We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful date night”

The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.
Ranked #12 of 466 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An "only in Key West" restaurant, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. makes a statement on the hushed stage of a residential neighborhood. It is one part retro supper club, one part sassy corner bistro, and one part highly personal whim. Fred Isch, self-proclaimed Air Force Brat, grew up in every geographic segment of the country with a mother who loved cooking and collecting recipes. His partner, Scot Forste, grew up on the farm where his mother, bored of city life, spontaneously relocated to get back to the land, breed horses, and grow fresh, healthy food. Every recipe on the Flaming Buoy menu is an interpretation of something Fred or Scot ate at their respective family tables. Local additions, like seafood, tropical fruits, and Cuban flavors reinterpret the nostalgia, and the result grabbed the attention of the New York Times in 2011. Whether from a porch seat next to pots of herbs, or inside a white dining room accented in orange, dining the Flaming Buoy way is delicious and fun.
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Another wonderful tucked away restaurant in Key West. Make reservations and enjoy. The Lobster MAC n Cheese is a must try. Staff is wonderful. Another hidden gem in Key West.

Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlamingBuoy, Owner at The Flaming Buoy Filet Co., responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you!

Scot,
Co-Owner, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

The concierge at Casa Marina recommended eating here for dinner. We absolutely loved the atmosphere. We sat outside on the patio. The food was wonderful and our waiter, I think his name was Jay, was awesome. The bacon wrapped scallops were amazing! Well worth the price!

Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlamingBuoy, Owner at The Flaming Buoy Filet Co., responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks!

Scot,
Co-Owner, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We had dinner tonight and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The spinach salad was excellent, I had the lobster Mac and cheese - amazing and the chocolate chip Belgian waffle for dessert. Yum! We brought our own bottle of wine and the corkage fee was very reasonable. Enjoyable dinner!

PS The owners and staff love Star Wars!

Thank CarefreeTraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlamingBuoy, Owner at The Flaming Buoy Filet Co., responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you, and may the fork be with you.

Scot
Co-Owner, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We have had some very good meals in Key west. But this was incredible. I had the entree trio which I think is the perfect solution to a menu filled with so many good choices. All 3 were delicious. My husband was raving about the chicken and waffles and said it was his favorite meal of the whole trip. Of course the lobster Mac and cheese is a must. Desserts weee also fantastic. A real gem on a side street in a quiet section of town. Don’t miss it! I wanted to add photos but we were so hungry and the food was so good it disappeared too quickly

Thank kidfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlamingBuoy, Owner at The Flaming Buoy Filet Co., responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you very much! We hope to see you again!

Scot,
Co-Owner, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We loved the friendly service, the variety in the menu, and the cozy, but not crowded atmosphere. This is our favorite restaurant in Key West!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mikhail I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlamingBuoy, Owner at The Flaming Buoy Filet Co., responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you!

Scot,
Co-Owner, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing