location is perfect - Duval Street and Southernmost point are just around the corner. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_PRG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
3.5 km away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#40 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
2.4 km away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 km away
El Patio Motel
El Patio Motel
#63 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Property: Blue Marlin Motel
Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,244 - ₹ 22,172
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing