We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away From Home ... Literally :-)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tropical Escape

Your host and hostess, Steve and Sue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your host and hostess, Steve and Sue
Living room sofa bed Living room with TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
85 reviews
Your host and hostess, Steve and Sue
Living room sofa bed
Living room with TV
Master King Bedroom with full bath
Master bathroom
Master bathroom
Queen Bedroom with full private bath
Queen bedroom
Queen bathroom
Queen bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Outdoor patio overlooking pool
Workout Center
Tennis Court
Pool with hot tub
Pool area
Poolside
Poolside
Pond
Ft. Zachary Taylor Beach
Ft. Zachery Taylor Beach
Key West sunset
Its not KW without a chicken
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Home away From Home ... Literally :-)”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

About every six months we get the Key West "itch" and feel the most comfortable and the most serene at the Rachells' "Tropical Escape." In the past several years we have been renting from the Rachells (sometimes twice a year) we have never had an issue that caused us one second of concern or regret. It is like our home away from home. John and I are avid patrons and will continue to contact them to make lodging arrangements whenever we get that Key West "itch." We are currently making plans for our June 2014 visit.

If you do not care to be in the middle of Duval Street, and prefer to have serene peace and quiet for those times when you want to rest and relax, this place is the place to stay. Also, the Key West transit has a stop within stones throw from the complex (right across from the little market) within the community. There is always taxi service, and if you are really adventurous like John and I, no better way to soak up Key West then by cycling or walking.

There are so many sites to see, so many places to experience, so many activities ... it is impossible for anyone to be bored! My favorite places are West Martello (Garden Club), Schooners Wharf, Roostica (on Stock Island), Willie T's (on Duvall), The Butterfly and Nature Conservatory, Sandy's Cafe, Fort Zachary, and anything that gets me out on the ocean or gulf. :-)

So if ever you need a place to stay, John and I recommend this place highly!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was just as pictured, and the hosts were great at providing all of the information we needed and answering our questions. We really loved the hot tub. The kitchen had everything we needed (coffee filters, measuring cups, etc), and we were all set! Parking was easy, and the in-unit washer/dryer came in handy with the wet swimclothes. Also, we really appreciated the full basket of provided beach towels. Had a great time! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie T
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely property in Key West. The condo was very clean and nicely decorated and had everything you could want, including items for the beach. Communication with the owners was smooth and easy. Would definitely rent again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windy013
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time using a vacation rental.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Elevator doors closed to fast, Door keypad didn't work without trying several times to open or close. Could hear sound from surrounding rooms and from lobby area under our room all hours of day or night. Mattress were like sleeping on a board.

It would have been better to overlook the ocean than the swimming pool for the price.

But all in all we made the best of things and had a wonderful 10th Anniversary in Key West.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: It allowed pets.
Liked least: Keypad on door didn't work all of the time without trying several times to open or close.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2014
So sorry your experience was less than perfect while staying with us. We would have welcomed hearing from you while you were at our place as we ALWAYS respond to our guests concerns immediately, as other reviews have indicated. While we, of course, have no control over the elevator door, we've already reported that situation to the management for adjustment. The two mattresses are new, which explains their firmness. As for the keypad on the door, we do understand that this device is a bit different from typical door entrances and so we provide our guests with our local property manager as a contact in the unlikely event that a problem arises. He is always available to assist our guests and has done so promptly in the past when guests had concerns. Our goal is always to provide our renters with an easy and positive experience while staying in the paradise of Key West, and work hard to make this happen. We invariably encourage people to call or email us with their inquiries, questions or concerns as the quality and hominess of our place, and therefore the degree of satisfaction of our guests, is of supreme importance to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahC...
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable, Very Pleasant!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Sunrise Suites last year and the unit we rented this year, Tropical Escape, was much, much nicer. It was exactly as advertised, faced the pool area, was clean and the kitchen was fully stocked with cooking utensils, dishes, etc. Everything was in good working order and it was nice to have a full size washer/dryer as well. The pool area and grounds were neatly kept and the pool was heated. Also, there were several beach chairs and beach towels for our use. There were two elevators and rolling luggage carts which made it easy to bring our suitcases and supplies upstairs to the condo. We liked that it was away from the fray and at the same time just a short ride to the Old Town area and the beaches. We would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The condo was very comfortable, clean and well stocked.
Liked least: The bathroom towels were somewhat frayed and stained.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing