We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown but very nice and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heron House
Ranked #55 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Downtown but very nice and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Roy runs a very comfortable establishment with beautiful grounds and amenities. Conveniently located adjacent to downtown, the Heron House has great rooms, and allows no children or pets to disturb your tranquility. This a great romantic place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    120
    70
    29
    25
See reviews for
16
298
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The only negative in my opinion was the price and the bathroom.

Great location. Nice big room. Neat gardens and quiet atmosphere (and it's just a couple blocks away from everything I wanted!)

The gentleman at the desk was helpful when I asked about places to go and things to do.

All in all I'm glad I stayed here! And I'm usually pretty blunt with my reviews.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We just returned from 4 nights in Heron House.

Our room was enormous and very beautiful and clean, on the 2nd floor, overlooking the pool. Fridge, sink, counter, 2 love seats, big king bed, nice sized bathroom, desk, great fast wifi, small balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. Saw not one bug, not one dirty sheet, nothing weird. Water power in the shower was a bit weak and the hot seemed to give out in due time. No big surprise in this style of house, in Key West. Still was able to enjoy a nice shower; not a big negative at all.

Tasty hot breakfast with something different daily. Wonderful big breezeway where you could enjoy breakfast basically outdoors even when raining. Lovely grounds, very quiet, great location 1 block from Duval.

The staff aren't brimming over with warmth but they aren't rude, either, Just sort of businesslike and not chatty at all. But we didn't go there to meet hotel staff anyway.

Guests were couples, 40, 50, 60. (We are a 55-ish couple). No kids were there. I loved the no cell phone rule in all public areas. Also liked the woo-woo zen music playing at the pool. Overall a very pleasant experience. We are going back in about 6 weeks.

Room Tip: Ask for 9D and you will be delighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed here with my husband for a night. Heron House is an average size B&B with an attractive and cozy center patio containing a small pool, a few tables and chairs and very basic breakfast which is included in room rate. There is no parking and finding a spot so close to Duval Street is definitely not easy. Our room was one category above standard. The room size was fine but dark. We did have a really small but private patio. Bathroom was tiny and shower even tinier. The room was generally clean but had a horrible musty/damp odor. Since we checked in later in the afternoon and the front desk is unmanned from around 6 pm to the next morning; we could not ask for a remedy to this or change our room. We discovered that the odor came from the AC unit and had to shut it down which was did not make for a comfortable sleep. The next morning we complained about the odor to the front desk person; and he just gave us a smile and said it happens from time to time and obviously the AC filter needs to be cleaned. He did not offer any apology. He looked at me with such a blank face that I had to either lose my temper or save my day by walking out. I did the latter.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, specifically ask for room on second floor. They are definitely bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveAmused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemark, TN
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was our first trip to Key West. Heron House is beautiful and you can easily access most of key west by walking. There is a small grocery store around the corner where you can buy alcohol and water and snacks. We took a snorkeling tour with danger charters and it was great. Small group, excellent guides. You can easily ride a bike around most of the island and the bike companies will deliver a bike to your hotel. The daily breakfast was different everyday and was good everyday.

Room Tip: We had one of the smaller rooms in the hotel. It was small, but had everything we needed. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 km away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#33 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#12 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.4 km away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.7 km away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#47 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Property: Heron House
Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,549 - ₹ 27,162
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing