We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Key West style B&B right in the heart of the city”
Review of Artist House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artist House
Ranked #11 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at the Artist for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms are very spacious. In the bathroom you find amenities from Aloe Key West (great stuff!). The staff is very friendly and helpful. At 4.30 pm there is a happy hour with free drinks (alcoholic and soft drinks). Complimentary breakfast in the back garden. 2 min. walk from Duval street and close by parking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waltons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

We're pleased to hear you had such a great stay! Thank you for taking the time to share it and we do hope you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 637 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was a fabulous place to stay! My girlfriend and I spent 5-6 nights here in two different rooms. I can't recall the name of the first room we stayed in, but for a majority of our stay, we stayed in the Anne Suite, and it was amazing! The owners and the staff are extremely helpful, friendly, and very generous. We sat with the owners one evening for a couple of hours just chatting, laughing, and sharing Champagne in one of the downstairs drawing rooms. The location is perfect, close to Duval, but not on Duval. The house itself is a nice Victorian home with a lot of interesting history and well-furnished and renovated by the ownership. There's a nice little sitting garden with an in-ground hot tub too. There are MANY B&Bs in Key West, but I couldn't imagine any of them being better than this one.

Room Tip: The "Turret Suite" is allegedly haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanVlerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

What a terrific review! Thank you so much for your kind words! We're so happy you enjoyed the house as well as the staff! We all love happy hour just as much as our guests! We get to meet everyone and learn about them on a personal level-not something you'll ever get at a hotel! Thank you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed our stay. The location is convenient to everything in the Old Town and the building itself is is impressive. The new owners have been working on it and were very friendly and helpful as were the rest of the staff, The evening happy hour was a great way to trade experiences with the other guests. Breakfast was continental with plenty of fresh fruits, breads, cereals, juices and pasteries; and of course plenty of coffee. There were also coffee makers in the rooms for early risers. There was also a small fridge and microwave in our room. The garden has a small pool and was pleasant but not as well planted as others I have seen. Eaton Street is busy and can tend to be a little noisy if you are a light sleeper. If the noise bothers you consider a room at the rear of the building. The front porch is a good place to people watch, or be watched since the conch train stops out front to point out the house to tourists - all hoping to see Robert the ghost looking out the windows of the turret room. We didcn't see him at the Artist House, but we did say hello to him at the museum where he now lives. The museum is located next to the airport and worth a stop.

Room Tip: Noisy in the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

We sincerely appreciate you as a valued guest, but also for contributing to our wonderful reviews! We're glad you had a good time and that we were able to aide in a pleasant vacation! We're happy to hear that Robert didn't disturb you!

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Artist House is in the heart of Old Town, Key West, but set back from Duval St enough to get rest and relax from the excitement that Duval St provides.
The moment you arrive you are captivated by the beauty of the Artist House. It's architecture and decor draw you in and you are greeted by a professional and knowledgeable staff.
The rooms are spacious and beautiful.
Cleanliness is their priority. Never was anything out of place.
The staff can direct you to whatever you seek in Key West . I look forward to returning to The Artist House and recommend it to all who appreciate a bed and breakfast over a hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keyfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

We are so happy you noticed how important cleanliness is to us! We have a wonderful housekeeper (Aggie) who takes great care of the entire place. The entire staff want all of our guests to make the most of their time in KW and are happy to recommend not only our favorite spots and activities, but other guests' favorites as well! Staying at a B&B gives you the best opportunity to get a personal opinion on recommendations. Thank you for being our guests and we look forward to your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our friends from England joined us for 6 days in Key West. They normally don't like to stay in B&B's, but the Artist House changed their minds. Loved the friendly atmosphere and the beautifully decorated rooms. Chatted with other guests during happy hour. They stayed in the Turret Suite and got to meet "Robert." The shower came on by itself, and a razor was knocked to the floor while they were in bed. We were in the Parlor Suite which was lovely, but no closet for clothes. Not a problem, though. The beds were VERY comfortable. Will come back again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

This great review means so much coming from such well traveled folks as yourselves! We're glad everyone enjoyed the house and that Robert did scare you (just letting you know he was there!). We do hope your group will stay with us if you happen to be in KW in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.1 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.7 km away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#13 of 77 in Key West
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,097 reviews
0.6 km away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
872 reviews
0.4 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Address: 534 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 12,817 - ₹ 22,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artist House is a Queen Anne styled Victorian Mansion (circa 1890) lovely restored to botique seven room B&B. This historic guesthouse is located in the heart of Old Town Key West, less than one block from world famous Duval Street and adjacent to the historic Key West seaport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing