We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property and Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed for two nights at Casa Marina and would go back there again. The resort is beautiful and located right on the water. Lots of places to lounge around the pool or beach and not too crowded. The resort is far enough away from the traffic of Duval St that it is peaceful but it's still within walking distance of everywhere. The rooms are pretty average given how much you pay but it is offset by the rest of the property. Bathroom was probably below avearge. We had an Ocean View room and expected a little more given the price we paid. However it had a private balcony overlooking the ocean and property so no need to spend much time in the room anyway. I was a little bit disappointed at the check in when they wanted to "upgrade" us into a 1 bedroom "oceanview" suite. What they failed to mention was that the room had 2 queen beds and looked out on to the pool - the ocean could be seen if you hung over the balcony. The room did not meet the criteria that we had originally booked for - a king size bed overlooking the ocean and they did not have our best interest in mind when the upgrade was offered. We ended up switching back to the original room we booked which was smaller but much more what we were looking for. We had lunch poolside one day and it was pretty good. Slow service but we had already expected that. For dinners we wondered off the resort to some great places within walking distance. Beware the upgrade though.

Room Tip: Be very clear what an upgrade entails if it is offered to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear TorontoRam,

We really appreciate your feedback and are glad you appreciate our beautiful location.

We also have shared your feedback in regards to your experience that was not up to par with our management team. If you should be in Key West again please contact me at stresh@luxuryresorts.com for personalized service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,352
    1,679
    966
    504
    345
See reviews for
1,807
3,186
94
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 3rd vacation in Key West. The first 2 times we stayed at the Casa's sister resort - The Reach. The second time at The Reach was a disappointment because the beach staff was so rude, so we hung out at the Casa Beach our last 2 days, and then decided to just stay their this time.
Well, if I had it to do over again, I would have stayed at The Reach and used the facilities at the Casa Marina. The Casa is more expensive (although The Reach is pricey too) and it's not worth the extra money AT ALL!!
The outside of the building is beautiful, but the rooms are nothing to brag about. The carpet in the hallways looks like it's from the 50's. I read they spent millions renovating this resort into a Waldorf - they should have spent a few more to upgrade the decor.
We asked to be moved after our first night because I could hear everything going on in the room adjacent to ours - it was gross!
The staff was very friendly, and did give us another room, which was quieter until the last night, when I was woken up about every 2 hours from the people above us walking around, opening and closing doors, and scraping chairs across the floor. If you take the air conditioning fan off of auto and let it run continuously, it does drown out some of the noise and makes it more bearable.
The Beach staff was great and we had lunch on the beach the first day, which was very good (fish tacos). They bring around drink of the day samples, popsicles, cold cucumber slices for your eyes, and frozen towels.
We rented bikes onsite from Barefoot Billy's, and the staff their was very friendly as well.
The resort is pretty with hammocks on the beach and a nice pier you can walk out on. The torches lining the sidewalks are pretty, and their are 2 fire pits you can sit around and have a drink if you can get a spot.
The beach wasn't very relaxing during the day a few times though, because of a pressure washer running for over 2 hours straight to clean the pier. It's also noisy in the mornings with the front end loader they use to clean the seaweed off the beach, and the mules they use to pull the sand rakes around.
I told them at checkout I wouldn't be back, and just got a shrug, and an "I know, the walls are paper thin."
I have stayed at much nicer places and paid alot less money - it was definitely a HUGE disappointment. It's a decent place, but not very peaceful or private.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a good room - I tried 2 and wasn't impressed with either one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I usually don't take the time to sit down and give a review on the places I stay, or the amenities that are included.In this case I feel obligated to inform future patrons of this wonderful establishment! I recently purchased a jet ski tour from Barefoot Billy's at the Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria. Wow!! If you are looking for a safe company to show you a great time around the island of key west, these guys are the way to go! We docked our cruise ship in the harbor of key west for a short time and were looking for a fun activity for our short stay in key west. There were many things to choose from.We chose the Barefoot Billy's Island Jet Ski Tour. What a blessing! Our guides were John and Joseph. If you plan on taking a tour around the island, I would strongly suggest you request these two, they are very concerned with your safety and comfort, all the way through the tour. Both guides are there if you have any questions. When we where completing the paper work before the tour, the manager (mark) was there to help with any questions. We can't wait to come back to the Casa for our family vacation. Waldorf's property is gorgeous,it feels like every employee seems to love they're job. The young man, Matt at the water sports booth, even went the extra mile to give us a map with his favorite local restaurants. THANKS AGAIN!! Casa marina we will see you soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Platinum503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Cloud
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Wonderful staff - beach staff were the best - Patrick server and Micah and Jake. Rent the bikes and 'tootle' all over the island, then splurge on the dining. Tom 'the bike man' is right on site and can be very helpful. The cleaning staff could be a little more timely... Even after requesting 10am service, our room was still not touched each day until after 2pm. Great restaurants for dining: Martin's and A&B Lobster house. Skip Sibonay... Although the local favorite, it was disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is my fourth stay at the Casa Marina, just gets better with every trip. Key West is a wonderful place to visit, Casa Marina is the place to stay while you are visiting. The hotel has everything you need, great staff, rooms, eating, beach and pools. The bar is right on the beach, enjoyed watching the NFL draft while talking with Suzanne (a fellow dog lover, give Duncan a big hug). Patrick and Stephanie will greet you at check in like you are an old friend. Breakfast is the best you will find in the Keys, then a lazy morning lounging by the pool while the attendants are ready for just about anything you can possibly need. Completed my dive certification this last trip, the pool instruction is conducted at the Casa Marina. Talk about convenience.
Thanks for another great vacation, already planning a return trip in August.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Mark R,

We cannot begin to describe how much we appreciate your patronage. Please come back and see us whenever you can. I know what you mean about Suzanne, Patrick and Stephanie, I am fortunate enough to see them everyday! Thank you so much, we will see you next time. Please contact me at stresh@luxuryresorts.com if you need assistance with a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 km away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
4.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
2.1 km away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,432 - ₹ 45,032
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing