We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, Location, Location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kaitflowe...
Athens, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small. Nice back yard. Questionable rental company.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Down Island Digs is a smaller 2 bedroom house.

The kitchen and living room are really small and if you hard to hang out inside it would not be comfortable for 4 people. Luckily we didn't have much rain. The pool is a nice size for 4 people to hang out in and move around. The nicest part was the tropical garden with hammock in the back yard. The kitchen was small, but appointed ok. All the usual kitchen things and a small table that seats 2.

The back bedroom is very spacious with an attached bathroom and lots of room. The front bedroom is very small. The washer and dryer is in there as well. Hardly room to move around.

When we arrived the toilet was leaking in the back bedroom. We called maintenance and they sent the staff person. He checked the toilet and pronounced it was clogged and intimated that it was our fault! Even said we better be set to pay for a replacement. Once they sent the plumber it came to be that there was a palm tree growing in the toilet! We were relieved it wasn't our problem. UNTIL Vacation Homes of Key West contacted me and said it was our fault! I couldn't believe it. Luckily we had taken a card from the plumber but it took 2 weeks and many calls on our part to the plumber to get them to admit it wasn't anything we had done. It was very rude and frustrating.

Also, the second day there they called to say they needed to send a contractor to come look at the rotting deck. Really? Why do you have to do this while we are here? We had to take time out of the only time our whole family was ever going to all be together. Again, rude. I would not rent from them again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
We appreciate the feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused.
We value customer satisfaction and we always strive to resolve any issues that come up. We are also committed to protect the properties that we manage so we hope the customer understands that we had to research and find out what exactly the problem with the toilet was and what caused it. We apologize it took a little while, but we did determine it wasn’t the customer’s fault and they weren’t charged for any damage.
We had scheduled some repairs on the property later in the month as part of our regular maintenance on the property. We only needed the contractor to go in and take some additional measurements of the deck so he could order the material. We did contact the customer to ask if it was ok for him to stop by and they agreed to it.
We hope the customer enjoyed their overall stay in Key West.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrldTravl...
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a fabulous week in Key West and at our stay in Down Island Digs. The house is located in a super area 1/2 a block off Duval (Margaritaville area) and directly across Bahama St. from the grocery - Faustos Fine Foods. There is no need for a car when you stay here.

The house is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath (one on-suite and one just outside the second bedroom) with a decent sized kitchen and small indoor living room. The back yard of the house is amazing. Very secluded with high fences and lots of shade. Outdoor sitting area, dining area, grill and a small pool for cooling off. You would never know you are so close to Duval as there is no street noise.

The size of the house is suitable for 2 couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Back garden and location
Liked least: Small in-door sitting space
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spartatea...
Branchville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Close to Duvall, Market , with Pool, Privacy, and Cleanliness.”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5
people found this review helpful

We have previously used Vacation Homes of Key West and wanted to rent the same cottage we had on a previous trip-Vintage Luxury Cottage on the quiet end of Duvall behind Old Vin. We were disappointed that it was not available but Findlay steered us toward Down Island Digs - it was offered to us for the same price even though it listed for a few hundred more.

Arrival was quite easy, we were given a key code for a box on the porch for the house key. At first we were a little taken aback by the location. Previous reviews of this property stated that Faustos Market was a great convenience, but to me it was an eyesore. From our driveway, we had a view of the side lot, pallets, garbage dumpsters and trucks.

After we retrieved our key, and opened the gate, we knew that Findlay had suggested a GEM. Beautiful tropical plants lined the deck walkway to the pool, lush gardens, and house entrance. The pool was warm (after we reminded VHKW that we PAID for heat) and stayed clean, despite previous comments about leaves. Leaves did fall and we scooped and broomed them from the pool and deck. Tall privacy walls blocked out ALL views.

The master bedroom was clean, spacious, with a great en suite bath that i used exclusively for myself. We used the smaller bedroom for staging shoes, clothes, luggage, gifts and laundry. My husband used the bathroom off the kitchen exclusively for himself. Hot water and great pressure allowed us to both shower at the same time.

The kitchen was fully equipped but we never turned on a burner or used a pot or pan. Once I reheated coffee in the microwave.

ATM, restaurants, Duvall, historic sights all close by. Even though it sleeps 6, with the two bedrooms and sofa, I would definately suggest for a small family or couple that wants to spread out!

Amazing job VHKW!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Location to attractions and restaurants.
Liked least: Views of market, leaves in pool area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamondfi...
Westerville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great vacation house for a family with young kids”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 for a stay in July 2012
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Down Island Diggs in July of 2012. Overall the house was small but very accommodating for my myself, wife and children (7 and 9). I'll list out some of the pro's and con's we experienced about our stay.

Checkin: Very easy. The management company sent me a code and the key was in a lock box on the front porch. We never used the management company throughout the week (which is a good thing) so I can't say if they're responsive or not.

Location: The location was PERFECT. Close enough to Duval to take a quick stroll, but away from the noise and hustle and bustle. Truly felt like you were away from the action. One great part about the location is the proximity to Fausto's grocery store (literally walk out the front door and you're 50 feet from it). We shopped there 20X during our week vacation. I saw reviews about noise from the grocery store, but our children stayed in the front of the house and they never heard anything. There are a few restaurants very close by as well for some quick subs/pizza, etc. Overall, the location doesn't get much better.

Outdoors:

I'll start with the outside since the house's main attraction is the pool.

Pool: I must say, I looked at the pictures and the pool seemed very small, but if you have younger children, it is absolutely perfect. The worst part of the pool was getting them out of it. They ate their breakfast with their feet in the water and loved playing on the steps with their toys. It gets to about ~6 feet deep but there is about 6-8' of pool where my 7 year old could stand and bounce around. The one downside to the pool is the amount of leaves that fall into it throughout the day that you'll need to use the net to get out. Not a big deal, but a little bit of a pain. Hint: Go to Kmart and buy pool toys, rafts, snorkel gear, etc. You'll save a ton of $$.

Backyard - The back yard was very nice. We spent 90% of our time around the pool and felt very secluded. The tree's and high fencing (20') kept the neighbors from seeing inside. We used the hammock a few times which was nice and cozy. My wife and I rearranged the chairs/tables in the back, sat around surfing the internet on our iPads while the kids played. There is a grill in the back (which we never used) but is nice.

House- Overall the house was nice, but is small and has no central air. The front of the house has 1 large bedroom and bathroom with a ~queen size bed and a couch with a pullout bed. My 7 year old used the couch/bed (the mattress is thin so ann adult wouldn't be comfortable). There is a TV in that room that worked well. The AC unit in the front bedroom worked really well and cooled off easily. The back of the house has another bedroom overlooking the pool with a 3/4 wall to the ceiling (i.e. not an enclosed bedroom). There is an AC unit in the front room, but with the open room, the air wasn't contained and the room felt warm at times. The ceiling fan in the "living room" helped to keep it cool. We never felt overly warm (even in July) but were never overly cool either. I went to Kmart on the island and bought a fan to put at the foot of the bed to keep us cooler at night. In the back bedroom is the washer/dryer which worked well. The kitchen was very nice and had everything we needed.

Other amenities: The parking space was about a 50' walk to the house. It was caddy corner in a parking lot with a sign for the house. We had a Camry and had no issues (other than someone in the house next door parking in our spot 1 time). The internet in the house was very fast (15mbps). We had no issues connecting 5 devices and had all bars around the house and yard.

Overall I would definitely recommend this house to friends and family. Great location, great pool, and hey, it's in Key West.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and Pool
Liked least: No Central Air
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFDgrunt
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place, but very very small!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in February 2011

We rented Down Island Digs about a year and a half ago with some friend of ours.Very beautiful home. Nice heated pool. Fantastic yard. Grocery store right across the street. Close to all the action of Duval St. The management folks were GREAT to deal with... But, the house is very very small for two couples for a week..For the couple that gets the room off the living room, there is no privacy. The wall that separates the BR from the living room doesn't go all the way to the ceiling, and you can hear a pin drop in the kitchen and living room. I have to admit I was a little disappointed by the end of my stay with how cramped it truely was.

You can't beat how close it is to everything, including the grocery store right across the street. And like it states on the info page, the attention to detail in the yard is spectacular.

Overall It's a Beautiful Cottage, and I gave 3 stars because I thought it was a little to small and pricey. But, that's my personal opinion, and isn't that what tripadvisor is for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside seating area
Liked least: To Small
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing