We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spirit of Hemingway”

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
Ranked #4 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spirit of Hemingway”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

There is a lot of history behind this Home. Ernest Hemingway knew people, knew the war, knew work of ordinary people, their dreams and concerns. He knew interesting and beautiful women. He loved them and loved... cats. You will find many cats in this Home. He was a grate American author well known worldwide and he was a great citizen. Hemingway had lived here not for a long time, but we understand that he lived in the beautiful home in the beautiful city of Cay West. Come over here to understand his work and his life better.
Of cause, I would like to see where better exposition of his biography, but even for people who do not know Ernest Hemingway well it would be a good incentive to start to get acquainted his books and his life.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ekoblents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

13,934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,443
    4,178
    1,092
    162
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Cat Lovers Must See”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I had fun strolling the grounds spying on all the cats--they are everywhere. I even caught one coming out from a hiding place behind a row of books on a shelf within Hemingway's writing room. The buildings are cool but you only get to see a couple of rooms and bathrooms. You get a great view of the Key West Lighthouse from the upper balcony. The pool was so large and inviting--I wanted to jump in. Luckily it was not that crowded the day I visited as the stairs are narrow and with a lot of people you might not feel the atmosphere as well. My bf didn't want to go so I did this alone and enjoyed the tranquillity of sitting in the lush garden for a little while. I love literature and cats and I think this is more of a cat experience than a literary one.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank paintergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Key West must do!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great historical point and there are stories about Hemingway, you'll only find here. Lots of six toed cats on the beautifully kept grounds. My wife oddly had Deja Vu in the yard and it never happens to her, we shrugged our shoulders and went in the gift shop where some paintings were sold, there were paintings signed by an artist named ISA (my wife's name) and in the exact signature-- she's still freaked out about that.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank meridian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good tour, very crowded though”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was a good tour and interesting atlhough the house is a bit small and it was crowded. The tour guides were good and informative although the place is a bit small - and they tend to pack people in. After the tour you can walk around some more - which makes the place even more crowded. I would suggest taking the tour early or late - otherwise it is, well, crowded...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If you haven't visited the Hemingway House, you haven't visited Key West!"”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

For only $12 you can get a view into the life of one of America's most unique writers! Not only will you learn about Hemingway and his wives, but you get a taste of why he found Key West so intriguing. This is definitely not for people in wheel chairs. On this walking tour you will have to go up stairs, over bricks and through hallways. I have been on the tour several times with friends and family and every time I go, I learn something new. I think the most amazing thing to see is the actual studio where Hemingway composed his works. The 6-toed cats and their history are a fascination to many as are the many stories about Ernest Hemingway and his antics here in the city! He truly embraced all that is Key West. Tour guides are great and work for tips.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank reddskyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing