We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heron House
Ranked #56 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Nice facility,good rooms and friendlly staff. Centrally located to main attractions of Key West.
Adults only so very relaxing but not stuffy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

We recently stayed at Heron House. We were disappointed that there was no parking available and although they told me that this is mentioned on their website, I am unable to find any mention of it now that I am back home and able to browse the website. I do feel it should be clearly stated that there is no parking. We had hired a convertible Mustang especially for this trip and had to leave the car in a car park three blocks down ($20 per day). It was still there when we came to leave which was a relief!

I would suggest the addition of a coffee/tea tray with coffee maker or little kettle or jug for boiling up water for your early morning cuppa and for an arrival hot drink. Having said that, coffee is available from the pool area from 7 am onwards until the end of breakfast. Starbucks is a short walk around the corner.

The owners have been at pains to provide for their guests' every need. There are the mini shampoo, soaps, conditioner etc. The towelling looks almost new and is clean and fluffy. There are two dressing gowns in the wardrobe, a safe, iron, ironing board and hair dryer. A small tv. A CD player was beside the bed. The bed was narrow for two people, 4'6" at the most but otherwise comfortable with plenty of pillows.

Unfortunately our bedroom smelt very musty when we arrived but we kept the fly screened window open and the door open as much as we could and after a few days the smell seemed to lessen.

They keep the rooms and surrounding areas clean and insect free. The staff are extremely nice and polite. The breakfasts are very pleasant with fresh fruit salad, cereals, breads, and eggs etc. available. Breakfast can be eaten poolside or on the deck outside your room.
The 'happy hour' wine and cheese evening we experienced was very pleasant with nice wines available and a seemingly limitless supply of cheese and biscuits available. The pool area is particularly nice with palms and tropical plants. The pool is pristine. They will not tolerate noisy behaviour which is good.

We would stay here again but would fly in next time as it was a bit of a worry about the car in a dubious looking car park. We had wanted to drive the bridges down which was great.
Heron House is well located with restaurants etc. reasonably close by.

All in all, a nice hotel with pleasant staff who genuinely wish to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: We were in Room 45 which, from reading other reviews, would appear to be one of their small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

looking forward to our trip in March, this is our second trip and I have compared value, price and accomadations. By far Heron House is the best, very nice, clean and convienient to everything, low keyed not fancy but comfortable. I can't see why people have anything negative to say about this B&B, I would not let that discourage you. I am a business owner and I want to go to a vacation where I can relax and enjoy, I know about customer service. The Heron House is accomadating and very professional.

Room Tip: I prefer upper so I can sit on the balcony and look over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed for a couple nights there. Nice place. A little unusual for arrivals after 6. You are suposed to call if you arrive after 6 but when I called at 5 nobody answered the phone anymore. Might be worthwhile to change that.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisstex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Centrally located...walk to all attractions, restaurants, and activities, yet far enough away from the "wild" streets. Classy, quite,very clean, beautifully decorated, friendly. The rooms (especially #11) were spacious yet cozy. The continental breakfast is great. There is a high standard set for the guests, so if you are a party animal, this is not for you (You will be asked to leave.)

Room Tip: Check out their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etaurins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,034 reviews
0.7 km away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
474 reviews
0.2 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 km away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: ₹ 10,947 - ₹ 25,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing