We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We loved it here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 78 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“We loved it here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My boyfriend and I came here last month, and it was fantastic. We were greeted by Derek, who, upon arrival, met us with wine and beer. Then he gave us a map and highlighted all of his favorite places (even what to eat at his favorite restaurants). Then we got coupons to save us some money. The service was impeccable.

The room was small but we had room #2, which is in the back and the most private. It has a small little patio that only we could access, and it made our trip that much more enjoyable. I have to say, I think this contributed to our liking it here. Some of the rooms are not private enough so I would be choosey when you book.

The rooms are small and the decor is nothing fancy, but the laid back feel and the wonderful, wonderful service make this place a real delight. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #2 which is the most private and has it's own small little patio. It made a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    121
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
47
392
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I had never been to Key West, Florida before, and planned a trip for myself and my partner in a hurry. We knew nothing about the Grand Guesthouse, except that it was the only place with availability for all of the nights we planned to stay. I wasnt expecting anything beyond a bed to sleep in and a functioning bathroom to use. I was in for a big surprise, as the place was not only beyond beautiful, but accommodating to no end. The staff were extremely helpful, kind, hospitable, and polite. The environment was clean, convenient, and our room had far more amenities than I had expected. This certainly isnt a place for a spring break party, but it was exactly what we wanted - quiet, warm, peaceful, the perfect place to hide away from urban life. We ended up having a perfect romantic weekend, and I dont think we could have selected a better place to stay. The morning continental breakfast is certainly satisfying, they even have homemade bread! The appliances in the rooms (microwave, fridge, AC, clock/ipod speaker, etc) were all new and clean, and we even had a sink with all the dishes one would need for one's own cooking. The staff are really warm and welcoming people, and were really helpful in pointing us in the right direction for things to do for the day. The location of the Grand Guesthouse is very convenient as well, the grocery stores, liquor stores, restaurants, and other services are all within a few blocks (and walking around the neighborhood is stunningly beautiful). If I come to Key West again, I will most certainly be staying here!

Room Tip: Room #7 gets excellent sunlight, and is right above the breakfast and water supply (though there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BorkdlynNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Grand is a small (10 rooms) property with a lot to like. The old-town location is excellent and within easy walking distance to Duval Street and Mallory Square. The "suite" that we stayed in had a galley kitchen as well as a small table and a couch in the living area with a separate bedroom and bath. There was plenty of room for the two of us. The manager is very friendly and knowledgeable and helped identify several excellent close-by cafes and bars. The included continental breakfast is not fancy but certainly adequate. There is no pool but plenty of outdoor sitting and lounging area although it is all shared with the other guests. All in all a pretty good find.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khazelbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

four nights of what a vacation should be, very comfortable and clean I have stayed in big hotels in Key West this is the way to go

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wineguyomaha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Loved it! Close to Duvall st. Quiet comfy place. Derek had great suggestions for food and attractions! Everything we needed was there. Would definatly stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 km away
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
#53 of 78 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.7 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.9 km away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#41 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#28 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.0 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.8 km away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#20 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Guesthouse

Property: The Grand Guesthouse
Address: 1116 Grinnell St, Key West, FL 33040-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,536 - ₹ 24,668
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town Key West, The Grand Guesthouse offers intimate accommodations for you to relax and recharge. We're a Frommer's Travel Guide Favorite, squeaky clean, comfortable, and affordable. All of our rooms feature local artwork and tropical decor, a small refrigerator, A/C & ceiling fan, private telephone line with free domestic long distance (US/Canada), cable television, an iPod & iPhone docking station, CD player, and free wireless internet. A complimentary expanded continental breakfast is served every morning, and free parking is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing