We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Attention to detail, especially at breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Attention to detail, especially at breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Fleming Street has a vibe of its own and no place captures this quite like The Artist House. We spent three lovely days there over the Easter weekend and were delighted by all wonderful idiosyncrasies the neighborhood offered. Quirky shops, organic grocers, yummy bistros and all only five blocks from the street theatre that is Duval. The inn itself was thoughtfully renovated, tastefully decorated and boasted a fabulous breakfast buffet - not over the top but plenty of the RIGHT things like fresh fruit, a range of breakfast breads (English muffins, bagels, pastries, toast) and good coffee. The staff were excellent and made everything easy. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
What's the best thing about leaving? You have to leave in order to come back! We're glad you enjoyed the B&B as well as our lovely neighborhood! We enjoy being in this area as well! Just a few minutes from Duval is where you'll find the best that Key West has to offer. We're pleased that you liked the breakfast. Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    149
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
538
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Artist House. The breakfast was good (consisting of pastries, fresh fruit, coffee, and cereal choices) and the house itself was very nice. The most of the staff was quite pleasant and helpful, but not necessarily invested in our experience in Key West. One girl was so nice that she was the closest to the homey bed and breakfast experience we've had at other places. We would definitely stay here again. The location is great, a little bike ride away from Duval, but that was good to see more of the island. All in all, we would recommend staying at the Artist House on Fleming. Also make sure you use the free admission to the East Martello Museum to see Robert the Doll. It was like Ripleys Believe it or Not without the cheese factor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Truman room. The room itself was a little smaller than expected but just as nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for the great review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and glad you enjoyed the breakfast...we try to create an array of options for every palette! We’re all here to make you have the best vacation possible while you are visiting KW and offer to help in any way we can without being pushy. Bikes are a fantastic way to get around the island

We do hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Lodging in Key West can be very pricey during high season. Artist House on Fleming was a good value--$250 for a room. This is a good B&B, but not luxurious. Our room was large with a king bed and sleeper sofa. The decor was simple and modern, which I really liked. The room had a coffee maker and refrigerator. We had to go outside to get to our room, which made for privacy, but might not have been pleasant in bad weather. The bathroom was very small. My husband and I are small people, but a large person or someone with mobility problems might have trouble in the bathroom or shower, which was a small stall with a glass door. It's "standard" size, but felt cramped to me. Our room was very nicely decorated with wood walls and had a sleeper sofa. Bathroom lacked adequate shelving for two people and the ring for the towel was about a foot and a half off the floor, which was awkward. This isn't a cozy B&B with the owners on sight. Staff are here during the day, but it's not the same experience as when you can interact with owners. There are no common areas except a deck and the kitchen/office/sitting area, which has some club chairs. The other rooms (dining, living) have been turned into guest rooms. The breakfast was okay--purchased pastries, small quiches, bagels, fresh fruit. It was adequate, but nothing special. Breakfast isn't served until 9, which I consider very late--really interferes with the morning. happy hour at the sister property had a nice selection of beer and wine. The location is great--excellent restaurants close by and Duval an easy walk, but on a very quiet side street--this is very important as some of the B&Bs are on very noisy thoroughfares. Bikes for rent on sight, although we just walked. There is a heated plunge pool/jacuzzi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! The house is located in a quaint and quiet street which makes relaxing during your vacation even easier. We do actually have an indoor sitting area with oversized comfy chairs in addition to the many outdoor spots (lounge chairs by the pool as well as on the decks, swings and loveseats on the enormous porch, breakfast tables in the back garden, etc). You had mentioned you had sunny weather-which is pretty much the norm for our tropical island. Yes, it does rain here but for the most part only for a few minutes in the afternoon during the rainy season. One of the many reasons this beautiful place is referred to as paradise!

Our friendly staff members are here every day to ensure you can make the most of your vacation. We offer concierge services and are always eager to assist our guests before, during and after your stay with us. We trust that our staff members will take great care of you, especially in our absence. You will find us (Ray and Jo-owners) at both of our inns except during the rare occasion that we are on holiday (which was the case in this instance). We are terribly sorry that we did not get to meet these guests as we sincerely enjoy getting to know everyone that stays with us!

We're glad that you enjoyed our Inn and do hope that you'll visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

It was our first experience at a B&B and we were a bit afraid! But as soon as my housband and I arrived, we couldnt belive our eyes! It was an antique house refurbished with the most modern details and excellent taste! The house itself was very comfortable, quiet and really lovely. Needles to say the rooms: very roomy, clean, cozy and we do loved the decor. We stayed at the Mallory, but we could peek two other rooms and .. all of them were great! . The best thing in ours, is that you could access the pool directly from a lateral door. The breakfasts were more than delicious and we could enjoyed them even more at the nice backyard next to the little pool (Although it was difficult to go out of bed with that soft duvet !!) Trevor, and Jo, the owner,were of great help all the time and really nice persons. They couldnt make us feel better!! It was like a second honey moon to us, and we definitely had an amazing time while staying there! Of course, we will come back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar y Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Wonderful two nights at the Artist House. Our teenage girls loved it, too! Staff was so kind and breakfast was wonderful. Rooms were also great. Thanks for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuMartin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for the "fantastic" rating! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come visit us again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 50 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
1.0 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.7 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.5 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Property: Artist House on Fleming
Address: 1016 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,502 - ₹ 21,794
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing