We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Two pluses and two minuses. The pluses: 1) the hotel room was very clean, and I'm a pretty picky person when it comes to this area of a hotel stay; 2) free breakfast by the pool. The minuses: 1) of the two room keys I received, only one worked, and not all the time. So each time I had to go into my room, I had to go back and forth between keys four or five times before the door would open; 2) the wi-fi access was quite slow and intermittently at best.
Key West hotels run pretty expensive, so though this hotel was a little pricey for the size of the room, it was overall a good deal on the island.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get a pool view or a street view, otherwise you'll spend your time looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience you endured from the keys not working. The electronic room keys are very sensitive and can easily be demagnetized when placed closely to other credit cards and cellular phones. I understand how frustrating it is to be at your door and not be able to get in. We try to tell all our guests about the key’s sensitivity as the majority of hotels in the USA utilize the exact same keys. Those who travel often are very aware of this and make additional efforts to refrain the inconvenience from occrruing by keeping the keys in their sleeve and out of the pocket that their phone is in.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 994 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Overall -- This is a pleasant hotel with decent accommodations, but nothing spectacular.

Service -- I travel with a group of 5 sales reps. on an incentive business trip to the Fairfield Inn at Key West. We received decent service, expecially from the two UK customer service reps. that checked us in. The taxi service that picked us up and dropped us off to and from Duvall street was slow, and I thought the hotel could have done a better job with this. All in all the service was quite nice.

Value -- For the location, and on Key West this was the best value. We got a decent rate and were able to do all the activities we wanted to. You can spend way more and stay closer to Duvall Street, but for the money I'm not sure if it is worth it.

Sleep Quality -- Poor, the beds are small the rooms are nothing special and the air conditioners Umm all night. If your looking for a amazing sleep experience I'd look somewhere else.

Cleanliness -- The rooms were decently clean, and the maid service was prompt every day. I get the impression that on a whole the grounds were also well maintained, though we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel pool.

Location -- It is a good location, but not great. You need to take a taxi to get to the main drag, all the water activities, and to any beach, but you are in the middle of Key West so it is easy to get around. The typical cab fair is about 5 dollars per person so you won't break your bank, but it does take 10-15 minutes to get a cab after you call on it.

Rooms -- Sub-average. If you have stayed at a Fairfield somewhere else I would say this is a below average room quality. The floors are tile, it has an outdoor entrance, the air conditioner is loud, the bed springs made sweeky noises, and the bathroom is small. I probably wouldn't include the rooms if I was writing a post card back home.

Overall Thoughts -- Pick this hotel if your looking for a good value, a decent pool, and location that has easy access to all of Key West. Don't pick it if you're looking for great rooms with the ability to sleep for hours in a comfortable atmosphere.

Room Tip: Call ahead for a Cab. It can take 10-15 minutes for them to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kovacicn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your comments on our property. We rely on our guests’ feedback to improve our operation and ultimately the guest experience. We value your comments and will surely utilize your critique for future property investments. Thank you for emphasizing on our property’s Value, as we are not the least expensive hotel but the amenities we offer are certainly worth every penny.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Don't understand rationale for Fairfield Inn custom of NOT placing water cups
in the same room as the water tap! One arrives at room thirsty, finds a water tap in the
bathroom but then finds that he/she needs to try to cup hands together to have
a simple drink of water! Frustrated, the still thirsty traveler now starts a 'where
are the cups" hunt?

Is there some logical reason why water cups should not be placed in the same room as
the water source?






































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































Also puzzled at Fairfield's practice of NOT putting water cups in the
same room as the water tap? The thirsty traveler arrives at the hotel,
finds the water tap in the bathroom. but no cups!? The immediate alternative
is to cup hands to drink! Or leave the bathroom and embark on a cup
search elsewhere in the apartment!

I am at a loss to guess the reason for thus incovenient strategy ???

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtiss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback, as we are always looking for ways to make our guets' experience more convenient and enjoyable. We value your comments and hope that the cup positioning in the rooms do not deter you from returning to our beautiful property.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

While in Key West we prefer to stay at B&Bs near downtown, the Fairfield Inn & Suites is an acceptable alternative despite being more than two miles from Duval Street. My wife and I stayed there for three nights smack during high-priced, high-tourist season. The cost, however, was reasonable given the season.

While Fairfields are in many respects average hotels, what sets this one apart is the knowledgeable, friendly staff. For instance, their recommendations of restaurants and attractions were terrific. They were most accommodating in every respect. In fact, they sought out their guests to be sure they were comfortable and had everything they needed.

Our room was small but clean and stocked with all the amenities we would need. The AC was noisy when it came on. The pool area was of a quality one would expect at a four-star hotel. The outside bar and adjacent continental breakfast area spacious. All in all, if we couldn't be closer to the action downtown, the Fairfield did nicely.

Room Tip: If you want to be assured of quiet at night, ask for a room away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinlifeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for commenting on our staff’s diverse talents. We instill the knowledge you would expect from a concierge into each of our associates. The personalized service truly sets us apart from the rest. We have even gone through great lengths to ensure that guests staying at our property get additional discounts for local attractions, restaurants and bars. We have a plethora of coupons at the Front Desk which we happily pair with each guest’s needs. Saving our guests money adds to the value of our property.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I am lifetime platinum with Marriott and booked my room on reward points. The hotel has a lot going for it. Great staff....one of the friendliest and most helpful anywhere. There's also a large, clean, pool situated in very inviting surroundings. Another plus is an above-average complimentary breakfast buffet served poolside. In the afternoon, the breakfast area adjoining turns into a fun and friendly Tiki Bar....also very nice. Location is about a 5-10 minute drive from Duval Street shopping, dining, and nightlife. (Cabs are fairly plentiful and relatively cheap),

The only problem here during my stay was the room. Clean, bright, and equipped with comfy bedding, but very small. We had three people (me, wife, and young adult son), and we kept bumping into each other. Very little storage space for luggage, etc. I did notice that they had what appeared to be larger rooms and suites. So my advice would be to book one of those (and expect to pay a little more), unless you're traveling solo, not planning spending time in the room (this IS Key West), or otherwise don't mind having limited space.

Room Tip: Reserve a larger room or suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyberdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your loyalty with Marriott and hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.2 km away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,375 reviews
2.6 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.9 km away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
2.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West

Address: 2400 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-3838
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 12,855 - ₹ 36,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn Key West hotel offers styish rooms with bright decor, plenty of natural light and perks such as in-room microwaves and mini-fridges. Our top-rated hotel features luxury amenities such as resort-style pool, cabanas and outdoor Tiki Bar at the Fairfield Inn value. You'll still get the convenient perks you've come to love including free WiFi and hot breakfast. Just minutes from Old Town and Duval Street, guests appreciate the quick ride using our onsite bike and scooter rental. Perfect for families, our suites offer extra space to spread out and some rooms even have private balconies! Enjoy the island life at Fairfield Inn Key West Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Fairfield Inn Key West
Fairfield Key West
Key West Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing