We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Key West Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in the Bates room; main floor, front of house. The room was spacious, clean and very well kept. It is nicely appointed with a chest of drawers, wardrobe for hanging cloths, sitting chair with end table and large end table between two full size beds. Lighting included one overhead, two lamp stands and one lamp for the large end table; the room also has three large windows for natural light. The room also includes its own bath with fresh towels daily, an overhead fan and air conditioning.
The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable; we were continuously asked how our day was join and what did we think of the places we visited. The staff also had great local knowledge of neighborhood restaurants.
The breakfasts were nearly perfect. A large variety of fruits was available every day. The surprise each day was the kind of baked goods that were available; cobblers, breads, coffee cakes and more were delicious.
The house has a very relaxing atmosphere with a spacious sitting room on the main floor and a hot tub (kept cool during the day) in the back yard. An outdoor sauna is also available. Plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy breakfast or just find a little quiet space later in the day.
To top things off, the location is two blocks from the wharf and very close to local restaurants and of course, Duval Street.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private bath and some share a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shinjin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 589 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

A fantastic bed and breakfast and we have stayed at many. Lovely, clean, gorgeous art work.Very gracious staff. We were on 2nd floor, 4 rooms two shared bathrooms. Never had to wait.
Outside patios beautiful and well kept, very Carribean feel. Breakfast is so good, plentiful and a work of art. Even Goo, Jody's little dog was exceptional and yes gracious.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were lovely. We stayed on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann Roman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I booked a stay at the Key West B&B based on the ratings here on Trip Advisor. Believe the ratings here- this little gem is a fantastic place to stay. I could rave on about the comfort and exceptional service but there is no need- others here keep saying how great this place is. Believe it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Before I arrived, the staff was so friendly and accommodating on the phone and email, but I had no way of anticipating the beauty of the home and fantastic landscaping in the back. Breakfast was served at 8:30 AM and was a feast for the eyes and the palate. Of course the perfect weather helped a lot. I'm a writer and I staked out the porch overlooking William Street and set up my laptop. I quickly got into the Key West flow as bicyclist peddled SLOWLY (I quickly learned the rhythm Key West where the pace is very relaxed.) The Popular House was quiet and peaceful, and facilitated a good morning's writing. Then, I would head out for lunch, to a nearby Thai restaurant that served all my favorites or a little seafood restaurant two blacks away. In the afternoon, I'd head to Mallory Square to enjoy the local entertainment and enjoy the sunset celebration. In the evening, I’d stroll down Duval Street for more fun people watching. Everything worth seeing in Key West was just a short walk. I'm already planning my next vacation to this beautiful city and my adopted home, The Popular House.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My recent visit to Key West B&B was absolutely unforgettable. I scheduled this trip on impulse and knew virtually nothing about the house other than the street address. I'd picked the place based on location because I wasn't getting a car and wanted to walk everywhere.

I travel a fair amount for work so I was expecting an experience like any other hotel - boy was I in for a surprise! The second I came in the door, Lizzy made me feel very welcome, told me all about the house, gave me a tour and asked me if I was a reader (I am), all the while multi-tasking with a level of efficiency that I didn't know existed.

She showed me my room which was adorable and immaculate. I shared a bathroom which can be awkward if you've never done it, but I had no problems. The bathroom was always spotless and there were plenty of clean towels in the bathroom and in my room - it was much easier than sharing with 3 teenagers at home - and there are two bathrooms on the second floor so I never had to wait!

The house runs on a precise schedule - breakfast is ready at 8:30 on the dot. In addition to excellent coffee, fruit and baked goods, it's a fantastic opportunity to meet the other guests. I met lots of lovely people - virtually all of them have been coming for years, so if I'm lucky, I'll see many again next year!

Room Tip: Ask Lizzy for a recommendation on the room - and plan ahead, the veterans told me to make my reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
1.4 km away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
0.3 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.6 km away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.1 km away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Bed and Breakfast

Address: 415 William St, Key West, FL 33040-6853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 5,704 - ₹ 16,983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Caribbean Casual ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Key West b&b - The Popular House
Key West Bed And Breakfast - The Popular House Hotel Key West
Key West b And b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing